Contaminated Sites

Our Role

The Contaminated Sites directorate manages contaminated sites located on Crown land in Nunavut that fall under Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's control. We identify waste/contaminated sites located on Crown land for which the department is liable; assess environmental impacts, clean up and manage contaminated sites on a priority basis, provide advice to Northerners, and circulate educational material concerning contaminated sites. There are a number of sites in Nunavut under other federal control such as the Department of National Defense.

To fulfill these responsibilities, we work with many partners including the Nunavut Planning Commission, the Nunavut Impact Review Board, the Nunavut Water Board, the Government of Nunavut, and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. We also partner with regulatory agencies including Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Health Canada.

Our Activities

Our main activity is the remediation of contaminated sites in Nunavut. Here are a few sites we are working on:

Other Nunavut contaminated sites to be remediated in the future:

  • CAM-A Sturt Point
  • CAM-B Hat Island
  • CAM-C Matheson Point
  • CAM-E Keith Bay
  • FOX-1 Rowley Island
  • FOX-A Bray Island
  • FOX-B Nadluardjuk Lake
  • FOX-D Kivitoo
  • FOX-E Durban Island
  • PIN-B Clifton Point
  • PIN-C Bernard Harbour
  • PIN-D Ross Point
  • PIN-E Cape Peel
  • Padloping Island
  • Bear Island
  • Akpatok Island

Every year, the Contaminated Sites directorate manages an environmental assessment program as described in the Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites. These assessments are conducted in conformance with CAN/CSA Z768 Phase I Environmental Site Assessment (CSA) 1994 and in those cases where intrusive sampling is required, CAN/CSA Z769 Phase II Environmental Site Assessment (CSA) 1998.

Additional Information:

Contact Us

Contaminated Sites Director
Tel: (867) 975-4730
nunavutcsp@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

AANDC-NRO
Contaminated Sites Directorate

PO Box 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Sites contaminés

Notre rôle

La direction des sites contaminés gère les sites contaminés situés sur les terres de la Couronne au Nunavut qui sont sous le contrôle d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Nous déterminons quels sites contaminés relèvent du Ministère; évaluons les répercussions environnementales, nettoyons et gérons les sites contaminés en ordre de priorité; donnons des conseils aux résidants du Nord, et diffusons de l'information sur les sites contaminés. Au Nunavut, un certain nombre de sites relèvent d'autres ministères fédéraux, comme le ministère de la Défense nationale.

En vue de nous acquitter de ces responsabilités, nous travaillons avec de nombreux partenaires, dont la Commission d'aménagement du Nunavut, la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l'examen des répercussions, l'Office des eaux du Nunavut, le gouvernement du Nunavut et Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. Nous travaillons également en partenariat avec des organismes de réglementation, dont Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et Santé Canada.

Nos activités

Direction des sites contaminés

La restauration de sites contaminés au Nunavut est notre principale activité. Voici quelques-uns des sites où nous travaillons :

Voici d'autres sites contaminés au Nunavut pour lesquels l'assainissement aura lieu dans l'avenir :

Chaque année, la direction des sites contaminés gère un programme d'évaluation environnementale, comme il est décrit dans la publication Approche fédérale en matière de lieux contaminés. Les évaluations sont menées conformément à CAN/CSA Z768 Évaluation environnementale de site – phase I (CSA) 1994 et, dans les cas où un échantillonnage intrusif est nécessaire, à CAN/CSA Z769 Évaluation environnementale de site – phase II (CSA) 1998.

Information supplémentaire

Communiquez avec nous

Directrice des sites contaminés
Tél. : 867-975-4730
nunavutcsp@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

AANC-BRN
Direction des sites contaminés

CP 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Date de modification :