Specific Claims - Settlement Report

What is being measured?

This report provides information on progress made in resolving specific claims through negotiated settlements between 1973 and the present day. In this searchable report, you will find up-to-date information about individual claim settlements, such as the amount of compensation provided and date the claim was settled.

Search the settlement report in the reporting centre. To learn more about specific claims, please review the key definitions and Frequently Asked Questions.

You can also explore the Interactive Map on Specific Claim Settlements to get information about specific claims settled through negotiations since 1973.

Important Notices - Official Languages

Why negotiate?

Canada prefers to resolve claims by negotiating settlements with First Nations. Negotiated settlements right past wrongs; they also help rebuild relationships and generate multiple benefits for all Canadians.  These benefits include economic benefits, new opportunities for business partnerships and certainty for First Nations, industry and area communities. Negotiations lead to "win-win" situations that balance the interests of all Canadians.

How to search the settlement report

You can access this searchable report in various ways. If you know the name of a particular claim(s) or the First Nation claimant, you can search by name. If you do not have these details, you can narrow your search by selecting the First Nation and/or the province/territory from a list. You can also search the report by using a combination of any of the other search fields. Search the settlement report in the reporting centre.


Specific claims
Specific claims deal with the past grievances of First Nations. These grievances relate to Canada's obligations under historic treaties or the way it managed First Nation funds or assets. (return to source paragraph)

Revendications particulières - Rapport de règlement

Que mesure-t-on?

Le rapport fournit de l'information sur les progrès réalisés grâce à la négociation en ce qui concerne le règlement des revendications particulières depuis 1973. Dans ce rapport, dans lequel il est possible d'effectuer des recherches, vous trouverez de l'information à jour sur chaque règlement, comme le montant d'indemnité accordé et la date de règlement de la revendication.

Effectuez une recherche dans le rapport de règlement dans le centre de rapports. Pour en savoir plus sur les revendications particulières, lire les définitions importantes ou la foire aux questions.

Vous pouvez aussi explorer la carte interactive des règlements de revendications particulières pour obtenir des renseignements sur les revendications particulières réglées par la voie de la négociation depuis 1973.

Avis importants : Langues officielles

Pourquoi négocier?

Le Canada préfère résoudre les revendications en négociant des règlements avec les Premières nations. Les règlements négociés corrigent des préjudices subis par le passé; ils contribuent par ailleurs à renouer des relations et procurent de multiples avantages à tous les Canadiens. Ces avantages prennent notamment la forme de retombées économiques, de nouvelles occasions de partenariats d'affaires et de certitude pour les Premières nations, le secteur privé et les collectivités avoisinantes. Les négociations mènent à des solutions avantageuses pour tous qui concilient les intérêts de tous les Canadiens.

Comment effectuer une recherche dans le rapport de règlement

Vous pouvez accéder de diverses façon à ce rapport, dans lequel vous pouvez effectuer des recherches. Si vous connaissez le nom d'une revendication particulière ou d'un demandeur des Premières nations, vous pouvez effectuer une recherche par nom. Si vous ne possédez pas cette information, vous pouvez restreindre votre recherche en sélectionnant une Première nation ou une province ou un territoire à partir d'une liste. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser une combinaison de n'importe quels autres champs de recherche. Effectuer une recherche dans le rapport de règlement dans le centre de rapports.

Définitions

Les revendications particulières
Les revendications particulièresportent sur d'anciens griefs formulés par les Premières nations. Ces griefs ont trait aux obligations du Canada prévues dans les traités historiques ou à la façon dont il a géré les fonds ou les autres biens des Premières nations. (retourner au paragraphe source)