Mining Recorder's Office

The Mining Recorder's Office (MRO) is responsible for subsurface rights administration of Crown land. It is the point of contact for information on subsurface rights on Crown land administered under the Nunavut Mining Regulations (with the exception of royalties' provisions). The MRO is also responsible for administering the Territorial Coal Regulations. Through this office, you can apply for prospecting licences and permits, mineral claims and mining leases, as well as coal leases, coal permits and coal exploration licences.

Nunavut Mining Regulations

Several sections of the Nunavut Mining Regulations are provided below. For a more complete understanding, please refer to the Nunavut Mining Regulations themselves, or contact the MRO for a strict interpretation on any matter.

Access to Mining Information

The Nunavut Map Viewer provides access to spatial data covering Nunavut, allowing users to display the information and search for specific features. It also provides them with the ability to print maps, download data or upload user data so that it can be viewed on the map.

Mineral spatial data can be downloaded from the Government of Canada's Open Data site. Clients can also request a user name and password to access the Nunavut Map Selection application. Access to this application allows users to update their contact information, perform queries, or print reports.

Please contact the MRO to request access and then refer to the Instructions to Access the Nunavut Map Selection Application to login.

Map Selection in Nunavut

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is modernizing the way that mineral claims are acquired in Nunavut. This change will allow licence holders to acquire mineral rights using a web-based system which includes an interactive map, a pre-defined grid and an on-line shopping cart to pay fees. INAC is working on the new online system and will announce the expected launch date in the near future. For more information, please refer to the Map Selection of Mineral Claims in Nunavut webpage.

External Links

For access to geoscientific information, visit Nunavut Minerals.

Contacts

For more information please contact:

Mining Recorder's Office - Nunavut Regional Office
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
969 QIMUGJUK BUILDING
PO BOX 100, IQALUIT, Nunavut X0A 0H0
Phone: (867) 975-4281
Fax: (867) 975-4286
landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Bureau du registraire minier

Le Bureau du registraire minier (BRM) administre les droits sur le sous-sol des terres de la Couronne. Il est le point d'accès aux informations sur les droits sur le sous-sol des terres de la Couronne administrés conformément au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut (à l'exception des dispositions sur les redevances). Le BRM est aussi responsable de l'administration du Règlement territorial sur la houille. Par son intermédiaire, vous pouvez faire une demande de licence ou de permis de prospection; de claim ou de bail minier; et de concession, licences et permis d'exploration relatifs à la houille.

Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut

Plusieurs sections du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut sont énumérées ci-dessous. S'il vous faut une interprétation détaillée d'un sujet ou pour avoir une compréhension plus complète de toutes les parties du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut, veuillez-vous reporter au texte lui-même, ou communiquer avec le BRM.

Accès à l'information

Le Visualiseur de cartes du Nunavut permet de consulter l'information géographique couvrant le Nunavut. Il permet aux utilisateurs d'afficher de l'information, de rechercher des éléments spécifiques, ainsi que d'imprimer des cartes, de télécharger des données ou d'intégrer leurs propres données afin qu'elles soient visualisées sur la carte.

L'information spatiale sur la tenure minérale peut être téléchargée à partir du site des données ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada. Tout client peut aussi faire une requête pour un nom d'utilisateur et un mot de passe afin d'accéder à l'application Sélection sur cartes du Nunavut. L'accès à cette application permet de mettre à jour leurs coordonnées, d'effectuer des recherches ou d'imprimer des rapports.

Veuillez contacter le BRM pour obtenir l'accès à l'application et par la suite suivez les instructions sur l'accès à l'application Sélection sur cartes du Nunavut.

Désignation sur carte au Nunavut

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) modernise le régime d'acquisition des claims miniers au Nunavut. Ce changement permettra aux détenteurs de licence d'acquérir des droits miniers à l'aide d'un système web qui inclut une carte interactive, une grille prédéfinie et un panier d'achats virtuel pour acquitter les frais. AANC travaille sur le nouveau système et annoncera la date de lancement prévue prochainement. Pour plus d'information, visitez la page Désignation sur carte au Nunavut.

Liens externes

L'information géoscientifique couvrant le Nunavut est publiée à Minéraux Nunavut.

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bureau du registraire minier – Bureau régional du Nunavut
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
969, édifice Qimugjuk
C. P. 100, IQALUIT (Nunavut) X0A 0H0
Téléphone : 867-975-4281
Télécopieur : 867-975-4286
landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :