CAM-F (Sarcpa Lake) Remediation Project

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Sarcpa Lake Site

CAM-F is located on Melville Peninsula, between Foxe Basin and Committee Bay in Nunavut. The site is approximately 85 kilometres west of Hall Beach and 100 kilometres southwest of Igloolik.

Contaminant of Concern

Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) were the primary concern at CAM-F. They were in building paints, buildings themselves, and site debris. The soils at the site were contaminated with heavy metals and hydrocarbons.

History of Site

CAM-F is a former Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line Site that was constructed in 1957 and then closed and abandoned in 1963. In 1977, the site was converted to a scientific research station. Throughout the 1980's and 1990's there were site assessments and work done to address contaminants at the site. In 2003, the site was identified as a priority site for clean-up under the Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) completed the last phase of an assessment program in 2004. Work included a review of all previous assessment and cleanup activities, field investigations, information collection, computer modeling, development of engineering plans, and obtaining regulatory approvals. As part of this process, community consultations were undertaken in Hall Beach and Igloolik in 2004 and representatives from these areas were flown out the site. All barrels containing PCB contaminated material were shipped off site for destruction at a licensed disposal facility.

Remediation Complete

Working at the Sarcpa Lake Site

In 2005 contracts for both the camp construction and the remediation work were awarded to Mikim Contracting and Biogenie SRDC, respectively. Remediation work was completed in 2007. Activities for this project included:

Community support for this project was essential to its successful completion. Throughout the project over 60 per cent of the workers were Inuit and over 75 per cent of the sub-contracts were awarded to Inuit firms. Local residents gained employment and training in a number of areas such as sharing local knowledge of the site, translation services, guide services, camp construction, carpentry, and heavy equipment operation.

Future Plans

INAC continues to implement a 25-year monitoring plan for the Sarcpa Lake site.

Date modified:

Projet d'assainissement du site CAM-F (lac Sarcpa)

Site du lac Sarcpa

Le site CAM-F est situé sur la presqu'île Melville, entre le bassin Foxe et la baie Committee, au Nunavut. Le site se trouve à environ 85 km à l'ouest de Hall Beach et 100 km au sud ouest d'Igloolik.

Contaminant préoccupant

Les diphényles polychlorés (BPC) constituaient la principale source de préoccupation sur ce site. On en trouvait dans la peinture des bâtiments, dans les bâtiments eux-mêmes et dans les débris qui jonchent le site. De plus, le sol y était contaminé par des métaux lourds et des hydrocarbures.

Histoire du site

CAM-F est une ancienne station du réseau DEW construite en 1957, ensuite fermée et abandonnée en 1963. En 1977, le site a été converti en une station de recherche scientifique. Au cours des années 1980 et 1990, on a exécuté divers travaux et évaluations afin de régler le problème de contamination du site. En 2003, on a déterminé que la décontamination du site était une priorité dans le cadre du Plan d'action accéléré pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

En 2004, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) a terminé la dernière phase d'un programme d'évaluation. Les travaux comprenaient ce qui suit : examen des évaluations et des activités de nettoyage précédentes, enquêtes sur le terrain, collecte de renseignements, modélisation mathématique des résultats, élaboration de plans techniques et obtention des approbations réglementaires. Dans le cadre de ce processus, des consultations communautaires ont été entreprises à Hall Beach et à Igloolik en 2004 et des représentants de ces régions ont été envoyés sur place par avion. Les barils de matières contaminées aux PCB ont été transportés vers un site autorisé à des fins de destruction de leur contenu.

Assainissement terminé

Au travail sur le site du lac Sarcpa

En 2005, des contrats ont été attribués à Mikim Contracting et à Biogénie S.R.D.C. pour la construction de campements et la réalisation de travaux d'assainissement sur le site. Les travaux d'assainissement ont pris fin en 2007. Parmi les activités réalisées, mentionnons les suivantes :

L'appui communautaire s'est révélée essentielle pour la réalisation du projet. Tout au long du projet, plus de 60 % des travailleurs étaient des Inuits et plus de 75 % des contrats de sous-traitance ont été accordés à des entreprises inuites. Les résidants locaux ont obtenu de l'emploi et de la formation dans nombre de domaines (transmission du savoir local concernant le site, services de traduction, services de guide, construction du campement, charpenterie et conduite de machinerie lourde).

Que projette-t-on?

AINC poursuit la mise en oeuvre d'un plan de surveillance de 25 ans.

Date de modification :