Land Claims

In general, there are two types of Aboriginal claims in Canada that are commonly referred to as “land claims” - comprehensive claims and specific claims.  Comprehensive claims always involve land, but specific claims are not necessarily land-related.

Comprehensive Claims

Comprehensive claims deal with the unfinished business of treaty-making in Canada.  These claims arise in areas of Canada where Aboriginal land rights have not been dealt with by past treaties or through other legal means.  In these areas, forward-looking modern treaties are negotiated between the Aboriginal group, Canada and the province or territory.

Specific Claims

Specific claims deal with past grievances of First Nations related to Canada's obligations under historic treaties or the way it managed First Nations' funds or other assets.  To honour its obligations, Canada negotiates settlements with the First Nation and (where applicable) provincial and/or territorial governments.


Canada first established policies on Aboriginal claims in 1973, along with processes and funding for resolving these claims through negotiation. It is important to note that these are optional processes that provide Aboriginal groups with an alternative to going to court to resolve their claims. It is in the best interest of all Canadians, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal alike, to find mutually-acceptable ways to resolve these claims. Negotiations lead to “win-win” situations that balance the rights of all Canadians.

What Information is Available?

In this section find information on comprehensive and specific claims including information on the specific land claims action plan to speed up the resolution of these claims, relevant maps, fact sheets, speeches, announcements and more.

Revendications territoriales

En général, il existe deux types de « revendications territoriales »  par les Autochtones au Canada : les revendications globales et les revendications particulières. Les revendications globales concernent toujours des terres, mais les revendications particulières peuvent porter sur d'autres sujets.

Revendications globales

Les revendications globales portent sur la conclusion des traités qui n'est pas encore terminée au Canada. Elles visent des régions du Canada où les droits fonciers des Autochtones n'ont pas encore fait l'objet de traités ni d'autres mesures juridiques. Le groupe autochtone, le Canada et la province ou le territoire négocient alors des traités modernes axés sur l'avenir.

Revendications particulières

Les revendications particulières portent sur des anciens griefs des Premières nations concernant les obligations du Canada en vertu de traités historiques ou la manière dont il a géré les fonds et les autres biens des Premières nations. Pour faire honneur à ses obligations, le Canada négocie des règlements avec la Première nation et, au besoin, avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Négociations

Le Canada a établi pour la première fois des politiques sur les revendications autochtones en 1973, en même temps que les processus et le financement nécessaires aux négociations visant le règlement des revendications. Il est important de remarquer qu'il s'agit de processus facultatifs permettant aux groupes autochtones d'éviter d'avoir recours aux tribunaux pour résoudre leurs revendications. Tous les Canadiens, Autochtones ou non, ont intérêt  à trouver des moyens mutuellement acceptables de résoudre ces revendications. Les négociations mènent à des situations avantageuses pour les droits de tous les Canadiens.

Renseignements disponibles

Cette section contient de l'information sur les revendications globales et particulières, y compris sur le plan d'action pour les revendications territoriales particulières visant à accélérer le règlement, des cartes pertinentes, des fiches d'information, des discours, des communiqués, etc.

Information additionnelles