Fact Sheet: Implementation of Final Agreements

Once a comprehensive land claim or self-government agreement is signed and ratified, the parties move to the implementation of the agreement and the associated implementation plan that was negotiated in conjunction with the agreement. The implementation plan is a roadmap for the signatories to the agreement, laying out specific activities, resources and timeframes required to fulfill agreement provisions and delegating responsibility for these decisions.

In addition to building strong partnerships between Aboriginal people and governments, successful implementation of final agreements creates a positive and stable climate for investment and economic growth on Aboriginal lands and in surrounding communities. That is why Canada is committed to improving the implementation of these agreements via its Whole-of-Government Approach.

Since 1973, 24 comprehensive land claims agreements covering over 40 percent of Canada's land mass have been ratified and brought into effect, 18 of which include self-government provisions. An additional three stand-alone self-government agreements are also in effect. Canada recently signed agreements with Deline, Yale First Nation and Tla'amin Nation which have been ratified and will be brought into effect in the near future. For more information, consult the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System.

Comprehensive land claim and self-government agreements that have been concluded are:

There is also a sectoral self-government agreement on education jurisdiction in Nova Scotia. Learn more about this agreement and tripartite education agreements signed in other provinces to improve education outcomes for First Nation students.

*New*

Whole-of-Government Approach

Fulfilling Canada's responsibilities under modern treaties and self-government agreements requires the sustained commitment of the federal government as a whole. Over 30 departments and agencies have responsibility for fulfilling Crown's obligations under the agreements, and the entire federal system needs to be aware of the broader implications of the agreements on their day-to-day business lines.

As announced on July 13, 2015, a Whole-of-Government Approach to the implementation of modern treaties and self-government agreements is being put in place to improve departments' and agencies' awareness of and accountability for their responsibilities under these important agreements. It is also to establish ongoing oversight for the full scope of Canada's responsibilities.

Initiatives under the Whole-of-Government Approach include:

  • Release of the Statement of Principles on the Federal Approach to Modern Treaty Implementation to provide policy guidance to federal departments and agencies on the implementation of modern treaties and self-government agreements;
  • Release of the Cabinet Directive on the Federal Approach to Modern Treaty Implementation to define the roles and responsibilities of federal departments, and to require departments to assess program, policy, regulatory and legislative proposals to ensure that the treaties are respected.
  • Establishment of a Deputy Ministers' Oversight Committee to provide ongoing, executive level oversight of Canada's modern treaty obligations.
  • Creation of a Modern Treaty Implementation Office within AANDC to strengthen coordination and oversight across the federal system.
  • The development of new tools, training and guidance for federal officials to better equip them to fulfill their responsibilities under the agreements.
Date modified:

Fiche d'information : La mise en œuvre des accords définitifs

Quand un accord de revendication territoriale globale ou d'autonomie gouvernementale est signé et ratifié, les parties passent à l'étape de la mise en œuvre et se concentrent sur le plan de mise en œuvre qui a été négocié avec l'accord. Ce plan sert de feuille de route aux signataires de l'accord. Il décrit les activités spécifiques, les ressources et le calendrier qui permettront de concrétiser les dispositions de l'accord, et il délègue la responsabilité associée à ces décisions.

Outre la création de partenariats solides entre les Autochtones et les gouvernements, la mise en œuvre des accords définitifs crée un environnement stable, qui favorise les investissements et le développement économique sur les terres des Autochtones et dans les collectivités avoisinantes. C'est pourquoi le Canada est résolu à améliorer la mise en œuvre de ces accords au moyen d'une approche gouvernementale.

Depuis 1973, 26 accords sur les revendications territoriales globales, qui couvrent plus de 40 % de la superficie du Canada, ont été signés et sont entrés en vigueur. De ces accords, 18 contiennent des dispositions relatives à l'autonomie gouvernementale. Quatre autres accords d'autonomie gouvernementale indépendants sont également en vigueur. Le Canada a récemment signé trois accords d'autonomie gouvernementale indépendants avec Déline, la Première Nation de Yale et la Nation des Tla'amin. Ces accords ont été ratifiés et entreront bientôt en vigueur. Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements, consultez le Système d'information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

Voici les accords sur des revendications territoriales globales et l'autonomie gouvernementale qui ont été conclus :

Il existe aussi une entente sectorielle sur l'autonomie gouvernementale en matière d'éducation en Nouvelle-Écosse. Renseignez-vous sur cette entente et d'autres accords tripartites portant sur l'éducation signés dans d'autres provinces dans le but d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves des Premières Nations.

*Nouveau*

Approche pangouvernementale

Le respect des responsabilités qui incombent au Canada en vertu des traités modernes et des ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale nécessite l'engagement soutenu de l'ensemble du gouvernement fédéral. Plus de 30 ministères et organismes ont la responsabilité d'assumer les obligations de la Couronne aux termes des ententes en vigueur, et l'ensemble du régime fédéral doit tenir compte des répercussions de ces dernières sur les activités courantes.

Comme on l'a annoncé le 13 juillet 2015, on s'emploie à mettre en œuvre une approche pangouvernementale relativement à la mise en œuvre des traités modernes et des ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale afin de sensibiliser les ministères et organismes aux responsabilités et aux obligations redditionnelles qui leur incombent en vertu de ces ententes de premier plan. L'approche établit également un processus de surveillance permanente pour l'ensemble des responsabilités du Canada.

Parmi les nouvelles mesures, mentionnons :

  • Publication de l'énoncé de principe concernant l'approche fédérale de mise en œuvre des traités modernes afin de donner des orientations aux intervenants fédéraux lors de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes et des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale;
  • Publication de la Directive du Cabinet concernant l'approche fédérale pour la mise en œuvre des traités modernes afin de clarifier les rôles, les responsabilités ainsi que les obligations redditionnelles du gouvernement fédéral dans la mise en œuvre des ententes;
  • Mise sur pied d'un comité de surveillance des sous-ministres pour fournir une surveillance continue et responsable au niveau de la haute direction des obligations issues des traités modernes et de la mise en œuvre;
  • Création d'un bureau de la mise en œuvre des traités modernes au sein d'AADNC pour renforcer la coordination et la surveillance dans l'ensemble du gouvernement fédéral;
  • Élaboration d'outils, de formation et d'orientations pour mieux outiller les fonctionnaires fédéraux dans l'exécution de leurs responsabilités.
Date de modification :