The History of Land Claims and Self-Government in the Yukon

QS-Y347-000-BB-A1

PDF Version  
(961 Kb, 1 Page)

 

Land claims and self-government in the Yukon are the result of hard work and determination by a number of trail-breakers. The process began in 1902 when hereditary Chief of the Ta’an Kwach’an, Jim Boss, wrote urgently to the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs saying, “Tell the King very hard, we want something for our Indians because they take our land and game”.

In 1973, an organization called the Yukon Native Brotherhood (now the Council of Yukon First Nations), led by Chief Elijah Smith, traveled to Ottawa to present a proposal called Together Today for our Children Tomorrow. This document laid the foundation for the negotiation of land claims and self-government for Yukon First Nations.

Negotiations between Yukon First Nations and the Government of Canada; and later with the Government of Yukon continued for the next 20 years until the Umbrella Final Agreement was signed in 1993. This document served as the foundation for the individual Final and Self-Government Agreements that would follow both immediately and over the coming years. The Ta’an Kwach’an signed their agreements in 2002, 100 years after Chief Boss’ letter.

First Nations Effective Dates Final and Self-Government Agreements
Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation February 14, 1995
Champagne and Aishihik First Nations February 14, 1995
First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun February 14, 1995
Teslin Tlingit Council February 14, 1995
Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation October 1, 1997
Selkirk First Nation October 1, 1997
Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in September 15, 1998
Ta’an Kwach’an Council April 1, 2002
Kluane First Nation February 2, 2004
Kwanlin Dün First Nation April 1, 2005
Carcross/Tagish First Nation January 9, 2006

White River First Nation, Ross River Dena Council and Liard First Nation are the remaining Yukon First Nations that have not concluded agreements.

Histoire des revendications territoriales et de l’autonomie gouvernementale au Yukon

QS-Y347-000-BB-A1

Format PDF  
(962 Ko, 1 page)

 

Les revendications territoriales et l’autonomie gouvernementale, au Yukon, sont le résultat du travail soutenu et de la détermination d’un certain nombre d’esprits d’avant-garde. Le processus a commencé en 1902 lorsque le Chef héréditaire des Ta’an Kwach’an, Jim Boss, écrivit d’urgence au surintendant général des Affaires indiennes : « Dites avec force au roi que nous voulons que quelque chose soit fait pour nos Indiens parce qu’on nous prend nos terres et notre gibier ».

En 1973, une délégation de l’organisation appelée la Yukon Native Brotherhood (aujourd’hui le Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon), sous la direction du Chef Elijah Smith, a voyagé jusqu’à Ottawa pour soumettre une proposition appelée Together Today for our Children Tomorrow. Ce document présentait les bases de la négociation des revendications territoriales et de l’autonomie gouvernementale pour les Premières nations du Yukon.

Les négociations entre les Premières nations du Yukon et le gouvernement du Canada, et plus tard le gouvernement du Yukon, se sont poursuivies au cours des 20 années suivantes jusqu’à la signature de l’Accord-cadre définitif en 1993. Ce document servait de fondement aux accords individuels de règlement définitif des revendications et d’autonomie gouvernementale qui ont été conclus par après. Les Ta’an Kwach’an ont signé leurs accords en 2002, 100 ans après la lettre du Chef Boss.

Premières nations Dates d’entrée en vigueur – Accords définitifs et d’autonomie gouvernementale
Première nation Vuntut Gwitchin Le 14 février 1995
Premières nations de Champagne et Aishihik Le 14 février 1995
Première nation de Nacho Nyak Dun Le 14 février 1995
Conseil des Tlingits de Teslin Le 14 février 1995
Première nation de Little Salmon/Carmacks Le 1er octobre 1997
Première nation de Selkirk Le 1er octobre 1997
Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Le 15 septembre 1998
Conseil des Ta’an Kwach’an Le 1er avril 2002
Première nation de Kluane Le 2 février 2004
Premières nations de Kwanlin Dün Le 1er avril 2005
Première nation de Carcross/Tagish Le 9 janvier 2006

La Première nation de White River, le Conseil Dena de Ross River et la Première nation de Liard sont les dernières Premières nations du Yukon qui n’ont pas encore conclu d’accords.