First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy

Four programs are administered by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) under the First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy (FNIYES). The FNIYES is a component of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy.

Science and Technology Program

The Science and Technology Program provides First Nations and Inuit youth with first-hand experience in various science and technology disciplines, and may include the enhancement of traditional knowledge. The program highlights education as the key to obtaining employment in these fields.

Eligible participants are First Nation and Inuit youth ordinarily resident on-reserve or in recognized communities.

Career Promotion and Awareness Program

This program provides participants with access to life and work skills development, career fairs and leadership projects. The program highlights education as the key to attaining meaningful and sustainable employment.

Eligible participants are First Nation and Inuit youth ordinarily resident on-reserve or in recognized communities.

Student Summer Employment Opportunities Program

This program offers summer work experience for First Nations and Inuit secondary and post-secondary students to enable them to acquire skills, gain experience and earn wages to help meet their ongoing educational costs.

Eligible participants are First Nations and Inuit secondary and post secondary students aged 15 to 30 who are ordinarily residents on-reserve or in recognized communities. Participants must have been registered as full-time students during the preceding academic year and intend to return to school on a full-time basis in the next academic year.

Youth Work Experience Program

This program provides life and work skill development, mentoring, work experience, career planning and counselling activities (including a needs assessment). In addition, the program provides an opportunity for participants to explore a variety of career options.

Eligible participants are First Nation and Inuit youth aged 15 to 30 ordinarily resident on reserve or in recognized communities who are out of school, unemployed or underemployed.

Stratégie d’emploi pour les jeune Inuits et des Premières nations

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) administre quatre programmes dans le cadre de la Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuits et les des Premières nations, qui fait partie de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse du gouvernement du Canada.

Programme sciences et technologies

Le Programme sciences et technologies fournit aux jeunes Inuits et des Premières nations l'occasion d'acquérir une expérience pratique dans diverses disciplines scientifiques et technologiques, et il peut comprendre le perfectionnement des connaissances traditionnelles. Le programme met en valeur l'éducation comme étant un élément clé pour obtenir un emploi dans ces domaines.

Les participants admissibles sont les jeunes Inuits et des Premières nations qui habitent dans des réserves ou des collectivités reconnues.

Programme de promotion et de sensibilisation aux carrières

Le programme permet aux participants de perfectionner leurs compétences de base et leurs compétences de travail et de participer aux salons des carrières et à des projets de leadership. Le programme met en valeur l'éducation comme étant un élément essentiel pour obtenir un emploi significatif et durable.

Les participants admissibles sont les jeunes Inuits et des Premières nations qui habitent dans des réserves ou des collectivités reconnues.

Programme carrière-été pour les étudiants

Ce programme offre des possibilités d'emploi d'été aux étudiants Inuits et aux étudiants membres des Premières nations de niveau secondaire ou postsecondaire afin de leur permettre d'acquérir des compétences et de l'expérience et de recevoir un salaire qui les aidera à assumer les coûts liés à leurs études.

Les participants admissibles sont les étudiants Inuits et les étudiants membres des Premières nations de niveau secondaire ou postsecondaire, âgés de 15 à 30 ans, et qui habitent dans des réserves ou des collectivités reconnues. Les participants devaient être inscrits à un programme d'études à plein temps au cours de l'année scolaire ou universitaire précédente et doivent avoir l'intention de retourner aux études à plein temps l'année suivante.

Programme d'expérience de travail pour les jeunes

Ce programme donne la possibilité d'acquérir des compétences de base et des compétences de travail, en plus d'offrir de l'encadrement, une expérience de travail, des services de planification de carrière et des activités de counseling (y compris une évaluation des besoins). En outre, le programme donne aux participants l'occasion d'explorer diverses options de carrière.

Les participants admissibles sont les jeunes Inuits et des Premières nations, âgés de 15 à 30 ans, qui habitent dans une réserve ou une collectivité reconnue et qui ont abandonné leurs études, sont au chômage ou sont sous-employés.