FOX-C (Ekalugad Fiord) Remediation Project

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Flying over Ekalugad Fiord Site in a helicopter

FOX-C is located on the east coast of Baffin Island, approximately 240 kilometres north of Qikiqtarjuaq and 260 kilometres south of Clyde River.

Contaminant of Concern

The primary concern at FOX-C is Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB) materials. The PCBs are in the building paints, the buildings and site litter. The soil is also contaminated with hydrocarbons and heavy metals.

History of Site

FOX-C is a former Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line Site that was constructed in 1957 and then closed and abandoned in 1963. The site has not been formally occupied since that time. Throughout the 1980's and 1990's there were site assessments and work done to address the contaminants at the site. The site was identified as a priority site for clean-up under the Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan in 2003.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) completed the last phase of an assessment program in 2004. Work included a review of all previous assessment and cleanup activities, field investigations, barrel collection, computer modeling, development of engineering plans, and obtaining regulatory approvals. As part of this process, community consultations were undertaken in Qikiqtarjuaq and Clyde River and representatives from these areas were flown out the site.

Current Activity

Working at the Ekalugad Fiord Site

To maximize the opportunities of this project for Inuit and Northern firms, an orientation session on how to do business with the Government of Canada was held in Iqaluit. As a result, Inuit owned, Qikiqtaaluk Corporation secured the $4.9 million camp construction contract, the $12 million remediation contract, and guaranteed an Inuit employment rate of 88 per cent.

In the summer of 2005, the project received regulatory approvals and equipment and materials were shipped to Ekalugad Fiord. Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) representatives were flown to the site for consultation on future plans.

INAC plans to hold a community consultation meeting in Qikiqtarjuaq and Clyde River to keep residents informed of the contractor's cleanup plans and to hear community concerns. Cleanup is scheduled to begin in the summer of 2006.

Economic Benefits

In 2004, there were community consultation in both Qikiqtarjuaq and Clyde River. The communities benefited from the usage of local facilities and services. During the 2004 field program, local residents were able to gain employment and training in a number of areas such as sharing local knowledge, translation services, guide services, camp construction, carpentry, and equipment operation.

INAC continued its commitment in providing opportunities for Nunavummiut in its contractors' selection process. In 2005, the camp construction work was open only to firms that are Aboriginal owned. The bid evaluation process for the reclamation work gave extra points to proposals demonstrating a commitment toward the provisions of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.

Date modified:

Projet d'assainissement du site FOX-C (fjord Ekalugad)

Vol au dessus du site du fjord Ekalugad par hélicoptère

Le site FOX-C est situé sur la côte est de l'île de Baffin, à environ 240 km au nord de Qikiqtarjuaq et 260 km au sud de Clyde River.

Contaminant préoccupant

Les diphényles polychlorés (PCB) constituent la principale source d'inquiétude sur le site FOX-C. Ils se trouvent dans la peinture des bâtiments, dans les bâtiments eux mêmes et dans les déchets sur le site. Par ailleurs, le sol est contaminé aux hydrocarbures et aux métaux lourds.

Histoire du site

Le site FOX-C est une ancienne station du réseau DEW construite en 1957, ensuite fermée et abandonnée en 1963. Le site n'a pas été occupé de façon officielle depuis. Au cours des années 1980 et 1990, on a exécuté divers travaux et évaluations afin de régler le problème de contamination du site. En 2003, on a déterminé que la décontamination du site était une priorité dans le cadre du Plan d'action accéléré pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) a terminé la dernière phase d'un programme d'évaluation en 2004. Les travaux comprenaient un examen des évaluations et des activités de nettoyage précédentes, des enquêtes sur le terrain, la collecte de barils, la modélisation mathématique des résultats, l'élaboration de plans techniques et l'obtention des approbations réglementaires. Dans le cadre de ce processus, des consultations communautaires ont été entreprises à Qikiqtarjuaq et à Clyde River et des représentants de ces régions ont été envoyés sur place par avion.

Activités courantes

Au travail sur le site du fjord Ekalugad

En vue de maximiser les possibilités offertes aux entreprises inuites et aux entreprises du Nord dans le cadre du projet, on a tenu une séance d'orientation sur la façon de faire affaire avec le gouvernement du Canada, à Iqaluit. À la suite de la séance, la Qikiqtaaluk Corporation, entreprise appartenant à des Inuits, a obtenu le contrat de 4,9 millions de dollars visant la construction du campement ainsi que le contrat de 12 millions de dollars visant l'assainissement du site. Par ailleurs, l'entreprise a garanti que 88 % des travailleurs embauchés seraient des Inuits.

Au cours de l'été 2005, on a obtenu les approbations réglementaires pour le projet et on a envoyé l'équipement et les matériaux au fjord Ekalugad. Des représentants de la Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA) ont été envoyés sur place par avion à des fins de consultation en vue de futurs plans.

AINC prévoit tenir une réunion de consultation communautaire à Qikiqtarjuaq et à Clyde River afin de tenir les résidants au courant des plans de décontamination de l'entrepreneur et de connaître les préoccupations de la collectivité. Le nettoyage devrait commencer à l'été 2006.

Avantages économiques

En 2004, on a tenu des consultations communautaires à Qikiqtarjuaq et à Clyde River. Les collectivités ont tiré profit de l'utilisation des installations et des services locaux. Dans le cadre du programme sur le terrain, en 2004, les résidants locaux ont pu obtenir de l'emploi et de la formation dans nombre de domaines (transmission du savoir local concernant le site, services de traduction, services de guide, construction du campement, charpenterie et conduite d'équipement).

AINC a respecté son engagement à offrir des possibilités aux Nunavummiut par l'entremise de son processus de sélection des entrepreneurs. En 2005, les travaux de construction du campement n'étaient offerts qu'aux entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones. Dans le cadre du processus d'évaluation des soumissions pour les travaux de restauration, on a accordé des points supplémentaires aux propositions qui indiquaient un engagement envers les dispositions de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

Date de modification :