Nova Scotia Chronology

1725-1779

Peace and Friendship treaties are signed with Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations and the British Crown on the East Coast.

July 2, 1997

Tripartite Forum Memorandum of Understanding is signed between the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia and Canada. The forum's mandate is to discuss, investigate and negotiate measures that will assist in the resolution of issues of mutual concern between the parties.

October 1, 1998

A Treaty Commemorative Statement is signed acknowledging and re-affirming the longstanding treaty relationship between the Crown and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia. The Statement is signed by the Grand Chief of the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia and the governments of Canada and Nova Scotia.

September 17, 1999

In the Donald Marshall case, the Supreme Court of Canada affirmed a treaty right to hunt, fish, and gather in pursuit of a moderate livelihood, stemming from the Treaties of 1760-1761. The Supreme Court did not define how these rights were to be implemented, but instead encouraged the Parties to negotiate a resolution in a fair and equitable manner.

There are 34 Mi'kmaq and Maliseet groups in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and the Gaspé region of Québec who are potentially affected by the Marshall decision.

November 17, 1999

The Supreme Court of Canada issues a second Marshall ruling on a motion for rehearing.

January 10, 2001

The Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia and Canada release a joint statement reaffirming their commitment to work together to resolve outstanding issues and begin a negotiation process to consider issues of Aboriginal and treaty rights.

February 9, 2001

The Federal Ministers of Indian and Northern Affairs and Fisheries and Oceans jointly announce the launch of Canada's long-term strategy to address the Marshall decision, including a mandate to enter a broad tripartite negotiation process to consider issues of Aboriginal rights, title and treaty rights to land, resources and self-government.

June 7, 2002

The thirteen Mi'kmaq Chiefs of Nova Scotia, Province of Nova Scotia and Canada sign an Umbrella Agreement reaffirming the longstanding relationship and commitment to work together in good faith to resolve issues of mutual concern. Signing of the Umbrella Agreement opens the way for parties to start negotiations.

November 10, 2003

Beginning of Framework Agreement meetings.

February 23, 2007

The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians, Nova Scotia's Minister of Aboriginal Affairs, and the Mi'kmaq Grand Chief signed a Framework Agreement under the Made-in-Nova Scotia negotiation process. This process is designed to address the treaty and Aboriginal rights and title of the Mi'kmaq in Nova Scotia.

Without prejudice and under the protection of the June 7, 2002 Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Umbrella Agreement.

Date modified:

Nouvelle-Écosse Chronologie

1725-1779

La Couronne britannique signe des traités de paix et d'amitié avec les Premières nations des Mi'kmaq et des Malécites sur la côte Est.

2 juillet 1997

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse signent un protocole d'entente visant un forum tripartite. Le mandat de ce forum consiste à effectuer des recherches et à négocier l'adoption de diverses mesures pour résoudre des enjeux d'intérêt commun.

1er octobre 1998

Une déclaration de commémoration des traités est signée afin de reconnaître et de reconfirmer la relation de longue date fondée sur des traités qu'entretiennent la Couronne et les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse. La déclaration est signée par le grand chef des Mi'kmaq en Nouvelle-Écosse et les représentants des gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

17 septembre 1999

Par le jugement Donald Marshall, la Cour suprême du Canada reconnaît l'existence, en vertu des traités de 1760-1761, d'un droit de pratiquer la chasse, la pêche et la cueillette pour s'assurer une subsistance convenable. La Cour suprême ne précise pas comment ces droits doivent être respectés, mais encourage plutôt les parties à négocier un règlement juste et équitable.

On compte 34 groupes de Mi'kmaq et de Malécites en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Gaspésie, au Québec, à qui pourrait s'appliquer la décision Marshall.

17 novembre 1999

La Cour suprême du Canada rend un deuxième jugement dans la cause Marshall relativement à une motion pour une nouvelle audience.

10 janvier 2001

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse publient une déclaration commune dans laquelle ils réaffirment leur détermination à travailler ensemble pour régler les questions en suspens et à entamer des négociations sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

9 février 2001

Les ministres fédéraux des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et des Pêches et des Océans annoncent le lancement de la stratégie à long terme du gouvernement fédéral pour mettre en œuvre le jugement Marshall. Cette stratégie prévoit un vaste processus de négociation tripartite sur les droits et les titres ancestraux, les droits fonciers issus des traités, les ressources naturelles et l'autonomie gouvernementale.

7 juin 2002

Les 13 chefs des Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les représentants des gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse signent une entente générale qui réaffirme leur relation de longue date et leur détermination à travailler ensemble pour résoudre les enjeux d'intérêt mutuel. La signature de l'entente générale ouvre la voie aux négociations entre les parties.

10 novembre 2003

Les parties entament les réunions en vue de conclure une entente-cadre.

23 février 2007

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, le ministre des Affaires autochtones de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le grand chef mi'kmaq signent une entente-cadre s'inscrivant dans le processus de négociation néo-écossais. Ce processus vise à régler les questions relatives aux droits ancestraux et issus de traités et au titre autochtone des Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Sous réserve de tous droits et sous la protection de l'entente générale Mi'kmaq – Nouvelle-Écosse – Canada du 7 juin 2002.

Date de modification :