Negotiation process

What are we doing?

The Government of Canada has mandates to negotiate Aboriginal and treaty rights and self-government in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspé region of Québec. Discussions are at various stages in each of these provinces. As a result of these discussions, a number of agreements have been signed and the parties are working on strengthening their relationships, broaching issues of mutual concern and making progress towards addressing outstanding Aboriginal and treaty rights.

Who will be involved in negotiations?

Negotiations generally involve three parties: the Government of Canada, the Provincial Government and the First Nations group. Each party is represented by a negotiation team. It's Canada's preference to have one main negotiation table in each province.

Because most lands and resources issues fall under Provincial jurisdiction, the participation of the Provincial Government in the negotiation of Aboriginal and treaty rights is strongly encouraged. Provincial participation is necessary for any negotiations involving areas of provincial jurisdiction.

How will the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet be represented in negotiations?

Canada wants these negotiations to be inclusive and will work with the other parties to ensure that as many potential beneficiaries are represented in these processes as possible to address both Aboriginal and treaty rights. Currently, First Nations are represented at the negotiation tables by Provincial aggregate organizations that work closely with Native Councils in their respective provinces.

There are 34 Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspé region of Québec who are potentially affected by the Supreme Court of Canada Marshall decision. The Peace and Friendship Treaties were signed by groups of Mi'kmaq and Maliseet before the concept of "Bands" was introduced by the Indian Act in 1876. Today, Canada views Mi'kmaq and Maliseet Bands as the modern day successors of the original groups that signed the treaties. Canada will continue to encourage First Nations to work with other Aboriginal groups to try to ensure an inclusive process which can address both Aboriginal and treaty rights.

What does a negotiation process look like?

Canada's long-term objective is that the negotiation process will deal with Aboriginal and treaty rights, including Aboriginal title and self-government, and will be designed around the circumstances, needs and interests of the parties involved. While each negotiation process will have its own milestones, broadly speaking, these are the anticipated steps.

As a preliminary stage, Canada believes that exploratory discussions are helpful in that they allow the parties to exchange views and determine if there is enough common ground to proceed. The parties may choose to conclude an Umbrella Agreement at this time to formalize their commitment to work together.

After a possible Umbrella Agreement, the parties begin to set out the basis for negotiations, including subjects to be negotiated, in some sort of framework. Typically, a Framework Agreement is the first formal agreement signed by the parties, though it is not legally binding. It outlines topic areas for the Agreement-in-Principle (AIP) negotiations, which is the stage when substantive negotiations generally occur.

Once substantive negotiations on key areas are complete, the parties sign an AIP, which is not legally binding. An AIP works as a "rough draft" for a Final Agreement as the parties negotiate finer details. Upon reaching consensus, the parties each have a Final Agreement ratified and signed, at which point it becomes a constitutionally-protected document. Depending on the preferences of the involved parties, these steps may be referred to by different names. During the negotiation processes, steps are taken to ensure that third parties, stakeholders, and the general public are informed about the progress of negotiations and that their interests are taken into account.

What issues are going to be discussed?

It is up to the parties to identify the topics for discussion. For example, the Government of Canada can propose subject matters that fall within federal jurisdiction such as fish, National Parks, migratory birds and federal Crown lands.

Date modified:

Processus de négotiation

Que faisons-nous?

Le gouvernement du Canada a le mandat de négocier les questions relatives aux droits ancestraux ou issus de traités et à l'autonomie gouvernementale en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Gaspésie, au Québec. Les discussions en sont à divers stades dans chacune de ces provinces. Par suite de ces discussions, un certain nombre d'accords ont été signés et les parties s'efforcent de renforcer leur relations, de régler les questions d'intérêt commun et de progresser vers le règlement de droits ancestraux et issus de traités en suspens.

Qui participera aux négociations?

Les négociations regroupent généralement trois parties : le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement provincial et le groupe autochtone. Chaque partie est représentée par une équipe de négociation. Le Canada préfère avoir une table de négociation principale dans chaque province.

Parce que la majorité des questions liées aux terres et aux ressources sont de compétence provinciale, on encourage fortement le gouvernement provincial à prendre part aux négociations sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités. Il est nécessaire que la province participe à toutes les négociations portant sur des domaines de compétence provinciale.

Comment les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites seront-ils représentés dans les négociations?

Le Canada désire que les négociations tiennent compte des intérêts de tous, et il travaillera avec les autres parties pour faire en sorte que le plus grand nombre possible de bénéficiaires éventuels soient représentés dans ces processus visant l'étude des droits ancestraux et des droits issus de traités. Actuellement, les Premières nations sont représentées aux tables de négociation par des organisations provinciales travaillant étroitement avec les conseils des Autochtones de leurs provinces respectives.

On compte 34 groupes de Mi'kmaq et de Malécites en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Gaspésie, au Québec, à qui pourrait s'appliquer la décision Marshall de la Cour suprême du Canada. Les traités de paix et d'amitié ont été signés par des groupes de Mi'kmaq et de Malécites avant que le concept de « bande » ne soit instauré par l'Acte des Sauvages de 1876. À l'heure actuelle, le Canada considère les bandes des Mi'kmaq et des Malécites comme les successeurs contemporains des groupes qui ont signé les traités. Le Canada continuera d'encourager les Premières nations à collaborer avec les autres groupes autochtones en vue d'assurer un processus inclusif qui permettra de régler la question des droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

En quoi consiste un processus de négociation?

À long terme, le gouvernement du Canada souhaite que le processus de négociation traite les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, notamment le titre autochtone et l'autonomie gouvernementale, et s'adapte à la situation, aux besoins et aux intérêts de toutes les parties. Bien que chaque processus de négociation ait ses propres jalons, voici les étapes qui sont prévues dans l'ensemble.

Le Canada est d'avis qu'au tout début du processus, des discussions exploratoires sont utiles aux parties, parce qu'elles leur permettent d'échanger des points de vue et de déterminer s'il y a suffisamment de terrains d'entente pour entamer des négociations. À ce stade, les parties pourront choisir de conclure une entente cadre afin d'officialiser leur engagement à collaborer.

Après la conclusion éventuelle d'une entente cadre, les parties commenceront à définir les bases de la négociation, notamment en déterminant les sujets à discuter, pour former une sorte de cadre de travail. Généralement, l'accord cadre constitue le premier accord officiel signé par les parties, bien qu'il n'entraîne pas d'obligation juridique. L'accord-cadre souligne les sujets de négociation qui mèneront à la conclusion d'une entente de principe, laquelle constitue l'étape où les négociations de fond se déroulent habituellement.

Lorsque les négociations de fond sur les principaux sujets sont complétées, les parties signent une entente de principe, laquelle n'entraîne pas d'obligation juridique. L'entente de principe sert de « version préliminaire » à l'accord définitif pendant que les parties négocient les derniers détails. Lorsqu'un consensus est atteint, les parties doivent chacune faire ratifier et signer l'accord définitif, à la suite de quoi le document devient protégé par la Constitution. Selon les préférences des parties concernées, ces étapes peuvent être désignées différemment. Durant le processus de négociation, des mesures sont prises pour garantir que les tierces parties, les intervenants et le grand public sont informés de la progression des négociations et que leurs intérêts sont pris en compte.

Quelles sont les questions dont on discutera?

Il incombe aux parties concernées de déterminer les sujets à discuter. Par exemple, le gouvernement du Canada peut proposer des questions qui relèvent de sa compétence, comme le poisson, les parcs nationaux, les oiseaux migrateurs et les terres de la Couronne fédérale.