The Specific Claims Process:  Key Definitions

The different steps of the specific claims process and key related terms are described below.

Under Assessment

In this step of the process, Canada reviews the claim and decides whether or not to accept it for negotiation. Canada completes a historical and legal review of the facts of each claim to determine whether there is an outstanding lawful obligation to the First Nation. For more information about this step, read the Frequently Asked Questions.

In Negotiation

If an outstanding lawful obligation is found, Canada offers to negotiate a settlement with the First Nation. If the First Nation accepts the offer to negotiate, negotiations take place to determine what compensation would be fair to resolve the claim. The parties in this stage are working together to reach a settlement.

Settled

These claims have been resolved through a negotiated settlement between the First Nation and Canada, and (where applicable) the relevant provincial or territorial government. Once the settlement is signed by the parties, implementation proceeds, including the payment of compensation.

Concluded

This category includes settled claims as well as claims that have been dealt with in ways other than a negotiated settlement. This includes when Canada has not accepted a claim for negotiation and the First Nation has taken no further action on the claim.Claims also fall into this category when the claim has been resolved through a binding decision of the Specific Claims Tribunal.

Other Claims

A claim falls into this category when a First Nation chooses to pursue its claim through the courts or to refer its claim to the Specific Claims Tribunal for a binding decision. Claims also fall into this category when it has been dealt with through other means, such as file closure. Read about the general scenarios in which a First Nation can refer its claim to the Tribunal.

Date modified:

Processus de règlement des revendications particulières : Définitions importantes

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description des diverses étapes du processus de règlement des revendications particulières ainsi que des termes connexes.

À l'étape de l'évaluation

À cette étape du processus, le gouvernement du Canada examine la revendication et décide s'il l'accepte aux fins de négociation. Le gouvernement du Canada réalise un examen historique et juridique des faits liés à chaque revendication afin de déterminer s'il a une obligation légale non respectée à l'endroit de la Première Nation. Pour obtenir de plus amples détails sur cette étape, consultez la foire aux questions.

En cours de négociation

S'il s'avère que des obligations légales n'ont pas été respectées, le gouvernement du Canada offre à la Première Nation d'entamer des négociations. Si elle accepte, des négociations ont lieu afin de déterminer quelle indemnisation réglerait la revendication de manière équitable. À cette étape, les parties collaborent pour parvenir à une entente.

Réglées

Ces revendications ont été réglées au moyen de la négociation d'un accord entre la Première Nation, le gouvernement du Canada et, le cas échéant, le gouvernement provincial ou territorial intéressé. Une fois l'accord signé par les parties, on procède à sa mise en œuvre, y compris le versement de l'indemnité.

Conclues

Cette catégorie englobe les revendications réglées ainsi que les revendications traitées par une voie autre que la conclusion d'un règlement négocié. C'est le cas lorsque le Canada refuse de négocier et que la Première Nation n'a pris aucune mesure supplémentaire. Cette catégorie regroupe également les revendications résolues par une décision exécutoire du Tribunal des revendications particulières.

Autres revendications

Une revendication est classée dans cette catégorie lorsque la Première Nation décide d'avoir recours aux tribunaux ou de demander au Tribunal des revendications particulières de rendre une décision exécutoire en ce qui concerne sa revendication particulière. Cette catégorie regroupe également les revendications résolues par une autre voie, par exemple par une fermeture de dossier. Renseignez vous sur les scénarios généraux qui permettent à une Première nation de choisir de s'en remettre au Tribunal.

Date de modification :