Acquiring Mineral Rights in Nunavut

Author: Published under the authority of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
Date: Ottawa, 2004
ISBN: 0-662-39791-6
Catalogue: R2-387/2005E-PDF
QS- Y256-000-EE-A1

PDF Version (729 Kb, 21 Pages)

Table of contents

Introduction

Communication is important in preventing misunderstandings between exploration crews and residents of Nunavut. Good communications helps the mineral industry (both companies and individuals) establish and maintain close contact and strong working relationships at the community level. To prevent misunderstandings, we encourage mining companies to discuss proposed exploration plans with community councils and Regional Inuit Associations in the area of their operation as early as possible. This way, companies can find out whether their operation may be impacting local land users (hunters, trappers, outfitters as well as local residents). Companies can also try to hire locally when possible. For a list of local community contacts, please phone the Government of Nunavut at (867) 975-5400.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) reviews, records, and administers mineral claims, and issues leases and prospecting permits on Crown land. Our office ensures compliance of the Canada Mining Regulations. We also provide general client services, such as issuing prospector's licences, maps for staking claims, forms, claim tags, etc.

There are three main types of mineral "interests" in the Canada Mining Regulations: a mineral claim or a "claim," a prospecting permit and a mineral lease. This booklet describes how to acquire and maintain these interests. It also summarizes several sections of the Canada Mining Regulations. We have tried to accurately describe the sections of the Regulation in plain language. However, you should refer to the Regulations themselves, or contact the INAC Mining Recorder's office, for a strict interpretation on any matter or for a more complete understanding of all parts of the Canada Mining Regulations.

Prospector's Licences

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 7 to 10

You must have a valid prospector's licence to prospect for minerals, record a claim or acquire a recorded claim or interest in a recorded claim by transfer.

You cannot apply for a certificate of work, or a certificate of extension, or acquire a lease of a recorded claim unless you have a valid prospector's licence.

If you are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to acquire a prospector's licence.

Company licences are available to any registered corporation in good standing with the Government of Nunavut's Department of Justice, Legal Registry. Companies can inquire about registering by calling (867) 975-6590.

A prospector's licence is valid from April 1st to March 31st. It must be renewed yearly to be kept current.

The costs of obtaining a prospector's licence are as follows:

  • Company licence $50 to issue
  • Company licence $50 to renew
  • Individual licence $5 to issue
  • Individual licence $5 to renew

Acquiring Mineral Claims

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 11 to 18

Where you can stake:

The Canada Mining Regulations apply to lands where the Crown administers the mineral rights.You can stake claims on Crown lands except where there are:

  • national parks;
  • cemeteries or burial grounds and archaeological sites;
  • mineral claims in good standing;
  • minerals that have been granted or leased;
  • land withdrawal orders (which will be noted on the claim map);
  • areas administered or controlled by the Minister of National Defence, the Minister of Natural Resources Canada or the Minister of Transport, unless you have written consent;
  • private lands, either through a surface lease or a grant, unless the surface rights holder consents, or in the case of some settled land claims, where notification is given; and
  • Inuit Owned surface/sub-surface lands.

This last point is particularly important in the Nunavut Settlement Area.You may find large areas of land that the surface rights are Inuit owned land, but the subsurface is managed by the Crown. In these areas, you must have permission to access the land before you can go and stake a claim.

If you plan to prospect or stake a mineral claim on leased land, privately owned land including Inuit owned surface land, you must include relevant authorization from the property holder concerning access, along with your applications and sketches, or your mineral claim(s) will not be recorded.

The INAC Land Administration Office has maps showing the location of national parks, Inuit owned lands, private land, land under withdrawal orders, other leased or reserved land and existing mineral rights.These maps can be purchased by phone at (867) 975–4275 or by email at landsmining@inac.gc.ca. The maps can also be viewed online through SIDViewer

A) How You "Stake" Your Mineral Claim

If you have a valid prospector's licence, you can stake, or have staked for you, a mineral claim. The sketch on page 18 shows what a claim should look like on the ground.

The claim must be:

  • rectangular as nearly as possible, with the sides running north, south, east and west;
  • no larger than 2582.5 acres (1045.1 hectares) and no smaller than 51.65 acres (20.90 hectares);
  • have right angles (90 degree angles) where possible.

The length and width of the claim must be 1500 feet (457.2 metres) or multiples of 1500 feet (457.2 metres) and the length of the claim cannot be more than five times the width (there are some exceptions listed under section 13 of the regulations).

Each corner of the claim must be marked by a legal post.The post must be firmly planted in or on the ground, upright, and be at least four feet high. It also has to be at least 1½ inches (3.81 centimetres) wide on all four sides. It can be a cut-off tree, at least four feet high, with the upper one foot squared.

When staking, the posts must be numbered in a clockwise direction:

1st the northeast corner post is Post NEl;

2nd the southeast corner post is Post SE2;

3rd the southwest comer post is Post SW3; and

4th the northwest corner post is Post NW4.

In Nunavut where there are no trees, wooden posts or mounds of earth or stone can be used. If a mound of earth or stone is used, it must be coned-shaped, no less than 3 feet (0.91 metres) around at the bottom, and at least 3 feet (0.91 metres) high.

Claim tags (available at the Mining Recorder's Office for $2 a set) must be attached to each corner post as a marker. If a mound is used, the tag should be put in a waterproof container and placed in the top of the mound.

All tags on corner posts must be permanently etched with:

  • the name of the claim;
  • the name of the claim staker;
  • the name of the person recording the claim if that person is not the claim staker; and
  • the date, hour and minute that the post was put up.

In addition, the tag on post "NE1" must also be marked with the licence number of the claimholder. You should permanently etch this information on the tag. Pen or marker should be avoided because they wear off quickly.

Legal posts also known as boundary posts must be put up no more than 1500 feet (457.2 metres) apart along the boundary of the claim and numbered in order, starting with number one from each corner post (see sketch). You can use either a legal size wooden post or earth, stone mounds which must be over 18 inches (45.72 centimetres) high and 3 feet (0.91 metres) around at the bottom.

Each boundary post must be marked with:

  • the name of the claim;
  • the number of the boundary post; and
  • letters NBP, EBP, SBP,WBP to indicate the location of the claim.

When you are finished staking the mineral claim you must permanently etch on the tag or post of "NEl" the time (hour, minute, day, month and year) that you finished.

If a corner post cannot be set up because of a lake, river or other natural barrier, you must place this corner post on the boundary line as close as possible to the claim corner post, this is commonly referred to as a witness post.This tag must be marked with all of the information needed on tags for corner posts, along with:

  • the letters W.P. (Witness Post); and
  • the direction and distance (in feet) to where the corner post should actually have been.

If a mound of earth or stone is used as the witness post, the information listed above shall be written on paper or other durable material and put in a waterproof container and placed in the top of the mound.

B) Recording Mineral Claims

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 24 to 28

Once a mineral claim has been staked, you have 60 days to submit the following information to the Mining Recorder's Office:

  • a Form 3, signed by the person or company in whose name the claim was staked;
  • a 1:50,000 sketch of the claim which must show any recognizable landmarks, where the claim is in relation to other claims, and the position of all posts;
  • the fee of $0.10 per acre; and
  • any authorization from the surface rights holder.

Form 3 can be obtained by contacting the Mining Recorder's Office or from the Indian and Northern Affairs Canada Web site.

Prospecting Permits

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 29 to 36

An individual or company can apply for a prospecting permit beginning on the first business day of December and ending on the last business day of December. If the application is approved it will come into effect on February 1st.

A prospecting permit will allow you to prospect in a large area without competition for a period of three or five years, and give the holder the exclusive rights to stake a mineral claim within that area. There are no surface rights associated with prospecting permits. If you are working north of the 68th degree latitude a permit can be held for up to five years (the work periods are as follows: first and second period are two years in length and the third period is one year, all starting February 1st and ending January 31st). If you are working south of 68th degree latitude a permit can be held for up to three years (the work periods are as follows: one year for three years starting February 1st and ending January 31st). If you have completed the required work in the permit area, mineral claims may be staked after the first work period. Once your permit has expired or been relinquished, you cannot stake a claim in that area for a period of one year.

An application for a prospecting permit costs $25 plus a 10 cents/acre deposit for the first work period. Then 20 cents/acre deposit for the second work period and 40 cents/acre deposit for the third work period. If you do not pay the required deposit with either cash or work prior to the beginning of each of the second or third work period, your permit will be cancelled.

Representation Work

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 38 to 42

A mineral claim only remains active if a certain amount of representation work is completed on the claim. The amount of work is measured by the cost per acre. Once recorded, a mineral claim is valid for a period of two years. The claim can be renewed to its third year if the holder does representation work valued at $4/acre during the first two year period. A claim can be held up to 10 years if you do representation work valued at, at least, $2/acre per year for each year after the first two year period.

Representation work can include:

  • stripping, drilling, trenching, sinking shafts and driving adits or drifts;
  • geological, geochemical, geophysical work or other exploratory work approved by a District Geologist (refer to Schedule II of the Canada Mining Regulations for further details);
  • a survey of the claim approved by the Surveyor General; and
  • work done in constructing roads or airstrips to provide access to the claim.

To file work you must complete a Statement of Representation Work (Form 9), pay fees of 10 cents/acre, and report to the Mining Recorder in accordance with Schedule II of the Canada Mining Regulations. INAC District Geologists can give you more information about technical requirements concerning representation work.

These report(s) should not be confused with report(s) that are filed with the Government of Nunavut under the territorial government's grubstake program. Reports on representation work must be filed with the Mining Recorders Office within a period of 90 days from the claims anniversary date to keep the claim from lapsing.

Grouping

Canada Mining Regulations – Section 37

Claims that are adjacent, on top or diagonal to each other may be grouped for the purpose of representation work as long as the total area of grouped claims is not more than 5,165 acres (2090.2 hectares). Representation work done on any claim in the group can be allocated to all the claims in the group. A claim can only be grouped once a year. If a claim is expired, cancelled, or if a lease application is received, the grouping certificate is no longer in effect.

To apply for a grouping, complete and submit Form 7 to the Mining Recorder's Office along with a $10 fee for each group.

Legal Surveys

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 54 to 57

Before a mineral claim can be leased it must be surveyed by a Canada Land Surveyor. This process can take some time; therefore, if you want to take your claim to lease, you should plan ahead. When the survey is completed, adjoining claim holders must be notified with a Form 14 (Notice of Survey) by registered mail. The Survey, Form 14, along with the $2 fee are forwarded to the Mining Recorder. It will be posted for a period of 21 consecutive days and the surveyor or claim holder must supply proof that adjoining claim holders have been notified. The survey may be registered by the Mining Recorder after the 21-day posting and 30-day appeal period.

Mining Leases

Canada Mining Regulations – Sections 58 to 61

You can apply to lease your mineral claim if you have completed representation work of at least $10/acre on the claim and if a legal survey on the claim has been recorded with the Mining Recorder. Application is made by completing Form 15. There are fees of $25/claim plus the first year rental of $1/acre contained in the surveyed claim.

You must have a lease if you intend to sell or otherwise dispose of minerals or ore with a gross value of more than $100,000 in one year. Your mineral claim will expire at the end of 10 years if you do not apply for a lease and you will not be able to re-stake the area for a period of one year.

Contact Information

Any questions concerning the Canada Mining Regulations should be directed to the Mining Recorder's Office:

INAC – Mining Recorder's Office
Building 918 on Nunavut Drive
PO Box 100
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Tel: (867) 975-4275
Fax: (867) 975-4286
E-mail: landsmining@inac.gc.ca

Questions concerning the overall regulatory framework for mineral development can be directed to INAC Mineral Resources:

INAC – Mineral Resources
Building 918 on Nunavut Drive
PO Box 100
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Tel: (867) 975-4291
Fax: (867) 975-4276
E-mail: nunavutminerals@inac.gc.ca

Questions concerning the Government of Nunavut's mineral development programs and policy can be directed to:

Government of Nunavut
Minerals and Petroleum Resources Division
PO Box 1000, Station1560
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Tel: (867) 975-5999
Fax: (867) 975-5980

Questions concerning Inuit owned land mineral development can be directed to the following Regional Inuit Organizations:

Kivalliq Inuit Association
PO Box 340
Rankin Inlet NU X0C 0G0
Tel: (867) 645-2800 or (800) 220-6581

Qikiqtani Inuit Association
Building 603
PO Box 1340
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0
Tel: (867) 979-5391

Kitikmeot Inuit Association
PO Box 18
Cambridge Bay NU X0B 0C0
Tel: (867) 983-2458

Kitikmeot Inuit Association
Lands Department
PO Box 360
Kugluktuk NU X0E 0E0
Tel: (867) 982-3310

Sample Claim Sketch

(Also shows typical inscriptions required on the corner and boundary posts)

Sample Claim Sketch
Date modified:

Acquisition des droits miniers au Nunavut

auteur : Publié avec l'autorisation du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
date : Ottawa, 2004
ISSN : 0-662-79431-1
Catalogue : R2-387/2005F-PDF
QS- : Y256-000-FF-A1

Format PDF (784 ko, 23 pages)

Table des matières

Introduction

La communication est importante pour éviter tout malentendu entre les équipes d'exploration et les résidants du Nunavut. Une bonne communication permet à l'industrie minière (aussi bien aux entreprises qu'aux particuliers) d'établir et d'entretenir des contacts étroits et de solides relations de travail dans la collectivité. Afin d'éviter tout malentendu, nous invitons les sociétés minières à discuter des plans d'exploration proposés avec les conseils communautaires et les associations inuites régionales de la région où elles comptent travailler le plus tôt possible. Elles découvriront ainsi si leurs activités peuvent avoir des répercussions sur les utilisateurs des terres (les chasseurs, les trappeurs, les pourvoiries ainsi que les résidants locaux). De plus, les sociétés peuvent tenter d'engager des gens de la collectivité lorsque cela est possible. Pour obtenir une liste des personnes-ressources pour les collectivités locales, veuillez téléphoner au gouvernement du Nunavut au (867) 975-5400.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) examine, enregistre, et administre les claims miniers, et émet les baux et les permis de prospection sur les terres publiques. Notre bureau assure le respect du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada. En outre, nous offrons des services aux clients, tels que l'émission de licences de prospection, de cartes relatives au jalonnement, de formulaires, de plaques d'identification, etc.

Il existe trois principaux types d'« intérêts » miniers dans le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada : un claim minier ou un « claim », un permis de prospection et une concession minière. La présente brochure décrit la façon d'acquérir et de maintenir ces intérêts. Elle résume également plusieurs articles du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada. Nous avons tenté de décrire avec précision les articles du Règlement en langage clair. Cependant, vous devriez consulter le Règlement lui-même, ou communiquer avec le Bureau du registraire minier d'AINC, pour obtenir une interprétation stricte de toute question ou pour mieux comprendre l'ensemble du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada.

Licences de prospection

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 7 à 10

Vous devez détenir une licence de prospection valide pour prospecter un claim à la recherche de minéraux, enregistrer un claim, acquérir un claim enregistré ou un intérêt dans un claim enregistré par cession, demander un certificat de travaux ou un certificat de prolongement des travaux, ou acquérir une concession pour un claim enregistré.

Si vous êtes âgé d'au moins 18 ans, vous avez le droit d'acquérir une licence de prospection.

Toute société enregistrée en règle peut obtenir des licences de prospection de société auprès de l'Enregistrement officiel et du ministère de la Justice du gouvernement du Nunavut. Les sociétés peuvent se renseigner au sujet de l'enregistrement en appelant au (867) 975-6590.

Une licence de prospection est valide du 1er avril au 31 mars. Elle doit être renouvelée chaque année pour demeurer à jour.

Les coûts d'obtention d'une licence de prospection sont les suivants :

  • Licence de prospection - société 50 $ pour émettre
  • Licence de prospection - société 50 $ pour renouveler
  • Licence de prospection - particulier 5 $ pour émettre
  • Licence de prospection - particulier 5 $ pour renouveler

Acquisition de claims miniers

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 11 à 18

Endroits où vous pouvez jalonner des claims :

Le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada s'applique aux terres dont l'État administre les droits miniers. Vous pouvez jalonner des claims sur des terres publiques, sauf les terres :

  • servant de parcs nationaux;
  • servant de cimetières, de lieux de sépulture, ou de sites archéologiques;
  • pour lesquelles a été enregistré un claim minier en règle;
  • dont les minéraux ont été donnés à bail;
  • déclarées inaliénables en vertu d'un décret (ce qui sera noté sur la carte de claim);
  • relevant de l'administration ou du contrôle du ministre de la Défense nationale, du ministre des Ressources naturelles ou du ministre des Transports, à moins d'avoir un consentement écrit;
  • privées (bail de surface ou subvention), à moins que le détenteur des droits de surface ne consente, ou dans le cas de certains règlements des revendications territoriales, où un avis est donné;
  • dont les droits de surface/tréfonciers appartiennent aux Inuit.

Ce dernier point est particulièrement important au Nunavut. Vous découvrirez peut-être que les droits de surface de grandes superficies de terre appartiennent aux Inuit, mais que le sous-sol est géré par l'État. Dans ces régions, vous devez avoir l'autorisation d'accéder à la terre avant de pouvoir jalonner un claim.

Si vous prévoyez prospecter ou jalonner un claim minier sur une terre louée, une terre privée, y compris une terre dont les droits de surface appartiennent aux Inuit, vous devez inclure l'autorisation pertinente du propriétaire foncier en ce qui a trait à l'accès, ainsi que vos demandes et vos croquis, sinon, vos claims miniers ne seront pas enregistrés.

Le Bureau d'administration des terres d'AINC possède des cartes qui montrent l'emplacement des parcs nationaux, des terres qui appartiennent aux Inuit, des terres privées, des terres déclarées inaliénables en vertu d'un décret, d'autres terres louées ou réservées et les droits miniers existants. On peut acheter ces cartes par téléphone en appelant au (867) 975-4275 ou en communiquant par courriel à l'adresse suivante landsmining@ainc.gc.ca. Les cartes peuvent également être consultées en ligne par le biais du visualiseur du SISM

A) Jalonnement d'un claim minier

Si vous détenez une licence de prospecteur valide, vous pouvez jalonner, ou faire jalonner, un claim minier. Le croquis à la page 20 montre ce à quoi un claim devrait ressembler sur le terrain.

Le claim doit :

  • être, autant que possible, rectangulaire, et avoir des limites suivant les directions nord, sud, est et ouest;
  • avoir une superficie maximale de 2582,5 acres (1045,1 hectares) et une superficie minimale de 51,65 acres (20,90 hectares);
  • avoir des angles droits (angles de 90 degrés) dans la mesure du possible.

La longueur et la largeur du claim doivent être égales à 1500 pieds (457,2 mètres) ou à un multiple de ce nombre et la longueur du claim ne peut être supérieure à cinq fois la largeur (certaines exceptions sont répertoriées en vertu de l'article 13 du Règlement).

Chaque angle du claim doit être délimité par une borne légale. La borne doit être fermement fixée dans ou sur le sol, à la verticale, et mesurer au moins quatre pieds de hauteur. Elle doit également mesurer au moins 1,5 pouce (3,81 centimètres) de largeur des quatre côtés. Ce peut être un arbre coupé, d'au moins quatre pieds de hauteur, et dont le pied supérieur est équarri.

Lors du jalonnement, les bornes d'angle doivent être numérotées dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre :

1er la borne d'angle nord-est est la borne NEl;

2e la borne d'angle sud-est est la borne SE2;

3e la borne d'angle sud-ouest est la borne SO3;

4e la borne d'angle nord-ouest est la borne NO4.

Au Nunavut, où il n'y a pas d'arbres, on peut utiliser des bornes de bois, ou des monticules de terre ou de pierres. Si l'on a recours à un monticule de terre ou de pierres, celui-ci doit être conique et avoir au moins 3 pieds (0,91 mètres) de circonférence à la base et au moins 3 pieds (0,91 mètres) de hauteur.

Une plaque d'identification (en vente au Bureau du registraire minier au coût de 2 $ le jeu) doit être fixée à chaque borne à titre de repère. Si un monticule est utilisé, la plaque doit être mise dans un contenant imperméable et placée au sommet du monticule.

Les plaques des bornes doivent être gravées en permanence avec les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom du claim;
  • le nom du jalonneur du claim;
  • le nom de la personne qui a enregistré le claim si cette personne n'est pas le jalonneur du claim;
  • la date, l'heure et la minute où la borne a été mise en place.

De plus, la plaque de la borne « NE1 » doit porter le numéro de permis du détenteur du claim. Vous devez graver en permanence ces renseignements sur la plaque. Il vaut mieux éviter d'utiliser un stylo ou un marqueur parce qu'ils s'effacent rapidement.

Les bornes légales, appelées bornes de délimitation doivent être placées à une distance maximale de 1 500 pieds (457,2 mètres) les unes des autres le long de la limite du claim et numérotées dans l'ordre, en commençant par le numéro un à partir de chaque borne d'angle (voir le croquis). Vous pouvez utiliser soit une borne de bois de taille légale ou un monticule de terre ou de pierres mesurant plus de 18 pouces (45,72 centimètres) de hauteur et 3 pieds (0,91 mètres) de circonférence à la base.

Les inscriptions suivantes doivent paraître sur les bornes de délimitation :

  • le nom du claim;
  • le numéro de la borne;
  • les lettres BN, BE, BS, et BO, afin de baliser (délimiter) le claim.

Lorsque vous avez terminé de jalonner le claim minier, vous devez graver en permanence sur la plaque ou la borne « NE1 » le moment (l'heure, la minute, le jour, le mois et l'année) où vous avez terminé.

Lorsqu'en raison d'un lac, d'une rivière ou d'un autre obstacle naturel, il est impossible de dresser une borne d'angle, il faut ériger une « borne témoin » sur la ligne de délimitation le plus près possible de l'endroit réel du coin. La plaque doit comporter tous les renseignements nécessaires sur les plaques des bornes d'angle ainsi que les éléments suivants :

  • les lettres B.T. (borne témoin);
  • la direction et la distance (en pieds) de l'endroit où la borne aurait en fait dû se trouver.

Si un monticule de terre ou de pierres est utilisé comme borne témoin, les renseignements répertoriés ci-dessus doivent être rédigés sur un bout de papier ou de tout autre matériau durable, qui sera mis dans un contenant imperméable et placé au sommet du monticule.

B) Enregistrement de claims miniers

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 24 à 28

Lorsqu'un claim a été jalonné, vous disposez de 60 jours pour l'enregistrer auprès du Bureau du registraire minier, auquel vous devrez remettre ce qui suit :

  • le Formulaire 3, signé par la personne ou la compagnie au nom de laquelle le claim a été jalonné;
  • un croquis du claim à l'échelle 1:50 000 qui montre les caractéristiques topographiques reconnaissables, l'endroit où se trouve le claim par rapport aux autres et l'emplacement de toutes les bornes;
  • les droits de 0,10 $ l'acre;
  • toute autorisation de la part du détenteur des droits de surface.

On peut se procurer le Formulaire 3 en communiquant avec le Bureau du registraire minier ou en consultant le site Web d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

Permis de prospection

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 29 à 36

Un particulier ou une société peut demander un permis de prospection du premier au dernier jour ouvrable de décembre. Si la demande est approuvée, elle entrera en vigueur le 1er février.

Un permis de prospection vous permettra de prospecter dans une vaste région de façon exclusive pendant une période de trois ou cinq ans. Il concède au détenteur les droits exclusifs pour le jalonnement d'un claim minier dans ce secteur. Il n'existe aucun lien entre les droits de surface et le permis de prospection. Si vous travaillez au nord du 68e degré de latitude, vous pouvez détenir un permis jusqu'à cinq ans (les périodes sont les suivantes: la première et la deuxième périodes sont d'une durée de deux ans et la troisième période est d'une durée d'un an, et toutes les périodes commencent le 1er février et se terminent le 31 janvier). Si vous travaillez au sud du 68e degré de latitude, vous pouvez détenir un permis jusqu'à trois ans (trois périodes d'un an, du 1er février au 31 janvier). Si vous avez terminé les travaux requis dans la zone visée par le permis, vous pouvez jalonner les claims miniers après la première période. Une fois que votre permis est expiré ou si vous y avez renoncé, vous ne pouvez plus jalonner un claim dans cette région pendant une période d'un an.

Un permis de prospection coûte 25 $, plus 10 cents l'acre au cours de la première période de travail, 20 cents l'acre au cours de la deuxième période de travail et 40 cents l'acre au cours de la troisième période de travail. Si vous ne payez pas le dépôt requis soit en espèces, soit en travail, avant le début de chacune des deuxième ou troisième périodes, votre permis sera annulé.

Travaux obligatoires

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 38 à 42

Un claim minier demeure valide seulement si une certaine partie des travaux liés au claim est achevée. La quantité de travaux se mesure par le coût à l'acre. Une fois enregistré, un claim minier est valide pour une période de deux ans. Le claim peut être renouvelé à sa troisième année si le détenteur exécute des travaux obligatoires d'une valeur de 4 $ l'acre pendant la première période de deux ans. Vous pouvez conserver un claim jusqu'à 10 ans si vous exécutez des travaux obligatoires d'une valeur minimale de 2 $ l'acre par année pour chaque année suivant la première période de deux ans.

Les travaux obligatoires peuvent inclure les éléments suivants :

  • le décapage, le forage, le creusement de tranchées, le fonçage de puits et l'avancement de galeries horizontales à flanc de coteau;
  • le travail géologique, géochimique, ou géophysique ou autre travail exploratoire effectué par un géologue de district (voir l'annexe II du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada pour obtenir plus de détails);
  • un arpentage du claim approuvé par l'arpenteur en chef;
  • les travaux de construction de routes ou de pistes d'atterrissage pour permettre l'accès au claim.

Pour déclarer les travaux obligatoires, vous devez remplir un État des travaux obligatoires (Formulaire 9), payer des droits de 10 cents l'acre, et présenter un compte rendu au registraire minier conformément à l'annexe II du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada. Les géologues de district d'AINC peuvent vous donner plus de renseignements au sujet des exigences techniques relatives aux travaux obligatoires.

Il ne faudrait pas confondre ces rapports avec ceux déposés auprès du gouvernement du Nunavut en vertu du programme territorial de commandites de prospection. Les rapports relatifs à l'état des travaux obligatoires doivent être déposés auprès du Bureau du registraire minier dans les 90 jours suivant la date d'anniversaire du claim pour éviter que celui-ci ne devienne caduc.

Groupement

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Article 37

Les claims adjacents, superposés ou en diagonale les uns par rapport aux autres peuvent être groupés aux fins de l'exécution des travaux obligatoires dans la mesure où la superficie totale des claims groupés ne dépasse pas 5 165 acres (2090,2 hectares). Les travaux obligatoires effectués sur tout claim du groupe peuvent être attribués à tous les claims du groupe. Un claim ne peut être groupé qu'une fois l'an. Si un claim est périmé, annulé, ou si l'on reçoit une demande de concession, le certificat de groupement n'est plus en vigueur.

Pour demander un groupement, remplissez et présentez le Formulaire 7 au bureau du registraire minier ainsi qu'un droit de 10 $ pour chaque groupe.

Levés officiels

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 54 à 57

Avant qu'un claim minier ne fasse l'objet d'une concession, il doit être arpenté par un arpenteur des terres du Canada. Ce processus peut prendre un certain temps. Vous devez donc vous y prendre tôt si vous voulez donner votre claim en concession. Lorsque l'arpentage a été exécuté, les détenteurs des claims adjacents doivent en être informés par l'entremise du Formulaire 14 par courrier recommandé. Le levé, le Formulaire 14, ainsi qu'un droit de 2 $ seront acheminés au registraire minier. L'avis sera affiché pendant 21 jours consécutifs et l'arpenteur ou le détenteur du claim devra fournir la preuve que les détenteurs des claims voisins ont été informés. Le levé peut être enregistré par le registraire minier après la période d'affichage de 21 jours et la période d'appel de 30 jours.

Claims miniers

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada – Articles 58 à 61

Vous pouvez présenter une demande de concession pour un claim minier si vous avez exécuté les travaux obligatoires d'au moins 10 $ l'acre sur le claim et si un levé officiel du claim a été enregistré auprès du registraire minier. Vous formulez la demande en remplissant le Formulaire 15. Le claim arpenté comporte des droits de 25 $ par claim plus les frais de concession de 1 $ l'acre pour la première année.

Vous devez avoir une concession si vous voulez vendre ou céder dans une année des minéraux ou des minerais dont la valeur brute est supérieure à 100 000 $. Si vous ne demandez pas une concession, votre claim cessera d'être valide après une période de dix ans et vous ne pourrez rejalonner la région pendant un an.

Renseignements

Toute question au sujet du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Canada devrait être adressée au Bureau du registraire minier, à l'adresse suivante :

AINC – Bureau du registraire minier Édifice 918, promenade du Nunavut C.P 100 Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0 Téléphone : (867) 975-4275 Télécopieur : (867) 975-4286 Courriel : landsmining@ainc.gc.ca

Les questions concernant le cadre général de réglementation de l'exploitation minière peuvent être adressées à la Division des ressources minérales d'AINC :

AINC – Ressources minérales Édifice 918, promenade du Nunavut C.P 100 Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0 Téléphone : (867) 975-4291 Télécopieur : (867) 975-4276 Courriel : nunavutminerals@ainc.gc.ca

Les questions concernant les programmes et la politique d'exploitation minière du gouvernement du Nunavut peuvent être adressées au :

Gouvernement du Nunavut Division des ressources minérales et pétrolières C.P 1000, succursale 1560 Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0 Téléphone : (867) 975-5999 Télécopieur : (867) 975-5980

Les questions concernant l'exploitation minière des terres appartenant aux Inuit peuvent être adressées aux organismes inuits régionaux suivants :

Kivalliq Inuit Association C.P 340 Rankin Inlet (Nunavut) X0C 0G0 Téléphone : (867) 645-2800 ou (800) 220-6581

Qikiqtani Inuit Association Édifice 603 C.P 1340 Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0 Téléphone : (867) 979-5391

Kitikmeot Inuit Association C.P 18 Cambridge Bay (Nunavut) X0B 0C0 Téléphone : (867) 983-2458

Kitikmeot Inuit Association Administration des terres C.P 360 Kugluktuk (Nunavut) X0E 0E0 Téléphone : (867) 982-3310

Exemple de croquis de claim

(Montre également les inscriptions types requises sur les bornes)

Sample Claim Sketch
Date de modification :