Indian Government Support

Three Indian Government Support (IGS) programs for First Nations people and organizations make up Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's (AANDC) principal governance and administrative support. The Band Support Funding (BSF) grant is available to all First Nations recognized under the Indian Act. The other two - Tribal Councils Funding and the Band Employee Benefits Program - are programs targeted to address specific individual and organizational needs and are intended to complement the Band Support Funding.

Band Support Funding

This grant assists Band Councils to meet administrative costs associated with local government and the delivery of AANDC-funded services. This support is intended to provide a stable funding base to facilitate effective community governance and the efficient delivery of services. Band Support Funding allows First Nation communities the flexibility to allocate funds according to their individual needs and priorities.

Tribal Council Funding

This program provides core funding to Tribal Councils for the delivery of shared programs and services to their member First Nations. Tribal Council Funding ensures that First Nations have more decision-making power and control over the delivery of shared programs and services that were previously delivered by AANDC.

Tribal Council Funding is provided to formally incorporated Tribal Councils and enables them to provide member First Nations with the following advisory services:

  • Financial management
  • Band government support
  • Economic development

Band Employee Benefits (BEB) Program

The Band Employee Benefits Program provides funding for eligible Indian employers, First Nation Councils or Tribal Councils to pay the employer's share of contributions to pension and benefit plans for eligible employees.

This funding is only applicable to First Nation or Tribal Council employees funded through AANDC.

Soutien aux gouvernements indiens

Trois programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens (PSGI), offerts aux Premières nations et à leurs organisations, constituent le principal soutien qu'offre Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) en matière de gouvernance et d'administration. Le programme Financement du soutien des bandes (FSB) est offert à toutes les Premières nations reconnues en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. Les deux autres programmes (Financement des conseils tribaux et Programme des avantages sociaux des employés des bandes) visent à répondre aux besoins précis de personnes et d'organisations et sont conçus comme compléments au Financement du soutien des bandes.

Financement du soutien des bandes

Ce programme aide les conseils de bande à défrayer les frais administratifs liés à l'administration locale et à la prestation de services financés par AADNC. Ce soutien vise à fournir une assise financière stable en vue de faciliter une gouvernance communautaire solide et la prestation efficace des services. Le programme Financement du soutien des bandes confère aux collectivités des Premières nations la souplesse voulue pour affecter les fonds selon leurs priorités et besoins individuels.

Financement des conseils tribaux

Ce programme fournit un financement de base aux conseils tribaux pour la prestation de programmes et de services communs à leurs Premières nations membres. Le programme Financement des conseils tribaux veille à ce que les Premières nations aient un pouvoir décisionnel accru et davantage de contrôle sur la prestation de programmes et de services communs qui étaient auparavant fournis par AADNC.

Le programme Financement des conseils tribaux est offert aux conseils tribaux officiellement constitués et leur permet de fournir aux Premières nations membres les services consultatifs suivants :

  • Gestion financière
  • Appui à l'administration des bandes
  • Développement économique

Programme des avantages sociaux des employés des bandes

Le Programme des avantages sociaux des employés des bandes offre du financement aux employeurs indiens, aux conseils des Premières nations ou aux conseils tribaux admissibles afin de payer la part de l'employeur des contributions aux régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux pour les employés admissibles.

Ce financement n'est offert qu'aux employés des Premières nations ou de conseils tribaux financés par AADNC.