Negotiation Tables Update

These tables are categorized as comprehensive land claim negotiations because they have the dual focus of bringing clarity to Aboriginal rights and implementing the historic Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1760–1761. The negotiated agreements will honour historic treaty rights.

Gaspésie

In September 2008, the Mi’gmaq of Québec, the Province of Québec and Canada signed the Niganita’suatas’gl Ilsutagann Agreement (NI). The NI is an Umbrella Agreement which establishes a results-oriented process to discuss issues of mutual concern with a view of reaching a Framework Agreement. In June 2012, the parties signed a Framework Agreement as well as a Consultation Agreement which establishes a streamlined, one-window process through which federal and provincial governments can consult the Mi’gmaq in Québec.

New Brunswick

The Mi'gmag and Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) of New Brunswick, the Province of New Brunswick and Canada signed the Mi'gmag Wolastoqiyik/New Brunswick/Canada Umbrella Agreement on September 9, 2011. This Agreement establishes an effective and orderly process to help guide discussions among the parties towards the conclusion of a Framework Agreement on Aboriginal and treaty rights and self-government and a Consultation Agreement.

Prince Edward Island

In December 2007, the Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island, the Province of Prince Edward Island and Canada signed a Partnership Agreement, which strengthened their relationship and established a tripartite process to address issues of mutual concern such as education, health, child and family services, justice and economic development. In August 2012, the parties signed a Consultation Agreement which establishes a streamlined, one-window process through which federal and provincial governments can consult the Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island.

Nova Scotia

The Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia, the Province of Nova Scotia and Canada signed an Umbrella Agreement on June 7, 2002, and a Framework Agreement on February 23, 2007. Through the Framework Agreement, the parties have agreed to enter into a negotiation process which provides a constructive and practical way of addressing the treaty and Aboriginal rights and title of the Mi'kmaq of Nova Scotia. The parties are currently negotiating an Agreement-in-Principle and discussions are in progress on issues including wildlife, lands, governance and National Parks.

On August 31, 2010, the parties also signed the Terms of Reference for a Mi'kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Consultation Process. This Agreement streamlines and facilitates consultation by establishing an orderly process for Crown consultations with the thirteen Mi'kmaq First Nations.

Additional Information

Dernières nouvelles concernant les tables de négociation

Ces tables sont classifiées comme des négociations de revendications territoriales globales parce qu'elles ont le double objectif d'apporter une clarté aux droits ancestraux et de mettre en œuvre les traités historiques de paix et d'amitié de 1760–1761. Les accords négociés honoreront les droits issus de traités historiques.

Gaspésie

En septembre 2008, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec et les Mi’gmaq de la province ont signé l’Accord Niganita’suatas’gl Ilsutagann, une entente générale qui établit un processus axé sur les résultats afin de discuter des questions d’intérêt commun et de conclure un entente-cadre. En juin 2012, les parties ont signé une entente-cadre ainsi qu'une entente sur la consultation qui établit un processus simplifié, à guichet unique par lequel les gouvernements fédéral et provincial peuvent consulter les Mi’gmaq au Québec.

Nouveau-Brunswick

Les Mi'gmag et les Wolastoqiyik (Malécites) du Nouveau-Brunswick, la province du Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada ont signé l'entente générale Mi'gmag Wolastoqiyik-Nouveau-Brunswick-Canada le 9 septembre 2011. Cette entente met sur pied un processus efficace et méthodique pour aider à orienter les discussions entre les parties afin de conclure  une entente-cadre sur les droits ancestraux et issus des traités et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ainsi qu'une entente sur la consultation.

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

En décembre 2007, les Mi'kmaq de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Province de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et le Canada on signé une entente de partenariat, qui renforce leur rélation et établit un processus tripartite permettant de régler les questions d'intérêt commun telles que l'éduation, la santé, les services à l'enfance et à la famille, la justice et le développpement économique. En août 2012, les parties ont signé une entente de consultation qui établit un processus simplifié, à guichet unique, par lequel les gouvernements fédéral et provincial peuvent consulter les Mi'kmaq de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Les Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse, la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Canada ont signé une entente générale le 7 juin 2002 et une entente-cadre le 23 février 2007. En vertu de l'entente-cadre, les parties ont accepté d'entamer un processus de négociation visant à trouver un moyen constructif et pratique de résoudre les questions liées aux droits issus de traités et ainsi qu'aux droits ancestraux et au titre autochtone des Mi'kmaq de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les parties négocient présentement une entente de principe et les discussions progressent concernant les enjeux de ressources fauniques, de terres, de gouvernance et de parcs nationaux.

Le 31 août 2010, les parties ont également signé un cadre de référence relatif au processus de consultation entre les Mi'kmaq, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Canada. Ce cadre rationalise et facilite les consultations en mettant sur pied un processus méthodique lors des consultations de la Couronne avec les 13 Premières Nations micmaques.

Renseignements supplémentaires