Fact Sheet - At a Glance: The Specific Claims Tribunal Act

The Specific Claims Tribunal Act received Royal Assent in June 2008 and came into effect on October 16, 2008. The legislation created an independent tribunal with the power to make binding decisions on the validity of and compensation for specific claims. The Tribunal is a key part of an overall action plan to improve and speed up the resolution of specific claims across the country.

Main Elements of the Legislation

Developed jointly with the Assembly of First Nations, the legislation established an independent adjudicative body called the Specific Claims Tribunal. Subject to the conditions set out in the Specific Claims Tribunal Act, there are four scenarios in which a First Nation may opt to file a claim with the Tribunal:

Tribunal Structure & Appointments

The independent Tribunal is made up of judges who come from the existing bench of experienced superior court judges in the provinces. These individuals are appointed in accordance with the current process for judicial appointments to tribunals, which requires the consent of the judge in question, as well as his or her Chief Justice.

Efficient Claim Submissions

As required by the legislation, a Minimum Standard for claims submissions was established and came into effect on October 16, 2008. Discussions on this Minimum Standard took place with the Assembly of First Nations in the summer of 2008. The Minimum Standard requires that claim submissions are presented in a particular form and contain certain kinds of information. In order for a claim submission to be filed with the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, it must meet the Minimum Standard.

Tighter Timelines

The Act also introduced a new accountability tool – time frames. First Nations may go to the Tribunal if Canada fails to complete its assessment of a claim and advise the First Nation whether the claim will be accepted for negotiation within three years of it being filed with the Minister, or if a final settlement has not been reached after a further three years of negotiation.

The three-year assessment period starts as soon as the claim submission is filed with the Minister. The three-year negotiation period begins on the day the Minister notifies a First Nation that their claim has been accepted for negotiations.

Accountability & Reporting

The Tribunal issues annual reports to keep the government and all Canadians up to date on its activities. It is fully accountable to Parliament for its expenditures as well as its operations.

Quick Facts on Specific Claims

Quick Facts About the Tribunal

Guidelines

Guidelines for Funding Claims at the Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada

  1. INTRODUCTION

    Contribution funding to support First Nation participation in the processes of the Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada (Tribunal), is provided each year by a Parliamentary allocation. There is, therefore, no guarantee that funds will be available for all requests or that all eligible expenses will be supported. Funding will be provided annually on a case by case basis. While funding for participation in proceedings of the Tribunal will not be provided through multi-year agreements, every effort will be made to accommodate First Nations who are participating at the Tribunal across two fiscal years.

    The responsibility for determining First Nation funding levels, administering funds, and monitoring Aboriginal Recipient Funding Agreements (Agreements) under this funding program rests with the Funding Services for Aboriginal Governance and Negotiations Unit (FSAGNU).

    All funding requests related to the Tribunal proceedings must be approved prior to any costs being incurred. If prior approval is not received then First Nations must be prepared to take responsibility for the costs since FSAGNU cannot fund expenditures that a First Nation incurs outside of FSAGNU guidelines.

    The provision of contribution funding for the participation in the process of the Tribunal is subject to the Specific Claims Tribunal Act, s.13(2), which states that:  "The Tribunal shall deduct from any award of costs in favour of the claimant, any amount provided to the claimant by the Crown for the purpose of bringing the claim before the Tribunal."

    These guidelines are subject to change and will evolve with the Tribunal and to meet the needs of  First Nations participating at the Tribunal.
  2. ELIGIBLE RECIPIENTS

    Contribution Funding will be provided to First Nations to enable them to carryout activities required to present their claim to the Tribunal.

    Each contribution shall be subject to a signed Agreement or an Amendment to an existing Agreement between the Minister and a respective First Nation.

    All eligible recipients receiving funding under an Agreement shall provide financial reports, progress reports and an audited financial statement as required under the terms and conditions of each Agreement.

    Efforts are being made to expedite the flow of funding to participants, however, if there will be difficulties given timing, a First Nation or its duly delegated representative is encouraged to contact the respective funding officer to remedy any delays.
  3. ELIGIBLE EXPENSES Footnote 1, Footnote 2

    All funding support will be provided based on an approved descriptive budget. All eligible expenses should be reasonable and consistent with activities required to comply with the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Tribunal.

    Examples of eligible expenses include, but are not limited to the following:

    • Attending Tribunal proceedings such as:
      • Case Management Conference(s)
      • Pre-Hearing Conference(s)
      • Hearing(s)
      • Oral Examinations
    • Legal expenses relating to Tribunal proceedings such as:
      • Case Management Conference(s)
      • Pre-Hearing Conference(s)
      • Hearing(s)
      • Oral Examinations
      • Preparation of witnesses
      • Preparation and review of documentation
    • Expenses relating to witness and interpreters who attend Tribunal proceedings such as:
      • Case Management Conference(s)
      • Pre-Hearing Conference(s)
      • Hearing(s)
      • Oral Examinations
  4. NON-ELIGIBLE EXPENSES

    Non-eligible expenses include, but are not limited to:
    • Research (e.g.: legal, historical etc) that was previously funded;
  5. PROCESS FOR ACCESSING FUNDING

    Requests for funding must be made in the format of a descriptive budget, which contains a reasonable breakdown of anticipated expenses such as:

    • Fees, specifically the daily rate and the expected number of days for each participant (e.g.: First Nation, legal, witness, interpreter);
    • Travel expenses for each participant (e.g.: First Nation, Legal, Witness, interpreter);
    • The expected proceedings that an expense is for (e.g.: the number of case management conferences, a pre-hearing conference, the number of expected hearings, oral examinations, etc.).

    Requests must be accompanied by evidence of a claim having been referred to the Tribunal, for example, a copy of the Declaration of Claim and the acknowledgement of recipient from the Tribunal.

    Requests for funding should be sent to:

    Kevin Clement
    Director
    Negotiation Support Directorate
    Policy Development and Coordination Branch
    Treaties and Aboriginal Government
    10 Wellington Street, Room 8G1
    Gatineau QC
    K1A 0H4

    Fax (819) 953-2198

Date modified:

Fiche d'information - Aperçu de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières

La Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières a reçu la sanction royale en juin 2008 et est entrée en vigueur le 16 octobre 2008. Elle a créé un tribunal indépendant qui a l'autorité de rendre des décisions exécutoires sur la validité des revendications particulières et les indemnisations accordées. Le Tribunal est un élément clé d'un plan d'action global visant à améliorer et à accélérer le règlement des revendications particulières au pays.

Principaux éléments de la Loi

La Loi, élaborée conjointement avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, a établi un nouvel organisme d'arbitrage indépendant : le Tribunal des revendications particulières. Sous réserve des conditions exposées dans la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, quatre scénarios permettent à une Première Nation de choisir de s'en remettre au Tribunal :

Structure du Tribunal et nominations

Le Tribunal indépendant est formé de juges choisis parmi les juges des cours supérieures provinciales. Ils sont nommés conformément au processus actuel de nomination des magistrats aux tribunaux, qui exige l'approbation du juge lui-même et de son juge en chef.

Présentations de revendications efficientes

Comme l'exige la Loi, une norme minimale a été établie pour la présentation des revendications. Elle a pris effet le 16 octobre 2008. Les discussions à ce sujet se sont tenues à l'été 2008 avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. La norme minimale exige que la présentation des revendications respecte un format précis et que les revendications comprennent un certain type de renseignements. Par conséquent, les revendications présentées au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien doivent respecter la norme minimale.

Délais plus serrés

La Loi a également introduit un nouvel outil de reddition de comptes : les échéanciers. Les Premières Nations peuvent s'en remettre au Tribunal si le Canada ne parvient pas à évaluer la revendication et à informer la Première Nation si la revendication est acceptée aux fins de négociation dans un délai de trois ans suivant sa présentation au ministre, comme le prévoit la Loi, ou si aucun règlement définitif n'est conclu après un autre trois ans de négociation.

La période d'évaluation de trois ans débute dès le moment où la revendication est présentée au ministre. La période de négociation de trois ans débute le jour où le ministre informe la Première Nation que sa revendication a été acceptée aux fins de négociation.

Reddition de comptes

Le Tribunal produit des rapports annuels afin d'informer le gouvernement et les Canadiens sur ses activités. Il rend entièrement compte au Parlement de ses dépenses et de ses activités.

Les revendications particulières en bref

Le Tribunal en bref

Lignes directrices

Lignes directrices pour le financement des Revendications au tribunal des revendications particulières du Canada

  1. INTRODUCTION

    Le financement des contributions en appui à la participation des Premières Nations au processus du Tribunal des revendications particulières du Canada (Tribunal) est fourni chaque année par une allocation du Parlement. Il n'y a donc aucune garantie que des fonds seront disponibles pour toutes les demandes et que toutes les dépenses admissibles seront couvertes. Le financement sera versé annuellement selon une formule du cas par cas. Quoique le financement pour la participation aux procédures du Tribunal ne sera pas offert par le biais d'ententes pluriannuelles, tous les efforts seront mis en place afin d'accommoder les Premières Nations qui participent aux procédures du Tribunal sur une période de deux ans.

    La responsabilité de déterminer les niveaux de financement aux Premières Nations, de gérer les fonds et de faire le suivi des ententes de financement pour les bénéficiaires autochtones (ententes) dans le cadre de ce programme revient à l'Unité des services de financement pour la gouvernance et négociations autochtones (USFGNA).

    Toutes les demandes de financement liées aux procédures du Tribunal doivent être approuvées avant que les coûts soient encourus. Si l'approbation préalable n'a pas été obtenue, les Premières Nations doivent assumer la responsabilité pour les coûts puisque l'USFGNA ne peut pas financer les dépenses faites par les Premières Nations qui ne sont pas prévues dans les lignes directrices de l'USFGNA.

    Le versement d'un financement par contribution pour la participation au processus du Tribunal est régi par la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, p. 13(2) qui stipule que : « Le Tribunal déduit des dépenses adjugés au revendicateur les sommes que celui-ci a reçues de Sa Majesté pour lui permettre de saisir le Tribunal de sa revendication. »

    Ces lignes directrices sont susceptibles de changer afin de respecter l'évolution du Tribunal et de répondre aux besoins des Premières Nations qui participent au Tribunal.
  2. BÉNÉFICIAIRES ADMISSIBLES

    Un financement par contribution sera versé aux Premières Nations pour leur permettre de mener les activités nécessaires en vue de présenter leur revendication au Tribunal.

    Chaque contribution devra être régie par une entente signée ou par une modification apportée à une entente existante entre la Première Nation respective et le ministre.

    Tous les bénéficiaires admissibles qui reçoivent du financement en vertu de l'entente devront fournir des rapports financiers, des rapports d'étape et un état financier vérifié comme il est exigé dans les modalités de chaque entente.

    Des efforts sont actuellement déployés afin d'accélérer le processus de distribution de fonds de soutien aux participants. Pour tout problème relilé aux délais de distribution de fonds, il est suggéré que la Première Nation, ou son représentant, communique avec l'agent de financement   responsable du dossier pour en discuter et remédier à la situation.
  3. DÉPENSES ADMISSIBLES Note de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 2

    Tout l'appui financier sera versé en fonction d'un budget descriptif approuvé. Toutes les dépenses admissibles devraient être raisonables et conformes aux activités requises pour respecter les règles de pratique et de procédure du Tribunal.

    Des exemples relatives aux dépenses admissibles comprennent, entre autres :
    • Participation aux procédures du Tribunal comme :
      • Conférence(s) sur la gestion du cas
      • Conférences avant l'audience
      • Audiences
      • Interrogatoires
    • Les frais juridiques relatifs aux procédures du Tribunal comme :
      • Conférence(s) sur la gestion du cas
      • Conférences avant l'audience
      • Audiences
      • Interrogatoires
      • Préparation des témoins
      • Préparation et examen de la documentation
    • Les dépenses relatives aux témoins et interprètes qui participent aux procédures du Tribunal comme :
      • Conférence(s) sur la gestion du cas
      • Conférences avant l'audience
      • Audiences
      • Interrogatoires
  4. DÉPENSES NON ADMISSIBLES

    Les dépenses non admissibles comprennent, entre autres :
    • Recherche (ex. juridique, historique, etc.) qui a déjà été financée.

  5. PROCESSUS D'ACCÈS AU FINANCEMENT

    Les demandes de financement doivent être faites sous la forme d'un budget descriptif qui comprend une ventilation raisonnable des dépenses anticipées comme :
    • Les frais, particulièrement les tarifs journaliers et le nombre anticipé de jours pour chaque participant (ex. la Première Nation, les avocats, les témoins, les interprètes);
    • Les dépenses de déplacement pour chaque participant (ex. la Première Nation, les avocats, les témoins, les interprètes);
    • Les procédures anticipées pour lesquelles les dépenses sont faites (ex. le nombre de conférences sur la gestion du cas, une conférence avant l'audience, le nombre anticipé d'audiences, les interrogatoires, etc.).
    Les demandes doivent être accompagnées de la preuve que la revendication a été transférée au Tribunal, par exemple une copie de la déclaration de revendication ou l'accusé de réception du Tribunal.

    Les demandes de financement doivent être envoyées à :

    Kevin Clement
    Directeur
    Direction du soutien à la négociation
    Direction générale de l'élaboration et coordination de politiques
    Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone
    10, rue Wellington, pièce 8G1
    Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4

    Téléc. : 819-953-2198
Date de modification :