Roberts and Ida Bay Silver Mine Remediation Project

Ida Bay Abandoned Site

The Roberts Bay silver mine site is located on Crown land approximately 115 kilometres southwest of Cambridge Bay. The Ida Bay Silver Deposit is located on the shore of Melville Sound approximately seven kilometres north of Roberts Bay.

Contaminant of Concern

The primary concern at both sites is the mine openings. As well, there are abandoned mine wastes, litter, and contaminated soil.

History of Site

Roberts Bay Silver Mine Entrance

The Roberts Mining Company first staked the area in 1964 and the silver deposit was discovered in 1965. The following year, gold and silver deposits were staked at Ida Bay. From 1967 until 1972, the Hope Bay Mining Company (later called Hope Bay Mines Limited) explored the area. Mining equipment mobilized to the site in 1973. Declines were constructed at both Ida Bay and Roberts Bay and mining began.

In 1974, Hope Bay Mines Limited entered into a joint venture with Van Silver Explorations and Recko Explorations. The Roberts Bay Mine was upgraded and a small mill was constructed.

When operations ceased in 1975, 74,500 ounces of silver had been recovered. Exploration continued in the 1980's and 1990's. In 1997, the mining lease was surrendered. The area was re-staked in 1998.

In 1996 and 2003, site assessments were conducted to address the presence of contaminants at the site. The site was identified, in 2003, as a priority for cleanup under the Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan.

Current Activity

Barrels left on the tundra at the Roberts Bay site

In 2005, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada completed a site assessment program which included a review of all previous assessment and clean up activities, field investigations, computer modeling, development of engineering plans for clean-up, and obtaining regulatory approvals for site restoration. In September 2007, Quantum Murry LP was awarded the Roberts Bay and Ida Bay Silver Mine remediation contract committing to over 80 per cent Inuit employment and to providing 68 per cent of sub-contract work to Inuit firms. Work will begin in 2008 and is scheduled to be completed by the end of 2010.

Future Plans

Once remediation of the site is complete, a 25-year monitoring program will be implemented.

Date modified:

Projet d'assainissement des mines d'argent de la baie Roberts et de la baie Ida

Site abandonné de la baie Ida

La mine d'argent la baie Roberts est située sur des terres domaniales fédérales à environ 115 kilomètres au sud ouest de Cambridge Bay. Le gisement d'argent la baie Idaest situé sur la rive du détroit de Melville à environ sept kilomètres de la baie Roberts.

Contaminant préoccupant

Les ouvertures de mines constituent la principale source de préoccupation sur les deux sites. Il faut également tenir compte des résidus miniers et des détritus présents sur les sites miniers abandonnés, de même que des sols contaminés.

L'entrée de la mine d'argent de la baie Roberts

Historique des sites

La Roberts Mining Company est la première entreprise à jalonner la région en 1964 et on y découvre le gisement d'argent en 1965. L'année suivante, on jalonne des gisements d'or et d'argent à la baie Ida. De 1967 à 1972, la Hope Bay Mining Company (ensuite appelée Hope Bay Mines Limited) explore la région. En 1973, elle fait venir au site du matériel d'exploitation des mines. On construit des rampes àla baie Idaet à la baie Roberts avant de procéder à l'exploitation minière.

En 1974, Hope Bay Mines Limited forme une coentreprise avec Van Silver Explorations et Recko Explorations. Des améliorations sont apportées à la mine la baie Roberts et on y construit une petite usine de concentration.

Lorsque cessent les activités en 1975, on a récupéré 74 500 onces d'argent. L'exploration se poursuit dans les années 1980 et 1990. En 1997, le bail minier est abandonné. La région fait l'objet d'un nouveau jalonnement en 1998.

En 1996 et en 2003, on effectue des évaluations des sites afin d'aborder la question des contaminants sur le site. En 2003, on détermine, dans le Plan d'action accéléré sur les sites contaminés fédéraux, que le site fait partie des priorités en matière de nettoyage.

Activités courantes

Des barils laissés sur la toundra au site de la baie Roberts

En 2005, AINC a achevé un programme d'évaluation environnementale, qui incluait un examen de l'ensemble des évaluations et des opérations de nettoyage antérieures, des études de terrain, des modèles mathématiques, l'établissement de plans techniques pour le nettoyage des sites et l'obtention d'autorisations réglementaires pour la restauration des sites. En septembre 2007, le contrat d'assainissement des mines d'argent de la baie Roberts et de la baie Ida a été accordé au Quantum Murry LP, qui s'est engagé à confier plus de 80 % des emplois à des Inuits et à attribuer 68 % des contrats de sous-traitance à des entreprises inuites. Les travaux débuteront en 2008 et devraient se terminer d'ici la fin de 2010.

Que projette-t-on?

Lorsque le site aura été assaini, un programme de surveillance sur 25 ans sera mis en oeuvre.

Date de modification :