Independent Peer Review Panel

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

During the evaluation of remediation options, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada brought together an Independent Peer Review Panel. This group reviewed and provided expert feedback on the Report on Arsenic Trioxide Management Alternatives   and the Giant Mine Remediation Plan 

At that time, the Panel consisted of nine recognized experts in the fields of geotechnology, mining, mineral processing and environmental engineering, toxicology, hydrogeology, risk assessment, and public health. Membership included specialists nominated by communities and the local public.

The project is now moving from conceptual design through preliminary design. It will then go into detailed design and ultimately construction. The Project Team has recognized a need to reconstitute such a Panel. The Panel will comprise subject matter experts in mining and/or human health and environment.

The Panel will examine the technical merits of designs being proposed, including, but not limited to, approaches, methods, technologies, plans, and any other technical detail involved in the design and execution of the project. The aim of the Panel is to ensure the design and implementation of the project follows industry best practices, provides good value to the Crown and is technically robust.

Comité indépendant d’évaluation par les pairs

Lors de l’évaluation des possibilités s’offrant pour l’assainissement, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada a mis sur pied un comité indépendant d’évaluation par les pairs. Ce comité a examiné le rapport sur les possibilités s’offrant pour la gestion du trioxyde de diarsenic   (site Web non disponible en français) ainsi que le plan d’assainissement de la mine Giant   (site Web non disponible en français), et a donné son avis d’expert sur ces documents.

À l’époque, le comité était constitué de neuf spécialistes reconnus dans les domaines de la géotechnologie, de l’exploitation minière, de la minéralurgie, du génie de l’environnement, de la toxicologie, de l’hydrogéologie, de l’évaluation des risques et de la santé humaine. Les membres du comité comprenaient des spécialistes nommés par les collectivités et la population locales.

Le projet a maintenant franchi l’étape de la définition du concept pour passer à celle de la conception préliminaire. Viendront ensuite la conception détaillée et, enfin, la mise en œuvre. L’équipe responsable du projet reconnaît que l’existence d’un tel comité est nécessaire. Le comité comptera des spécialistes de l’exploitation minière ainsi que de la santé humaine et de l’environnement.

Le comité examinera la valeur technique des conceptions proposées, y compris, sans exclure d’autres aspects, la valeur des approches, des méthodes, des technologies, des plans et de tout détail technique lié à la conception et à l’exécution du projet. Le comité a pour mission de s’assurer que la conception et la mise en œuvre du projet respectent les pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie, possèdent une bonne valeur pour la Couronne et sont valables, d’un point de vue technique.