Frequently Asked Questions

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Made-in-Nova Scotia Process

What is the Made-in-Nova Scotia Process?

The Made-in-Nova Scotia Process has been established by the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, the Province of Nova Scotia and Canada to sit down together and negotiate outstanding issues of Aboriginal rights, including assertions of Aboriginal title and treaty rights. We want to create a process that is flexible enough to take into account the unique circumstances, interests and rights of all involved.

Why are we negotiating now?

Over the past thirty years, courts in Nova Scotia and Canada have recognized the existence and validity of Aboriginal and treaty rights and have tried to clarify the nature and extent of these rights. When addressing Aboriginal or treaty rights questions, Canadian courts have consistently encouraged governments and First Nations to approach such questions through negotiations rather than litigation. Such was the case in 1999 when the Supreme Court of Canada in the Donald Marshall case confirmed the existence of Mi'kmaq rights as outlined in the Treaties of 1760-61. The Supreme Court did not define how these rights were to be implemented, but encouraged the Parties to negotiate a resolution in a fair and equitable manner. Negotiations permit the Parties to come up with mutually agreeable solutions to some very complicated questions about how the interests and rights of the Mi'kmaq and the governments of Canada and Nova Scotia can be addressed.

What is the aim of negotiations?

Canada, the Mi'kmaq and Nova Scotia have agreed to enter into a negotiation process to provide a constructive and practical way to move forward. This is a continuation of the unique process set out in the June 7, 2002 Mi'kmaq - Nova Scotia - Canada Umbrella Agreement and in the February 23, 2007 Framework Agreement (link to the Framework Agreement). The Parties hope to build on existing relationships and to reach agreement on how rights will be implemented and how responsibilities will be shared among Canada, the Mi'kmaq and Nova Scotia over issues of land, resources and governance.

What is the June 7, 2002 Mi'kmaq - Nova Scotia - Canada Umbrella Agreement?

The Umbrella Agreement committed Canada, Nova Scotia and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia to work together in good faith to resolve mutual issues respecting Aboriginal and treaty rights, among other things. The Umbrella Agreement mandated the Parties to begin discussions on a Framework Agreement.

At what stage is the Made in-Nova Scotia Process?

Canada, Nova Scotia and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia signed the Framework Agreement on February 23, 2007.  Groups apart from the main negotiation meetings and consisting of representatives from each parties have been established to discuss and make progress on specific topics of importance to the negotiations, while more broad Agreement-in-Principle negotiations take place during the main negotiation meetings.  The Terms of Reference for a Consultation Process have been negotiated and are undergoing internal consultation by each party.

Who are the Parties to these Negotiations?

These negotiations involve the Government of Canada (represented by the Chief Federal Negotiator and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada), the Government of Nova Scotia (represented by the Office of Aboriginal Affairs) and the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia (represented by the Assembly of Nova Scotia Mi'kmaq Chiefs and Kwimuk Maw-klusuaqn). A negotiating team represents each Party.

How will Nova Scotians be involved in the Made-in-Nova Scotia Process?

Stakeholders and members of the general public will have opportunities to become informed and involved throughout the negotiation process. The views and interests of the public, stakeholder groups and organizations will help ensure that the broader public interest is understood and considered in resolving issues under negotiation. All Parties recognize that public involvement is an important part of the process and will be talking to interested people and organizations, both Mi'kmaq and non-Aboriginal.

Without prejudice and under the protection of the June 7, 2002 Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Umbrella Agreement.

Foire aux questions

Processus de négociation néo-écossais

Qu'est-ce que le processus néo-écossais?

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont établi le processus néo-écossais afin de négocier les questions en suspens touchant les droits ancestraux, dont les titres autochtones et les droits issus de traités. Les parties voulaient créer un processus suffisamment souple pour tenir compte des particularités, des besoins, des intérêts et des droits de toutes les parties.

Pourquoi entreprend-on maintenant des négociations?

Au cours des 30 dernières années, les tribunaux du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont rendu des décisions qui reconnaissent l'existence et la validité des droits ancestraux et issus de traités, et ils ont tenté de préciser la nature et la portée de ces droits. En rendant leurs jugements sur des questions touchant les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, les tribunaux canadiens ont fortement encouragé les gouvernements et les Premières nations à résoudre ces questions par la négociation plutôt que par des actions en justice. Par exemple, en 1999, la Cour suprême du Canada, dans son jugement de la cause Donald Marshall, a confirmé l'existence des droits des Mi'kmaq dans les traités de 1760 et 1761. La Cour suprême n'a pas précisé comment ces droits doivent être respectés, mais a plutôt encouragé les parties à négocier un règlement juste et équitable. Grâce à la négociation, les parties ont trouvé d'un commun accord des solutions à des questions fort complexes sur la façon d'aborder les droits et les intérêts des Mi'kmaq et des gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Quel est l'objectif de ces négociations?

Les Mi'kmaq et les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont convenu de lancer un processus de négociation pour aller de l'avant d'une manière pratique et constructive. Il s'agit de la suite d'un processus unique établi dans l'entente générale Mi'kmaq – Nouvelle-Écosse – Canada du 7 juin 2002 et dans l'entente-cadre du 23 février 2007 (lien vers l'entente-cadre). Les parties espèrent qu'en misant sur les bonnes relations actuelles, elles pourront s'entendre sur la manière dont les droits seront mis en œuvre et les responsabilités partagées entre le gouvernement du Canada, les Mi'kmaq et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse relativement aux terres, aux ressources et à la gouvernance.

Qu'est-ce que l'entente générale Mi'kmaq – Nouvelle-Écosse – Canada du 7 juin 2002?

Par cette entente, le gouvernement du Canada, la Nouvelle-Écosse et les Mi'kmaq de la province se sont engagés à collaborer de bonne foi pour régler diverses questions d'intérêt mutuel, notamment en ce qui touche les droits ancestraux et issus de traités. Aux termes de l'entente générale, les parties ont convenu d'entamer des discussions en vue de conclure une entente-cadre.

À quelle étape le processus néo-écossais en est-il rendu?

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse et les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont signé une entente-cadre le 23 février 2007. Des groupes distincts qui ne participent pas aux réunions de négociation principales et qui sont formés de représentants de chacune des parties ont été constitués afin de discuter de certains sujets particuliers importants pour les négociations et de les faire progresser, tandis que des négociations plus générales devant mener à une entente de principe ont lieu au cours des réunions de négociation principales. Le cadre de référence du processus de consultation a été négocié et il fait l'objet d'un examen interne par chaque partie.

Qui prend part à ces négociations?

Les négociations réunissent le gouvernement du Canada (représenté par le négociateur en chef du gouvernement fédéral et par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada), le gouvernement de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (représenté par l'Office des affaires autochtones) et les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (représentés par l'Assemblée des chefs mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle‑Écosse et Kwilmu'kw Maw‑klusuaqn). Chaque partie peut compter sur une équipe de négociateurs.

De quelle façon les Néo-Écossais pourront-ils participer au processus de négociation néo-écossais?

Les tierces parties et les membres du grand public seront tenus au courant des négociations et auront l'occasion de les commenter. En faisant connaître leurs opinions et leurs intérêts, ils feront en sorte que l'intérêt général soit compris et intégré au règlement des questions qui font l'objet des négociations. Les parties reconnaissent l'importance de la participation du public et elles consulteront les personnes et les organismes intéressés, tant les Mi'kmaq que les non-Autochtones.

Sous réserve de tous droits et sous la protection de l'entente générale Mi'kmaq Nouvelle-Écosse Canada du 7 juin 2002.