Comprehensive Claims

Comprehensive land claims deal with the unfinished business of treaty-making in Canada. These claims generally arise in areas of Canada where Aboriginal land rights have not been dealt with by treaty or through other legal means. In these areas, forward-looking agreements (also called "modern treaties") are negotiated between the Aboriginal group, Canada and the province or territory.

These treaties are implemented through legislation and remain the most comprehensive way of addressing Aboriginal rights and title. Achieving more treaties remains a critical piece in achieving lasting certainty and true reconciliation. This includes certainty about the ownership, use and management of land and resources for all parties. Some treaties have also included provisions relating to Aboriginal self-government. The rights set out in the treaties receive constitutional protection.

Since 1973, Canada and its negotiation partners have signed 26 comprehensive land claims and three self-government agreements. Of the 26 signed agreements, 18 included provisions related to self-government.

These settlements have provided:

  • Aboriginal ownership over 600,000 km2 of land (almost the size of Manitoba)
  • Capital transfers of over $3.2 billion
  • Protection of traditional ways of life
  • Access to resource development opportunities
  • Participation in land and resources management decisions
  • Certainty with respect to Aboriginal land rights in approximately 40 per cent of Canada's land mass
  • Associated self-government rights and political recognition

Learn more about the economic benefits of modern treaties.

Evolving Legal Landscape

Since 1982, over 40 Supreme Court of Canada decisions have informed the Government of Canada's understanding of the nature of Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. The courts have stated that the underlying purpose of s. 35 is the reconciliation of the pre-existence of Aboriginal societies with the assertion of sovereignty of the Crown, and that negotiation represents the best approach to advancing reconciliation.

Negotiating Tables Across Canada

As of March 2014, there are about 100 comprehensive land claim and self-government negotiation tables across the country. These tables are at various stages of the negotiation process. Review these key general statistics about negotiating tables. Explore this map or consult this list of negotiation tables to learn more about these negotiations. More detailed information about treaties concluded to date and ongoing negotiations is available in this online status report.

Ongoing Work with Partners to Accelerate Progress

To respond to calls for change, Canada is working with partners to accelerate progress in comprehensive land claim and self-government negotiations in a manner that is more equitable, sustainable and that better enables economic development for Aboriginal groups.

This includes ongoing work with partners to improve processes and policies in the area of comprehensive claims and self-government negotiations, along with a renewed focus on results-based negotiations. The goal is to work together in a more streamlined way, finalize agreements and reach the finish line faster so that Aboriginal communities can have access to and invest their settlement dollars.

Canada remains committed to working with its partners to achieve results at negotiating tables for the benefit of all Canadians.

You may also be interested in:

Quick Facts on Recent Progress

  • Since 2006, Canada and its negotiation partners have signed six comprehensive land claims (modern treaties) agreements and one self-government agreement. Of the six signed comprehensive land claim agreements, four included provisions related to self-government.
  • These settlements provide:
    • Aboriginal ownership of over 7700 km2 of land
    • Protection of traditional ways of life
    • Access to resource development opportunities
    • Participation in land and resources management decision-making
    • Certainty with respect to Aboriginal land rights
    • Associated self-government rights and political recognition.
  • The six comprehensive land claim agreements include: in British Columbia, the Tsawwassen First Nation (2009) and the five Maa-nulth First Nations (2011), which are implementing their Final Agreements. The Yale First Nation Final Agreement in British Columbia was signed on April 13, 2013 and received Royal Assent in Parliament on June 19, 2013. The Tla'amin Final Agreement in British Columbia was signed on April 11, 2014 and received Royal Assent on June 19, 2014. In Quebec, the Nunavik Inuit Land Claims Agreement (2008) and the Eeyou Marine Region Land Claims Agreement (2012) are both in effect. In Manitoba, the Sioux Valley Dakota Nation's self-government agreement received Royal Assent in Parliament on March 4, 2014, and came into effect on July 1, 2014, setting the stage for the First Nation to become the 34th self-governing Aboriginal group in Canada.

Revendications globales

Les revendications territoriales globales portent sur des affaires non réglées dans des traités canadiens. Elles touchent généralement des régions du pays où les droits fonciers des Autochtones n'ont pas été définis par un traité ou une autre mesure juridique. Dans ces régions, le groupe autochtone en cause, le Canada et la province ou le territoire négocient des ententes tournées vers l'avenir (on appelle également ces ententes « traités modernes »).

Ces traités sont mis en œuvre au moyen de lois et constituent la méthode la plus exhaustive pour régler les questions liées aux droits ancestraux et au titre autochtone. Conclure davantage de traités demeure une façon essentielle d'établir une certitude durable et d'arriver à une véritable réconciliation, y compris une certitude à propos de la possession, de l'usage et de la gestion des terres et des ressources. Certains traités renferment aussi des dispositions sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones. Les droits prévus par les traités jouissent d'une protection constitutionnelle.

Depuis 1973, 26 accords de règlement de revendications territoriales globales et quatre accords d'autonomie gouvernementale ont été conclus. Parmi les 26 accords conclus, 18 comprennent des dispositions liées à l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Les accords contiennent les éléments suivants :

  • des droits de propriété aux Autochtones sur plus de 600 000 km² de territoire (presque la superficie du Manitoba);
  • des transferts de capitaux de plus de 3,2 milliards de dollars;
  • la protection des modes de vie traditionnels;
  • l'accès à des possibilités d'exploitation des ressources;
  • une participation aux décisions sur la gestion des terres et des ressources;
  • des certitudes concernant les droits fonciers des Autochtones sur environ 40 % de la masse terrestre du Canada;
  • des droits connexes en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale et une reconnaissance politique.

Contexte juridique en évolution

Depuis 1982, plus de 40 arrêts rendus par la Cour suprême du Canada ont guidé la façon dont le gouvernement du Canada comprend l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Les tribunaux ont déclaré que l'article 35 vise essentiellement à concilier l'existence préalable des sociétés autochtones avec la revendication de la souveraineté de la Couronne, et que la négociation représente la meilleure façon de faire avancer cette réconciliation.

Tables de négociation d'un bout à l'autre du Canada

On compte environ 100 tables de négociation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale et les revendications territoriales globales au Canada. Toutes ces tables se trouvent à différentes étapes du processus de négociation. Vous pouvez consulter des statistiques générales à propos des tables. Explorez la carte au le Système d'information sur les droits ancestraux et issus des traités et la liste des tables de négociation pour en apprendre davantage. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les traités conclus à ce jour et les négociations en cours, consultez le rapport d'étape en ligne.

Travaux en cours avec les partenaires pour accélérer les progrès

Afin de répondre aux demandes de changement, le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires pour accélérer les progrès dans les négociations des revendications territoriales et de l'autonomie gouvernementale d'une manière qui soit plus équitable, viable et qui favorise le développement économique des groupes autochtones.

Ces mesures comprennent des travaux continus avec des partenaires motivés en vue d'améliorer les processus et les politiques qui ont trait aux négociations des revendications globales et de l'autonomie gouvernementale et de remettre l'accent sur les négociations axées sur les résultats. On cherche ainsi à simplifier la collaboration, à finaliser des ententes et à terminer le processus plus rapidement de sorte que les collectivités autochtones aient accès aux fonds issus des règlements et qu'elles puissent les investir.

Le Canada demeure résolu à collaborer avec ses partenaires afin d'obtenir des résultats aux tables de négociation qui profiteront à tous les Canadiens.

Faits en bref sur les progrès récents

  • Depuis 2006, le Canada et ses partenaires dans les négociations ont signé six ententes (traités modernes) sur des revendications territoriales globales et deux accords d'autonomie gouvernementale. Quatre de ces six ententes comprenaient des dispositions sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.
  • Éléments de ces règlements :
    • Les Autochtones sont devenus propriétaires de terres de plus de 7 700 km²;
    • Protection des modes de vie traditionnels;
    • Accès aux possibilités d'exploitation des ressources;
    • Participation aux décisions concernant la gestion des terres et des ressources;
    • Certitude concernant les droits fonciers des Autochtones;
    • Droits connexes en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale et reconnaissance politique.
  • Voici les six ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales : en Colombie-Britannique, la Première Nation de Tsawwassen (2009) et les cinq Premières Nations maa-nulthes (2011), qui sont d'ailleurs en train de mettre en œuvre leurs ententes définitives. L'entente définitive avec la Première Nation de Yale, en Colombie-Britannique a été signée le 13 avril 2013 et a reçu la sanction royale au Parlement le 19 juin 2013. L'accord définitif des Tla'amin en Colombie-Britannique a été signé le 11 avril 2014 et a reçu la sanction royale le 19 juin 2014. Au Québec, l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Nunavik (2008) et l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales concernant la région marine d'Eeyou (2012) sont toutes deux en vigueur. Au Manitoba, l'accord sur l'autonomie gouvernementale conclu avec la Nation des Dakota de Sioux Valley a obtenu la sanction royale au Parlement le 4 mars 2014 et a pris effet le 1er juillet 2014. Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, l'accord sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la Première Nation de Délı̨nę a été signé le 18 février 2015, mais n'est pas encore entré en vigueur. La Première Nation deviendra le 36e groupe autochtone autonome au Canada.
  • En 2015, le Canada a rendu public sa nouvelle approche financière du Canada relative aux ententes sur l’autonomie gouvernementale. Pour en apprendre davantage, consulter les Accords financiers avec les gouvernements autochtones autonomes.

Autres liens d'intérêt :

Date de modification :