Land Administration

Our Role

Nunavut encompasses two million square kilometres or one-fifth of Canada's land mass. Because a large percentage of the land is under explored, it holds a wealth of opportunity. Our Land Administration division is responsible for the management of surface and subsurface rights on Crown land in Nunavut to ensure the wise use of land resources through legislation and policies.

Our Activities

Land Administration Office

Managing Nunavut's vast land resources is a joint effort. We work with the Government of Nunavut, Designated Inuit Organizations, Institutions of Public Government and other regulatory agencies. Administration of Crown land is affected by Article 11 and Article 12 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. Article 11 pertains to land use plans established by the Nunavut Planning Commission while Article 12 specifies how environmental assessments are conducted by the Nunavut Impact Review Board.

Within the division, the Land Administrator Specialist and the Mining Recorder help administer surface and subsurface rights on Crown land, under the Territorial Lands Act and the Federal Real Property and Federal Immovables Act.

Additional Information:

Contact Us

Land Administration Manager
Tel: 867-975-4280
landsmining@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Land Administrator Specialist
Tel: 867-975-4283
landsmining@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Mining Recorder
Tel: 867-975-4281
landsmining@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

INAC-NRO
Land Administration Division

P.O. Box 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Date modified:

Administration des terres

Notre rôle

Le Nunavut couvre une superficie de deux millions de kilomètres carrés, soit un cinquième de la masse terrestre du Canada. Un fort pourcentage de ces terres ont été sous-explorées et offrent donc de vastes possibilités. Notre division de l'administration des terres doit répondre de la gestion des droits sur la surface et le sous-sol des terres de la Couronne au Nunavut, de manière à faire adopter des lois et des politiques qui garantissent une utilisation judicieuse des ressources foncières.

Nos activités

Division de l'administration des terres

La gestion des vastes ressources foncières du Nunavut est un effort mené en commun. Nous collaborons avec le gouvernement du Nunavut, les organisations inuites désignées, les institutions de gouvernement populaire et les autres organismes de réglementation. L'administration des terres de la Couronne est assujettie aux dispositions des articles 11 et 12 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. L'article 11 traite des plans d'aménagement des terres dressés par la Commission d'aménagement du Nunavut; l'article 12 précise comment la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l'examen des répercussions procède aux analyses de l'environnement.

Au sein de la division, le spécialiste de l'administration des terres et le conservateur des registres miniers aident à administrer les droits sur la surface et le sous-sol des terres de la Couronne, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les terres territoriales et de la Loi sur les immeubles fédéraux et les biens réels fédéraux.

Information supplémentaire

Communiquez avec nous

Gestionnaire de l'administration des terres
Tél. : 867-975-4280
landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Spécialiste de l'administration des terres 
Tél.: 867-975-4283
landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Conservateur des registres miniers
Tél. : 867-975-4281
landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

AANC-BRN
Division de l'administration des terres

C.P. 2200
Iqaluit NU X0A 0H0

Date de modification :