Tlicho Lands

Colomac Mine Remediation

The Tlicho Land Claims and Self-government Agreement was signed on August 25, 2003 by the Tlicho Government, the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Canada. The agreement covers an area of 39,000 km2 north of Great Slave Lake. The Tlicho Agreement is a combined land and self-government agreement, the first agreement of its type in Canada.

Tlicho Elders identified the Colomac Mine Site, a former gold mine, as a major concern early in the Tlicho land claim negotiation process. One of the main concerns at Colomac was tailings water which contained, among other substances, cyanide—a chemical that was used to remove the gold from the ore.

The Colomac Remediation Plan was developed in partnership with the elders, who provided traditional knowledge and advice about caribou migration around the Colomac site and traditional land use in the Indin Lake area.

Remediation of the former Colomac gold mine is in its final stages, and water at the site is now safe once again. Throughout the project, Tlicho businesses have been involved in the project, either as primary or sub-contractors, bringing benefits to Tlicho community members.

Remediation: To remove, reduce, or neutralize waste harm to the environment or public safety. In general, it or hazardous material from a site to prevent or minimize means to clean-up a contaminated site.

Terres des Tlicho

Assainissement de la mine Colomac

L’Accord sur les revendications territoriales et l’autonomie gouvernementale du peuple Tlicho a été signé le 25 août 2003 par l’administration des Tlicho, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord- Ouest et le gouvernement du Canada. Cet accord porte sur un secteur de 39,000 km2 au nord du Grand lac des Esclaves. L’Accord Tlicho est une entente portant à la fois sur des revendications territoriales et sur l’autonomie gouvernementale, la première de ce genre au Canada.

Les aînés Tlicho ont déclaré dès le début du processus de négociation sur les revendications territoriales des Tlicho que le site de la mine Colomac était une grande source de préoccupation. L’une des principales préoccupations à cet endroit concernait les eaux résiduelles, qui contenaient, entre autres substances, du cyanure, un produit chimique utilisé pour extraire l’or du minerai.

On a élaboré le plan d’assainissement de la mine Colomac en partenariat avec les aînés, qui ont transmis leurs connaissances traditionnelles et fourni des conseils sur la migration des caribous dans le secteur de la mine Colomac et sur l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres dans le secteur du lac Indin.

L’assainissement de l’ancienne mine de Colomac tire à sa fi n, et l’eau à cet endroit est redevenue salubre. Tout au long du projet, des entreprises Tlicho ont participé aux travaux, que ce soit à titre d’entrepreneurs principaux ou de sous-entrepreneurs, ce qui apporté des bénéfices aux membres de la communauté Tlicho.

Assainissement : Action de retirer, de neutraliser ou de diminuer la quantité des déchets ou du matériel dangereux présents sur un site afin d’enrayer ou de minimiser les menaces pour l’environnement ou la sécurité du public. Cela signifie généralement le nettoyage d’un site contaminé.