The CLCA Path – From Negotiations to Implementation … and Beyond

In the case of a comprehensive land claim agreement, the implementation work begins with fulfilling specific onetime obligations, such as the survey and transfer of land, cash compensation and funding arrangements, and the creation of boards. In the case of a self-government agreement, the work begins with establishing the new bodies that will provide governance and operational capacity. These are major, complex undertakings that require the cooperation of experts on all sides.

While a comprehensive land claim or self-government agreement defines the rights and responsibilities of each party, the implementation plan and accompanying documents—for example, financial transfer agreements—describes how the parties work together on a day-to-day basis, interpreting how the agreement applies to real situations.

All parties—federal, Aboriginal and territorial—must combine their efforts to make an agreement work, using the roles provided by the Agreements and implementation plans to guide all of their activities.

While there are set objectives, deliverables and milestones that must be achieved once a land claim or self-government agreement is signed, the work of implementation continues past the tasks outlined as part of the implementation plan, and becomes a new way for Aboriginal people and governments to work together going forward.

Where can you find more information?

All parties interested in and affected by land claims implementation—beneficiaries, governments and others—have a responsibility to get involved and informed on obligations and rights under Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements Canada's modern treaties.

Here are some resources to get you started:

Negotiations and Agreements in the NWT

Claims and Amendments and Annual Reports

Aboriginal and Territorial Relations, AANDC/NT Region
867-669-2602

Tlicho First Nation
867-392-3000

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
867-777-2737

Gwich'in Tribal Council
867-777-7900

Sahtu Secretariat
867-589-4719

Government of the Northwest Territories
867-873-7500

Les ERTG – Des négociations et au-delà

Pour mettre en œuvre une entente sur des revendications territoriales globales, il faut commencer par s'acquitter d'obligations ponctuelles précises : arpentage et transfert de terres, indemnités monétaires et modalités de financement, création de conseils, etc. Dans le cas d'une entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, il faut d'abord mettre sur pied les nouvelles entités qui seront chargées de la gouvernance et dotées d'une capacité opérationnelle. Il s'agit là de réalisations majeures et complexes qui nécessitent la collaboration d'experts de tous les côtés.

Une entente sur des revendications territoriales globales ou l'autonomie gouvernementale définit les droits et les responsabilités de chacune des parties, alors qu'un plan de mise en œuvre et les documents d'accompagnement (p. ex., les accords de transfert financier) décrivent comment les parties collaboreront au quotidien, interprétant la façon dont l'entente s'appliquera dans des situations réelles.

Pour qu'une entente fonctionne, toutes les parties – le gouvernement fédéral, les Autochtones et le gouvernement territorial – doivent combiner leurs efforts en fondant l'ensemble de leurs activités sur le rôle qui leur était destiné en vertu des ententes et des plans de mise en œuvre.

Bien qu'il faille atteindre des objectifs, des résultats et des jalons fixes une fois que l'on signe une entente sur des revendications territoriales ou l'autonomie gouvernementale, les efforts de mise en œuvre devraient se poursuivre au-delà des tâches prévues dans le plan de mise en œuvre et aboutir à une nouvelle dynamique de collaboration entre les Autochtones et les gouvernements en prévision de l'avenir.

Vous voulez en savoir plus?

Toutes les parties intéressées et touchées par la mise en œuvre des revendications territoriales – bénéficiaires, gouvernements et autres – ont la responsabilité de connaître les obligations et les droits en vertu des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales, les traités modernes du Canada et d'y donner suite. Voici quelques liens à des ressources qui pourront commencer à vous éclairer :

Négociations et ententes dans les T.N.-O.

Revendications et modifications et rapports Annuels

Direction des relations autochtones et territoriales, AADNC, région des T.N.-O.  
867-669-2602

Première nation des Tlicho (site Web non disponible en français)
867-392-3000

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (site Web non disponible en français)
867-777-2737

Conseil tribal des Gwich'in (site Web non disponible en français)
867-777-7900

Sahtu Secretariat (site Web non disponible en français)
867-589-4719

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (site Web non disponible en français)
867-873-7500