Treaty of Peace and Friendship 1760

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Treaty of Peace and Friendship concluded by Esq. Govr and Comr. in Chief in and over his Majesty's Province of Nova Scotia or Accadia with Paul Laurent chief of the LaHave tribe of Indians at Halifax in the Province of N.S. or Acadia.

I, Paul Laurent do for myself and the tribe of LaHave Indians of which I am Chief do acknowledge the jurisdiction and Dominion of His Majesty George the Second over the Territories of Nova Scotia or Accadia and we do make submission to His Majesty in the most perfect, ample and solemn manner.

And I do promise for myself and my tribe that I nor they shall not molest any of His Majesty's subjects or their dependents, in their settlements already made or to be hereafter made or in carrying on their Commerce or in any thing whatever within the Province of His said Majesty or elsewhere and if any insult, robbery or outrage shall happen to be committed by any of my tribe satisfaction and restitution shall be made to the person or persons injured.

That neither I nor any of my tribe shall in any manner entice any of his said Majesty's troops or soldiers to desert, nor in any manner assist in conveying them away but on the contrary will do our utmost endeavours to bring them back to the Company, Regiment, Fort or Garrison to which they shall belong.

That if any Quarrel or Misunderstanding shall happen between myself and the English or between them and any of my tribe, neither I, nor they shall take any private satisfaction or Revenge, but we will apply for redress according to the Laws established in His said Majesty's Dominions.

That all English prisoners made by myself or my tribe shall be sett at Liberty and that we will use our utmost endeavours to prevail on the other tribes to do the same, if any prisoners shall happen to be in their hands.

And I do further promise for myself and my tribe that we will not either directly nor indirectly assist any of the enemies of His most sacred Majesty King George the Second, his heirs or Successors, nor hold any manner of Commerce traffick nor intercourse with them, but on the contrary will as much as may be in our power discover and make known to His Majesty's Governor, any ill designs which may be formed or contrived against His Majesty's subjects. And I do further engage that we will not traffick, barter or Exchange any Commodities in any manner but with such persons or the managers of such Truck houses as shall be appointed or Established by His Majesty's Governor at Lunenbourg or Elsewhere in Nova Scotia or Accadia.

And for the more effectual security of the due performance of this Treaty and every part thereof I do promise and Engage that a certain number of persons of my tribe which shall not be less in number than two prisoners shall on or before September next reside as Hostages at Lunenburg or at such other place or places in this Province of Nova Scotia or Accadia as shall be appointed for that purpose by His Majesty's Governor of said Province which Hostages shall be exchanged for a like number of my tribe when requested.

And all these foregoing articles and every one of them made with His Excellency C. L., His Majesty's Governor I do promise for myself and on of sd part -- behalf of my tribe that we will most strictly keep and observe in the most solemn manner.

In witness whereof I have hereunto putt my mark and seal at Halifax in Nova Scotia this day of March one thousand

Paul Laurent

I do accept and agree to all the articles of the forgoing treaty in Faith and Testimony whereof I have signed these present I have caused my seal to be hereunto affixed this day of march in the 33 year of His Majesty's Reign and in the year of Our lord - 1760

Chas Lawrence

Please note: Treaty transcript from Supreme Court of Canada decision. No signed original documents are known to exist.

Traité de paix et d'amitié de 1760

Traité de paix et d'amitié conclu par Esq., Gouv. et Com. en chef dans et pour la province de Sa Majesté la Nouvelle-Écosse ou l'Acadie, avec Paul Laurent, Chef de la tribu des Indiens de LaHave, à Halifax, dans la province de la N.-É. ou d'Acadie.

Je soussigné, Paul Laurent, en mon nom et au nom de la tribu des Indiens de LaHave dont je suis le chef, reconnais la juridiction et la domination de Sa Majesté le Roi George II sur les territoires de la Nouvelle-Écosse ou d'Acadie et nous faisons notre soumission à sa Majesté de la manière la plus complète et la plus solennelle.

Et je promets en mon nom et au nom de ma tribu, de ne molester aucun des sujets de Sa Majesté et des personnes à leur charge, dans leurs établissements actuels ou futurs, ou dans leur commerce ou dans quelque autre chose dans ladite province de Sa Majesté ou ailleurs; et s'il arrive que quelque insulte, vol ou outrage soit commis par un membre de ma tribu, il sera donné satisfaction et fait restitution à la ou aux personnes lésées.

Que ni moi, ni aucun membre de ma tribu, n'inciterons les troupes ou soldats de Sa Majesté à déserter, ni ne les aiderons à s'enfuir, mais au contraire que nous nous efforcerons de les ramener à leur compagnie, régiment, fort ou garnison.

Qu'en cas de querelle ou mésentente entre moi-même et les Anglais ou entre ces derniers et un membre de ma tribu, ni eux ni moi n'exercerons aucune vengeance personnelle, mais que nous demanderons réparation selon les lois établies dans les Dominions de Sa Majesté.

Que tous les prisonniers anglais que ma tribu ou moi avons faits seront remis en liberté et que nous nous efforcerons de convaincre les autres tribus de faire de même si des prisonniers sont entre leurs mains.

Et je promets en outre, en mon nom et au nom de ma tribu, que nous n'assisterons, ni directement ni indirectement, aucun des ennemis de Sa Majesté très sacrée le Roi George II, de ses héritiers ou successeurs, ni ne ferons quelque forme de commerce, de trafic ou d'échanges avec eux; mais qu'au contraire nous ferons tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour découvrir et signaler au gouverneur de Sa Majesté tout complot formé ou ourdi contre les sujets de Sa Majesté. Et je prends en outre l'engagement que nous ne trafiquerons, ne troquerons et n'échangerons aucune marchandise, de quelque manière que ce soit, si ce n'est avec les personnes ou les gérants des maisons de troc qui seront désignées ou établies par le gouverneur de Sa Majesté à Lunenbourg ou ailleurs en Nouvelle-Écosse ou Acadie.

Et pour garantir plus efficacement l'exécution du présent traité en entier je prends l'engagement que certains membres de ma tribu, dont le nombre ne sera pas inférieur à deux, iront au plus tard en septembre prochain résider en tant qu'otages à Lunenburg ou à tel autre endroit en Nouvelle-Écosse ou Acadie désigné à cette fin par le gouverneur de Sa Majesté pour ladite province, lesquels otages seront échangés ou encore relevés par d'autres quand ils le souhaiteront.

Et je promets, en mon nom et au nom de ma tribu que nous respecterons et observerons de la manière la plus stricte et la plus solennelle tous et chacun des articles qui précèdent convenus avec Son Excellence C. L., gouverneur de Sa Majesté. En foi de quoi, j'ai apposé ma marque et mon sceau à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse, le jour de mars mille

Paul Laurent

J'accepte tous les articles du traité susdit, en foi et en témoignage de quoi j'ai signé les présentes et y ai fait apposer mon sceau ce jour du mois de mars de la 33e année du règne de Sa Majesté et de l'an de Notre Seigneur --1760

Chas Lawrence

Il s'agit de la transcription du traité cité dans la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada. À notre connaissance, il n'existe aucun document original signé.