Treaty-Making in Canada

Treaty medal
Treaty Medal Credit: Library and Archives Canada,
Acc. No. 1986-79-1638 Copyright: Expired

The impact of treaty-making in Canada has been wide-ranging and long standing. The treaties the Crown has signed with Aboriginal peoples since the 18th century have permitted the evolution of Canada as we know it. In fact, much of Canada's land mass is covered by treaties.

This treaty-making process, which has evolved over more than 300 years between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada, has its origins in the early diplomatic relationship developed between European settlers and Aboriginal people. These diplomatic proceedings were the first steps in a long process that has led to today's comprehensive claims agreements between the Crown and Aboriginal people.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is the federal department responsible for negotiating and implementing treaties (including comprehensive claims). AANDC also maintains a centre of expertise for understanding Canada's pre-1975 treaties with First Nations Peoples.

Currently, there are approximately 70 recognised treaties that form the basis of the relationship between 364 First Nations, representing over 600,000 First Nations people, and the Crown.

Pre-1975 Treaties and Treaty First Nations in Canada Interactive Infographic

Use our Interactive Infographic to learn more about individual Treaties.

Download PDF (1.10 Mb, 1 p.)

View text version of this Infographic

The title, "Historic Treaties and Treaty First Nations in Canada" appears at the top of the page.

Underneath, written is: 366 of 617 First Nations are Treaty First Nations (59%). Below this statistic is a grey box with information stating: "Historic treaties are located in nine provinces and three territories, covering nearly 50% of Canada's land mass". On the right side is another fact: "Total Population of Treaty First Nations (2006): 619,020." Below this are graphic stick figures of women and men.

At the bottom is a large map of Canada identifying the locations of recognized treaties. Right above the map is a colour-coded legend. There is also a large circular sign that states "70 recognized treaties" and branches off to each treaty area on the map. Douglas Treaties (1850-1854) are located in British Columbia. Numbered Treaties (1871-1921) are across Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario. Robinson Treaties (1850), Williams Treaties (1923), and Upper Canada Land Surrenders (1781-1862) are located mostly in Ontario. The maritime Peace and Friendship Treaties (1725-1779) were located across Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Lastly, Peace and Neutrality Treaties (1701-1760) were not represented on the map. Underneath the map is a note stating: "As there is no defined geographic extend for the Peace and Neutrality Treaties, they cannot be represented on a map."

What information is available?

In this section, find information on the history of treaty-making in Canada from the 1700s to the present day. In addition, discover historical material including transcripts of original treaty texts, archival images of treaty signing ceremonies and other resources including selected bibliographies that foster Aboriginal awareness.

Contact Us

Treaties and Aboriginal Government
10 Wellington
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H4
treaties@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

L'établissement des traités au Canada

L'image d'une médaille de traité
Médaille commémorative.
Crédit: Bibliothèque et Archives Canada,
no d'acc 1986-79-1638.
Droit d'auteur venu à expiration.

Au Canada, l'établissement des traités a eu des répercussions vastes et de longue durée. Les traités que la Couronne a signés avec les peuples autochtones depuis le XVIIIe siècle ont permis de façonner le Canada tel que nous le connaissons. En fait, une grande partie du territoire du Canada est visé par des traités.

Ce processus d'établissement de traités entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones, qui a évolué sur une période de plus de 300 ans, découle des premières relations diplomatiques entre les Européens qui sont arrivés au pays et les Autochtones. Ces rapports diplomatiques ont constitué les premières étapes d'un long processus qui a mené aux ententes de règlement de revendications territoriales globales qui existent actuellement entre le Canada et les groupes autochtones.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est le ministère fédéral chargé de négocier et de mettre en œuvre les traités (y compris les règlements des revendications territoriales globales). De plus, AADNC tient un centre spécialisé chargé d'éclairer la compréhension des traités pré-1975 conclus entre le Canada et les Premiers Peuples.

En ce moment, on reconnaît environ 70 traités qui constituent le fondement de la relation entre la Couronne et 364 Premières Nations, qui comptent plus de 600 000 peuples.

Les Traités pré-1975 et les Premières Nations signataires de traités au Canada - Infographie

Utilisez notre infographie interactive pour en savoir plus sur les différents traités.

Téléchargez le PDF (1,10 Mo, 1 p.)

Voir la version texte de cette infographie

Le titre « Traités historiques et Premières Nations signataires de traités au Canada » apparaît au haut de la page.

Juste en dessous, on peut lire : « 366 Premières Nations sur 617 (59 %) sont signataires d'un traité ». Sous cette information se trouve une boîte grise dans laquelle on peut lire : « Les traités historiques ont été conclus dans neuf provinces et trois territoires, couvrant presque 50 % de la masse continentale du Canada ». À la droite, on trouve une autre information : « Population totale de Premières Nations signataires de traités (2006) : 619 020 ». Sous cette information, on trouve des dessins stylisés représentant des hommes et des femmes.

Au bas, on trouve une grande carte du Canada situant les endroits sous le coup d'un traité reconnu. Tout juste au-dessus de la carte se trouve la légende d'un code de couleurs. On trouve également un grand cercle où il est écrit : « 70 traités reconnus ». Le tout s'étend ensuite vers chaque traité indiqué sur la carte. Les traités Douglas (1850–1854) sont situés en Colombie-Britannique. Les traités numérotés (1871-1921) se trouvent en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba et en Ontario. Les traités Robinson (1850), les traités Williams (1923), ainsi que les Cessions de terres du Haut Canada (1781–1862) sont situés principalement en Ontario. Les traités de paix et d'amitié conclus dans les Maritimes (1725–1779) se trouvent en Nouvelle Écosse et au Nouveau Brunswick. Enfin, les traités de paix et de neutralité (1701–1760) ne sont pas représentés sur la carte. Sous la carte, on peut lire la note suivante : « Comme la portée géographique des traités de paix et de neutralité n'est pas définie, il est impossible de représenter ces derniers sur la carte ».

Renseignements disponibles

Dans cette section, vous trouverez plus d'informations sur l'établissement des traités au Canada depuis les années 1700 à nos jours. De plus, découvrir des documents historiques, y compris des transcriptions de traités initiaux ainsi que d'autres ressources y compris des bibliographies qui encouragent la sensibilisation des Autochtones.

Contactez-nous

Traités et Gouvernement autochtone
10, rue Wellington,
Gatineau (PQ)
K1A 0H4
traites@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca