Regulatory Regime

The Northwest Territories is rich in resources — wildlife, water, minerals, oil and gas, and breathtaking landscapes — that have sustained its Aboriginal inhabitants and other Northerners for countless generations. These resources also contribute to Canada's wealth, and are an important part of Canada's national identity.

Protecting, managing and developing these resources require a strong partnership between Northerners, Aboriginal governments, the federal government and the territorial government. Here in the NWT, this partnership is known as the regulatory regime.

The regime is a network of resource management boards, governments and other organizations that are committed to serving the best interests of Northwest Territories residents and all of Canada.

How does AANDC participate in the protection of the environment and responsible resource development in the Northwest Territories?

AANDC is a participant in the regulatory regime, whose responsibilities vary, depending on the resource management area. As of April 1st 2014 under the Devolution Agreement, powers to make land and water resource management decisions under the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act have now been delegated from the federal Minister to the Government of the Northwest Territories.

The Inuvialuit Final Agreement also assigns the Department additional responsibilities such as appointing the three Canada members to the Environmental Impact Screening Committee and the Environmental Impact Review Board.

AANDC is also responsible for funding some NWT boards and institutions of public government.

In the Northwest Territories, the AANDC Board Relations Secretariat (BRS) supports good working relationships and partnerships with the territory's resource management boards by facilitating clear communication on matters of common interest, helping to resolve operational and interpretation, administering Ministerial board appointments and regional board funding arrangements, and providing advice and support to the boards.

What information is available?

In this section, you will find information on the following:

Régime de réglementation

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont riches en ressources, qu'il s'agisse des ressources fauniques, aquatiques, minérales, pétrolières et gazières ou qu'il s'agisse des paysages à couper le souffle, qui ont assuré la subsistance des résidants autochtones et des autres résidants du Nord depuis d'innombrables générations. Ces ressources contribuent en outre à la prospérité du Canada, et sont une composante importante de l'identité nationale.

La protection, la gestion et la mise en valeur de ces ressources exigent un partenariat solide entre les résidants du Nord, les gouvernements autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement territorial. Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ce partenariat porte le nom de régime de réglementation.

Ce régime est un réseau unique d'offices et de conseils de gestion des ressources, de gouvernements et d'autres organismes qui sont déterminés à servir les intérêts des résidants des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du reste du pays.

Comment AADNC participe-t-il à la protection de l'environnement et à la mise en valeur responsable des ressources dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest?

AADNC participe au régime de réglementation, dans le cadre duquel les responsabilités varient en fonction du domaine de gestion des ressources.

La Convention définitive des Inuvialuit confère elle aussi au Ministère des responsabilités additionnelles comme la nomination des trois membres représentant le gouvernement du Canada au sein du Comité d'étude des répercussions environnementales et de l'Office d'examen des répercussions environnementales.

AADNC est par ailleurs responsable du financement de certains offices et de certains organismes publics des T.N.-O.

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Secrétariat des relations avec les conseils et offices d'AADNC favorise des relations de travail et des partenariats positifs avec les conseils et les offices de gestion des ressources. À cette fin, il facilite une communication claire sur les questions d'intérêt commun, aide à résoudre les problèmes opérationnels et les problèmes d'interprétation, administre les affectations ministérielles aux conseils et offices ainsi que les arrangements de financement des conseils et offices régionaux et appuie et conseille les conseils et offices.

Renseignements

Vous trouverez dans cette section des renseignements sur les thèmes suivants :