Measuring Success

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Evaluating Land Claims Implementation

The Government of Canada remains committed to strengthening the economic self-reliance of Aboriginal people through the successful implementation of land claims and self-government agreements, as well as national policy initiatives.

To support this, a number of evaluations have been done to determine the status and effectiveness of implementation activities to date. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is working with other government departments to address specific concerns.

AANDC Audit and Evaluation Report

An internal AANDC audit and evaluation report, “Impact Evaluation of Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements,” presented findings on the impacts of comprehensive land claim agreements (CLCAs) or modern treaties, and on the extent to which the objectives for the CLCAs have been achieved.

A number of recommendations were made and the department has already undertaken measures to address many of them. The evaluation concluded that the basic elements of the agreements are in place with land and financial transfers completed on schedule, and that Agreements have:

  • Brought clarity and certainty to the settlements areas in terms of land ownership, access and regulatory requirements for development
  • Contributed to a positive environment for investment
  • Enabled Aboriginal groups to position themselves to take advantage of development
  • Positively impacted the role of Aboriginal people in the economy of the settlement areas and their relations with industry
  • Provided Aboriginal groups with a meaningful and effective voice in decision making on land and resource management

Office of the Auditor General – 2007 Report Recommendations

In 2007 the Office of the Auditor General (OAG) released a report on the status of the implementation of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement.

The OAG recommended that Canada improve in the area of land transfers, contracting and procurement activities, communication amongst federal government departments, and economic development opportunities.

To date, AANDC has made significant progress in the implementation of these recommendations, which has improved the relationship between Canada and the Inuvialuit.

Standing Committee on Public Accounts – 2009 Evaluation Report

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts (SCOPA) evaluation report presents findings on the impacts of comprehensive land claim agreements (CLCAs), and on the extent to which CLCA objectives have been achieved.

Overall, the evaluation report found that Canada has fulfilled the terms and objectives of the four Agreements it reviewed (the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, The Gwich'in CLCA, the Sahtu Dene and Metis CLCA, and the Northeaster Quebec Agreement with the Naskapi) with respect to the transfer of funds, rights to land recognized, and the establishment of management bodies as agreed to under the Agreements.

Mesurer le succès

Évaluer la mise en oeuvre des ententes sur les revendications territoriales

Le gouvernement du Canada reste déterminé à renforcer l’indépendance économique des peuples autochtones par une mise en œuvre réussie des ententes portant sur les revendications territoriales et l’autonomie gouvernementale ainsi que par l’adoption d’initiatives stratégiques nationales.

À l’appui de cet objectif, un certain nombre d’évaluations ont été faites afin de mesurer l’état et l’efficacité des activités de mise en œuvre à ce jour. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) travaille avec d’autres ministères fédéraux afin d’aborder certaines préoccupations.

Rapport de vérification et d’évaluation d’AADNC

Un rapport de vérification et d’évaluation interne d’AADNC intitulé « Évaluation de l’incidence des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales » a présenté des conclusions sur l’incidence des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales (ERTG), ou traités modernes, et sur la mesure dans laquelle les objectifs fixés pour les ERTG ont été atteints.

Un certain nombre de recommandations ont été formulées, et le ministère a déjà adopté des mesures pour répondre à plusieurs d’entre elles. L’évaluation a conclu que les éléments de base des accords sont en place, et les transferts fonciers et financiers ont été faits en respectant les échéances. Aussi, l’évaluation a conclu que les accords ont :

  • Permis d’obtenir la clarté et la certitude dans les régions visées en ce qui a trait à la propriété des terres, à l’accès et aux exigences réglementaires liées au développement
  • Contribué à créer un climat positif pour l’investissement
  • Permis aux groupes autochtones de se positionner de façon à tirer parti des bénéfices liés au développement
  • Eu des répercussions positives sur le rôle que jouent les Autochtones dans l’économie des régions désignées et sur leurs relations avec l’industrie
  • Donné aux groupes autochtones une voix éloquente et efficace dans le processus décisionnel pour la gestion des terres et des ressources

Bureau du vérificateur général – Recommandations du rapport de 2007

En 2007, le Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG) a publié un rapport sur l’état de la mise en œuvre de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. Le BVG a recommandé que le Canada apporte des améliorations au chapitre des transferts fonciers, des activités de passation de marchés et d’approvisionnement, de la communication entre les différents ministères fédéraux et des possibilités de développement économique.

Jusqu’ici, AADNC a fait des progrès importants pour la mise en œuvre de ces recommandations, ce qui a permis d’améliorer les relations entre le Canada et les Inuvialuit.

Comité permanent des comptes publics – Rapport d’évaluation de 2009

Le rapport d’évaluation du Comité permanent des comptes publics (CPCP) présente des conclusions sur l’incidence des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales (ERTG) et sur la mesure dans laquelle les objectifs fixés pour les ERTG ont été atteints.

Dans l’ensemble, le rapport a permis de conclure que le Canada a rempli les modalités et les objectifs des quatre ententes qui ont été examinées (la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, l’Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Gwich’in, l’Entente sur la revendication territoriale globale des Dénés et Métis du Sahtu et la Convention du Nord-Est québécois avec les Naskapis) en ce qui a trait au transfert de fonds, à la reconnaissance des droits relatifs aux terres et à la mise sur pied des organismes de gestion prévus par les ententes.