Final Agreements and Related Implementation Matters

These pages contain information about Final Agreements relating to Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government.

Framework Agreement
At this first stage of negotiation, the groups involved agree on issues to be discussed, how they will be discussed, and on deadlines for reaching an Agreement-in-Principle.

Agreement-in-Principle
The Agreement-in-Principle (AIP) is the second stage in the negotiation process. This is the stage during which the parties negotiate the issues set out in the Framework Agreement. Reaching an Agreement-in-Principle, commonly called an AIP, often takes longer than any other stage in the negotiation process as parties address and attempt to resolve the broad range of subject matters set out in the Framework Agreement. The AIP generally contains all of the major elements of the Final Agreement. The AIP is not legally enforceable.

Final Agreement
A Final Agreement is the outcome of successful negotiations. It details agreements reached between the Aboriginal group, the province or territory, and Canada on all issues at hand, including resources, financial benefits, self-government, and land ownership. The Final Agreement must be ratified by the parties, and signed by the principals. Canada then passes settlement legislation that gives effect to the Final Agreement and renders it valid. The Final Agreement is based on the AIP. It must be ratified and signed by all parties, before being made effective through federal, and in some cases, provincial legislation. It is accompanied by an implementation plan.

Final Agreement Implementation Plan
An implementation plan is a document that is negotiated and re-negotiated by the parties to a land claims and/or self-government agreement during the negotiations of a Final Agreement. It is an integral appendix to a Final Agreement because it identifies what must be done to put the agreement into effect, who will be responsible for which implementation activity, as well as when and how these activities will be undertaken.

Annual Report / Reviews
Annual reports summarize the activities of the past year for all parties involved in the implementation process.

 Five Year Review
Five year reviews include a detailed analysis of obligations, an assessment of the impact of the Land Claims Agreement, an examination of implementation issues, and recommendations on how to improve the implementation process in the future.

Memorandum of Understanding
A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is a formal document that affirms the commitment of the parties to an undertaking. While an MOU sets out the general principles of the undertaking, it is not a detailed agreement.

Additional Information

Ententes définitives et questions liées à la mise en œuvre

Ces pages contiennent de l'information sur les ententes définitives visant les revendications territoriales globales et l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Entente-cadre : À cette première étape des négociations, les groupes concernés s'entendent sur les sujets à discuter, la manière d'en discuter et les délais pour arriver à une entente de principe.


Entente de principe : L'entente de principe (EP) est la deuxième étape du processus de négociation. Les négociations de l'EP sont souvent la plus longue étape du processus de négociation où les parties tentent de résoudre la vaste étendue de sujets contenus dans l'entente-cadre. D'habitude, l'EP contient tous les éléments principaux de l'entente définitive. . L'EP n'a pas force de loi.

 
Ententes définitives : Une entente définitive est le résultat de la réussite des négociations des revendications territoriales. Elle énonce les ententes conclues entre un groupe autochtone, la province ou le territoire et le Canada sur toutes les questions abordées, notamment les ressources, les avantages financiers, l'autonomie gouvernementale et la propriété foncière. L'entente finale doit être ratifiée par les parties et signée par les représentants. Le Canada légifère ensuite sur le règlement pour mettre en vigueur l'entente définitive et lui donner sa validité. l'entente définitive repose sur l'EP. Elle doit être ratifiée et signée par toutes les parties avant d'être mise en vigueur par des lois fédérales et, dans certains cas, provinciales. Elle s'accompagne d'un plan de mise en oeuvre.

Plan de mise en oeuvre d'une entente définitive : Un plan de mise en oeuvre est un document négocié et renégocié par les parties à une revendication territoriale ou à une entente d'autonomie gouvernementale au cours de la négociation d'une entente définitive. Il s'agit d'une annexe intégrale à une entente définitive, parce qu'elle énonce ce qu'il fait faire pour mettre l'entente à exécution, qui doit répondre de quelle activité de mise en oeuvre, et quand et comment ces activités seront exécutées.


Examens et rapports annuels : Les rapports annuels résument les activités de l'année écoulée pour toutes les parties participant au processus de mise en oeuvre.


Examens quinquennaux : Les examens quinquennaux comprennent une analyse détaillée des obligations, une évaluation de l'incidence de chaque entente de règlement de revendication territoriale, un examen des questions liées à la mise en oeuvre et des recommandations sur la façon d'améliorer le processus de mise en oeuvre dans l'avenir.


Protocole d'entente : Un protocole d'entente (PE) est un document officiel qui affirme l'engagement des parties dans un processus. Bien que le PE contienne les principes généraux du processus, il ne constitue pas une entente détaillée.

Information supplémentaire

 

Date de modification :