Why Negotiate?

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

That's a question many people are asking. Hundreds of years after Europeans first arrived in North America, why do we now need to negotiate with First Nations?

There are several compelling reasons:

We must honour our treaties.

There is a four century history of co-existence between the European settlers and the Mi'kmaq, Maliseet and Passamaquoddy First Nations in the Maritimes and Gaspé. On the East Coast, Peace and Friendship Treaties were signed with Mi'kmaq, Maliseet and Passamaquoddy First Nations between 1725 and 1779. Treaties are solemn agreements that set out longstanding promises, mutual obligations and benefits for both parties. The British Crown first began entering into treaties to end hostilities and encourage cooperation between the British and First Nations. As the British and French competed for control of North America, treaties were also strategic alliances which could make the difference between success and failure for European powers. Unlike later treaties signed in other parts of Canada, the Peace and Friendship Treaties did not involve First Nations surrendering rights to the lands and resources they had traditionally used and occupied, but focused on peace, diplomacy and trade. In 1982, the Constitution Act recognized and affirmed the existing Aboriginal and treaty rights of the Aboriginal people of Canada, including the Peace and Friendship Treaties. Canadians must show respect for the longstanding Peace and Friendship Treaties and our continuing treaty relationship with First Nations by honouring these treaties.

The courts have recognized treaty rights and encouraged negotiations.

In September 1999, the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) in the Marshall decision confirmed that the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet people of the East Coast continue to have treaty rights to hunt, fish and gather to earn a moderate livelihood. These treaty rights flow from the Peace and Friendship Treaties signed in 1760 and 1761 between the British Crown and the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet people of the East Coast. The Supreme Court did not, however, define how these treaty rights were to be implemented, but instead encouraged the parties to negotiate a resolution in a fair and equitable manner. Canada is committed to finding a resolution which will implement these rights to the satisfaction of all parties involved.

There are outstanding issues of Aboriginal rights and title.

The Mi'kmaq and Maliseet maintain that they continue to hold Aboriginal rights and title throughout their traditional territory beyond the treaty rights affirmed in the Marshall decision. The Peace and Friendship Treaties in the Maritimes and Gaspé region of Québec did not involve any Mi'kmaq or Maliseet surrender of rights to the land and resources. In 2006, the Sappier & Polchies and Gray decisions confirmed site-specific Aboriginal rights to harvest logs for personal use in New Brunswick, further clarifying the Aboriginal rights context on the East Coast and highlighting the need to resolve outstanding Aboriginal rights through negotiations.

The Canadian Constitution recognizes and affirms existing Aboriginal rights, but does not define them. Over the years, the courts have helped to clarify certain aspects of the relationship between Aboriginal people and the Crown. However, the courts have only partially defined the nature and scope of Aboriginal rights and have encouraged governments and First Nations groups to resolve these outstanding rights issues through negotiations.

Negotiation is a practical and constructive way forward.

Canada needs to address its treaty obligations, while at the same time addressing other potential rights that may exist. Negotiation is the most practical and constructive means to achieve this and help build a new relationship between Government, First Nations people and Atlantic Canadians. It's a flexible instrument, allowing the parties to come up with a plan together for what will be negotiated and how.

Negotiating treaty rights, at the same time as Aboriginal rights and title, creates a special situation.  There is no model or a generic approach to follow on how to proceed in these negotiations. Negotiations will only succeed through understanding, good will and cooperation on all sides. Together, we have to devise processes in each Maritime province and in the Gaspé region of Québec which meet the needs and interests of the parties.

These are some of the reasons we are negotiating with Mi'kmaq and Maliseet First Nations and provincial governments in the Maritimes and Québec.

Pourquoi négocier?

De nombreuses personnes se posent cette question. Des siècles après l'arrivée des premiers Européens en Amérique du Nord, pourquoi devons-nous négocier maintenant avec les Premières nations?

Il y a pour cela plusieurs raisons impérieuses :

Nous devons respecter nos traités.

Les colons européens et les Premières nations des Mi'kmaq, des Malécites et des Passamaquoddy des Maritimes et de la Gaspésie ont commencé à cohabiter il y a quatre siècles. Sur la côte Est, des traités de paix et d'amitié ont été signés avec ces Premières nations entre 1725 et 1779. Les traités sont des ententes solennelles qui stipulent, pour les deux parties, des promesses, des obligations réciproques et des avantages à long terme. La Couronne britannique a commencé à conclure des traités pour mettre un terme aux hostilités et favoriser la coopération entre les Britanniques et les Premières nations. Dans ce contexte marqué par les batailles que se livraient les Britanniques et les Français pour conquérir l'Amérique du Nord, les traités représentaient aussi des alliances stratégiques qui pouvaient faire la différence entre la victoire ou la défaite pour ces puissances européennes. À la différence des traités ultérieurs signés dans d'autres régions du Canada, les traités de paix et d'amitié n'exigeaient pas des Premières nations qu'elles renoncent à leurs droits sur le territoire qu'elles occupaient depuis toujours ou sur les ressources qu'elles avaient exploitées. Ceux-ci étaient plutôt axés sur la paix, la diplomatie et le commerce. La Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 a reconnu et confirmé les droits ancestraux et les droits issus de traités existants des Autochtones du Canada, y compris les traités de paix et d'amitié. En respectant ces accords, les Canadiens font preuve de respect envers les anciens traités de paix et d'amitié ainsi qu'envers la relation continue qu'ils leur ont permis de nouer avec les Premières nations.

Les tribunaux ont reconnu les droits issus des traités et ont encouragé la négociation.

Par le jugement Marshall rendu en septembre 1999, la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) a reconnu que les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites de la côte Est jouissaient toujours, en vertu des traités, du droit de mener des activités de chasse, de pêche et de cueillette leur permettant de s'assurer une subsistance convenable. Ces droits découlent des traités de paix et d'amitié signés en 1760 et en 1761 par la Couronne britannique et les peuples mi'kmaq et malécites de la côte Est. Cependant, la Cour suprême n'a pas défini comment ces droits devaient être mis en œuvre, mais a plutôt encouragé les parties à négocier un règlement juste et équitable de la question. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à trouver une solution permettant de mettre en œuvre ces droits à la satisfaction de toutes les parties concernées.

Certaines questions relatives aux droits et aux titres ancestraux demeurent en suspens.

Les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites affirment que les droits et les titres ancestraux qu'ils détiennent encore aujourd'hui sur l'ensemble de leur territoire traditionnel vont au-delà de ceux confirmés dans la décision Marshall. Les traités de paix et d'amitié signés dans les Maritimes et en Gaspésie, au Québec, n'exigeaient pas que les Mi'kmaq et les Malécites renoncent à leurs droits sur leurs terres et leurs ressources. En 2006, le jugement Sappier et Polchies et le jugement Gray ont confirmé l'existence de droits ancestraux de récolter du bois à usage domestique dans certains lieux au Nouveau-Brunswick, ce qui a permis de préciser davantage le contexte des droits ancestraux sur la côte Est et souligné la nécessité de régler, au moyen de la négociation, les questions relatives aux droits ancestraux restées en suspens.

La Constitution canadienne reconnaît et confirme les droits ancestraux existants, mais elle ne les définit pas. Au fil des ans, les tribunaux ont contribué à clarifier certains aspects de la relation qu'entretiennent les Autochtones et la Couronne. Toutefois, les tribunaux n'ont défini qu'en partie la nature et la portée des droits ancestraux et ont plutôt encouragé les gouvernements et les groupes des Premières nations à résoudre ces questions par la négociation.

La négociation est une façon pratique et constructive d'aller de l'avant.

Le gouvernement du Canada doit s'acquitter de ses obligations découlant des traités tout en tenant compte des autres droits qui pourraient demeurer en vigueur. La négociation est le moyen le plus pratique et le plus constructif d'y arriver et de contribuer à établir une nouvelle relation entre les gouvernements, les gens des Premières nations et les Canadiens de l'Atlantique. Il s'agit d'un mécanisme souple qui permet aux parties de concevoir ensemble un plan énonçant ce qui sera négocié et la façon de procéder.

La négociation simultanée de droits issus de traités ainsi que de droits et de titres ancestraux crée un contexte particulier. Il n'existe pas de modèle ou d'approche générique à suivre pour mener de telles négociations. Seules la compréhension, la bonne volonté et la coopération de toutes les parties permettront aux négociations de réussir. Ensemble, nous devons concevoir dans chacune des provinces maritimes et en Gaspésie, au Québec, des processus qui répondent aux besoins et aux intérêts des diverses parties.

Ce sont là certaines des raisons pour lesquelles nous négocions avec les Premières nations des Mi'kmaq et des Malécites et les gouvernements provinciaux dans les Maritimes et au Québec.