CAM-D (Simpson Lake) Remediation Project

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

CAM-D is located in the middle of Boothia Peninsula, approximately 80 kilometres west of Kugaaruk and 120 kilometres east of Gjoa Haven.

Contaminant of Concern

The primary concern at CAM-D is Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB) materials. The PCBs are in the building paints, the buildings and site litter. The soil is also contaminated with hydrocarbons and heavy metals.

History of Site

Simpson Lake Site

CAM-D is a former Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line Site constructed in 1957 and then closed and abandoned in 1963. In 1977, the site was converted to a scientific research station. Throughout the 1980's and 1990's there were site assessments and work done to address the contaminants at the site. The site was identified as a priority site for clean-up under the Federal Contaminated Sites Accelerated Action Plan in 2003.

Environmental assessment of the CAM-D DEW Line Site was initiated in 1985 when the Department of National Defence and Environment Canada visited the site to remove contaminants such as PCBs and POLs and identify areas of buried materials that could pose environmental risks in the future. Various pieces of PCB-containing equipment were removed from electrical cabinets at the site. Soil samples collected from beneath the cabinets identified PCB contamination. No other results were reported.

The site was revisited in 1994 by the Environmental Sciences Group of Royal Roads Military College at which time a surface soil sampling program was completed. Their investigations identified soil contamination near the module train outfall, the garage, the main dump and at the debris area near Simpson Lake. However, these investigations did not include assessment of hydrocarbon contamination that has the potential to be a significant source of contamination at the site.

Current Activity

Large dump at the Simpson Lake Site

In August 2005, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) completed the last phase of the site assessment program. Work included a review of all previous assessment and cleanup activities, field investigations, development of engineering plans, and regulatory approvals.

Volumes of contaminated soil, hazardous and non-hazardous materials at the site have been quantified. Suitable locations for engineered landfills or soil treatment facilities, and potential aggregate borrow sources have been identified. Cleanup options for the site are currently being developed and will be discussed with stakeholders.

INAC will keep residents informed of the latest cleanup plans and will seek their input on any concerns they may have. Plans to hold community consultation meetings in Gjoa Haven, Kugaaruk and Taloyoak are already underway.

The development of a final detailed work plan, additional consultations, regulatory approvals and issuance of contracts are anticipated in 2006. Cleanup and subsequent consultations will follow.

Economic Benefits

During the 2005 field program, use of the community facilities and services, and employment opportunities provided some benefit to the community.

INAC will continue providing opportunities for Nunavummiut through the contractors' selection process.

Date modified:

Projet d'assainissement du site CAM-D (lac Simpson)

Le site CAM-D est situé au milieu de la péninsule de Booth, à environ 80 kilomètres à l'ouest de Kugaaruk et 120 kilomètres à l'est de Gjoa Haven.

Contaminant préoccupant

Les diphényles polychlorés (PCB) constituent la principale source d'inquiétude sur le site CAM-D. Ils se trouvent dans la peinture des bâtiments, dans les bâtiments eux mêmes ainsi que dans les déchets sur le site. Par ailleurs, le sol est contaminé aux hydrocarbures et aux métaux lourds.

Histoire du site

Site du lac Simpson

CAM-D est une ancienne station du réseau DEW construite en 1957, ensuite fermée et abandonnée en 1963. En 1977, le site a été converti en une station de recherche scientifique. Au cours des années 1980 et 1990, on a exécuté divers travaux et évaluations afin de régler le problème de contamination du site. En 2003, on a déterminé que la décontamination du site était une priorité dans le cadre du Plan d'action accéléré pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

On a entrepris une évaluation environnementale de la station CAM-D du réseau DEW en 1985, lorsque des représentants du ministère de la Défense nationale et d'Environnement Canada se sont rendus sur le site afin de retirer des contaminants comme les PCB et les POL et de déterminer les zones où étaient enterrés des matériaux pouvant poser des risques sur le plan environnemental. Divers matériel contenant des PCB a été retiré des armoires électriques se trouvant sur le site. Des échantillons de sol prélevés sous les armoires indiquaient une contamination aux PCB. Aucun autre résultat n'a été signalé.

En 1994, le groupe des sciences environnementales du Royal Roads Military College s'est rendu sur le site pour exécuter un programme d'échantillonnage du sol de surface. Les études menées ont permis de déterminer la contamination du sol près de l'exutoire du train modulaire, du garage et de la décharge principale ainsi que dans le champ de débris, près du lac Simpson. Cependant, les études ne comprenaient pas d'évaluation de la contamination aux hydrocarbures, une contamination qui pourrait être importante sur le site.

Activités courantes

Dépotoire sur le site du lac Simpson

En août 2005, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) a terminé la dernière phase du programme d'évaluation du site. Les travaux comprenaient ce qui suit : examen des évaluations et des activités de nettoyage précédentes, enquêtes sur le terrain, élaboration de plans techniques et obtention des approbations réglementaires.

On a quantifié les volumes de sol contaminé et de matières dangereuses et non dangereuses sur le site. On a trouvé des emplacements convenables pour les décharges à écran d'étanchéité artificiel ou les installations de traitement du sol ainsi que des sources d'emprunt possibles pour les agrégats. On élabore actuellement des plans possibles pour le nettoyage du site, qui feront l'objet de discussions avec les intervenants.

AINC tiendra les résidants au courant des plus récents plans d'assainissement et leur demandera de lui faire part de leurs commentaires et de leurs préoccupations. On va de l'avant avec les consultations communautaires prévues à Gjoa Haven, à Kugaaruk et à Taloyoak.

En 2006, on devrait procéder à l'élaboration d'un plan de travail détaillé final, à la tenue d'autres consultations, aux approbations réglementaires et à la signature de contrats. Le nettoyage et d'autres consultations suivront.

Avantages économiques

Au cours de la campagne 2005, l'utilisation des installations et des services de la collectivité et les possibilités d'emploi découlant du projet ont apporté certains avantages à la collectivité.

AINC continuera d'offrir des possibilités aux Nunavummiut par l'entremise du processus de sélection des entrepreneurs.

Date de modification :