Frequently Asked Questions

What are specific claims?

Specific claims deal with the past grievances of First Nations. These grievances relate to Canada's obligations under historic treaties or the way it managed First Nation funds or assets. For example, a specific claim could involve the failure to provide enough reserve land as promised in a historic treaty or the improper handling of First Nation money by the Crown.

How are these claims dealt with?

The Government of Canada has a policy and process in place for resolving specific claims through negotiations. It is important to note that this process is optional for First Nations. It provides First Nations with an alternative to going to court to resolve their claims. Read the Specific Claims Policy.

What are the general steps in this process?

The first step is for the First Nation to submit its claim to Canada. The claim is accepted into the process if it meets the Minimum Standard for claim submissions and falls within the scope of the Specific Claims Policy. Canada then assesses the historical and legal facts of the claim to determine whether or not to accept a claim for negotiation. If an outstanding lawful obligation is found and damages are owed, Canada offers to negotiate a settlement with the First Nation. Negotiations take place to determine what compensation would be fair to resolve the claim. The parties work together to reach a final settlement. Read the key definitions for more information about the specific claims process. Review a graph that shows the different steps in the process.

What are the key steps in the assessment stage?

When a claim is being assessed, this means that Canada is completing a historical and legal review of the facts of the claim to determine whether it owes a lawful obligation to the First Nation. This phase of the process has three steps:

What does the term "file closure" mean?

Files can be closed and removed from the claims inventory for a variety of reasons:

What is the difference between "settled" and "concluded" claims?

Settled claims have been resolved through a negotiated settlement between the First Nation and Canada, and where applicable, the relevant provincial or territorial government. Once the settlement is signed by the parties, implementation proceeds, including the payment of compensation.

Concluded claims consist of settled claims as well as claims that have been dealt with in ways other than a negotiated settlement.  This includes when Canada has not accepted a claim for negotiation and the First Nation has taken no further action on the claim. Claims also fall into this category when the claim has been resolved through a binding decision of the Specific Claims Tribunal.

What is the government's approval process for specific claim settlements?

Once negotiators for Canada and a First Nation have concluded talks on a proposed settlement, the next step in the process is ratification by the First Nation. The proposed settlement must also be approved by the Government of Canada before it can be finalized.

The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development can now finalize negotiated financial settlements valued at up to $50 million.

Negotiated specific claim settlements valued at between $50 million and $150 million require approval by Treasury Board before they can be signed by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

Regardless of their size, all land-related claim settlements require approval by the Governor-in-Council before they can be finalized.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions

Que sont les revendications particulières?

Les revendications particulières portent sur des griefs formulés par les Premières nations. Ces griefs ont trait aux obligations du gouvernement du Canada prévues dans les traités historiques, ou à la façon dont le gouvernement a géré les fonds et les autres biens des Premières nations. À titre d'exemple, une revendication particulière pourrait viser à contester l'octroi insuffisant de terres de réserve par rapport à ce que prévoyait un traité historique, ou l'utilisation indue des fonds des Premières nations par la Couronne.

Comment ces revendications sont-elles traitées?

Le gouvernement du Canada dispose d'une politique et d'un processus qui permettent de régler les revendications particulières par la négociation. Il est important de remarquer qu'il s'agit d'un processus facultatif permettant aux Premières nations d'éviter d'avoir recours aux tribunaux pour régler leurs revendications. Veuillez consulter la Politique sur les revendications particulières.

Quelles sont les étapes principales de ce processus?

La première étape est la soumission d'une revendication par une Première nation auprès du gouvernement du Canada. La revendication est acceptée dans le processus si elle respecte la Norme minimale pour le dépôt d'une revendication particulière et entre dans le cadre de la Politique sur les revendications particulières. Le gouvernement du Canada évalue ensuite les faits historiques et juridiques liés à la revendication pour déterminer s'il accepte la revendication aux fins de négociation. S'il s'avère que des obligations légales n'ont pas été respectées et qu'une indemnisation doit être versée, le Canada offre à la Première nation d'entamer des négociations afin de déterminer quelle indemnisation réglerait la revendication de manière équitable. Les parties collaborent pour parvenir à un règlement final. Consultez les définitions importantes pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet du processus des revendications particulières. Afficher un diagramme qui illustre les diverses étapes du processus.

Quelles sont les phases clés de l'étape de l'évaluation?

Lorsqu'une revendication en est à l'étape de l'évaluation, cela signifie que le gouvernement du Canada réalise un examen historique et juridique des faits qui y sont liés afin de déterminer s'il a des obligations légales envers la Première nation. Cette étape du processus compte trois phases :

Qu'est-ce que la « fermeture de dossier »?

Les dossiers peuvent être fermés puis retirés de l'inventaire des revendications pour diverses raisons :

Quelle est la différence entre une revendication réglée et une revendication conclue?

Les revendications réglées ont été réglées par la conclusion d'un règlement négocié entre la Première Nation et le Canada et, le cas échéant, le gouvernement provincial ou territorial touché. Une fois le règlement signé par les parties, on procède à la mise en œuvre, notamment le versement de l'indemnité.

Les revendications conclues ont été réglées par une voie autre que la conclusion d'un règlement négocié. C’est le cas lorsque le Canada refuse de négocier et que la Première Nation n’a pris aucune mesure supplémentaire. Cette catégorie regroupe également les revendications résolues par une décision exécutoire du Tribunal des revendications particulières..

Quel est le processus d'approbation du gouvernement pour le règlement des revendications particulières?

Quand les négociateurs du Canada et d'une Première Nation ont conclu leurs pourparlers sur une proposition de règlement, la prochaine étape du processus est celle de la ratification par la Première Nation. Le règlement proposé doit également être approuvé par le gouvernement du Canada avant de pouvoir être parachevé.

Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien peut maintenant terminer les règlements financiers négociés qui sont évalués à 50 millions de dollars au plus.

Le règlement des revendications particulières évaluées entre 50 et 150 millions de dollars requiert l'approbation du Conseil du Trésor avant de pouvoir être signé par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien.

Sans égard à leur valeur, toutes les revendications particulières visant des terres requièrent l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil avant de pouvoir être parachevées.

Date de modification :