Surface Remediation

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Once the Remediation Plan is implemented, the Giant Mine landscape will change drastically.

Buildings

The Remediation Plan calls for all buildings and infrastructure that no longer serve a purpose or function to be disposed of according to industry best-practices. There are approximately 100 buildings on the site, including those at the Giant Mine Townsite.

Abandoned houses at the Giant Mine townsite stand empty on the shore of Great Slave Lake.

Many of the buildings on the site contain hazardous materials that pose risks to site workers and the environment during building demolition. To protect human health and safety, as well as the environment, the buildings will be decontaminated prior to being torn down.

Any arsenic-contaminated materials will be removed and placed underground and frozen. Materials containing asbestos will also be removed and disposed of according to regulations.

Because of health and safety risks, some infrastructure work has already taken place. For instance, in spring 2012, the conveyor gallery was taken down. Also, the siding on the main headframe was also removed after it was no longer stable. Starting in the summer of 2013, the roaster complex will be taken down as it has deteriorated to the point where it poses unacceptable risks to the public and the environment.

Tailings

What are tailings?

Tailings are milled and finely crushed rock leftover after the process of separating the gold from the ore-bearing rock.

There are four ponds containing approximately 16 million tonnes of tailings covering about 95 hectares (the equivalent of 300 football fields). There is also a section of historic tailings located on the shores of Great Slave Lake.

One of the tailings ponds at Giant Mine stretches in front of five large tanks, part of the tailings reprocessing plant.

While the tailings on the shore of Great Slave Lake have already been contained, the cover will be reinforced to prevent any water erosion. The tailings contain moderate amounts of arsenic. They are subject to wind erosion when dry, and could also be directly taken up by animals looking for salt.

The remediation plan calls for the tailings and sludge areas to be covered with one layer of quarried rock and a second, top layer of fine-grained soil.

The objectives of the cover are to:

  1. prevent contact with the tailings by humans or animals;
  2. allow vegetation to establish;
  3. reduce water infiltration;
  4. allow for future recreational and/or traditional use; and
  5. eliminate airborne tailings fines on windy days.

Pits

There are eight open pits on the mine site, five of which are substantial in size. These will either be filled in or fenced off.

One of the pits sits on top of two of the chambers that contain arsenic trioxide waste. This pit will be partially filled to allow for the frozen block method to be implemented.

Contaminated material that is found on the surface will be placed in the pit and will be frozen along with the arsenic chambers. The pit will also be filled with waste rock, quarry rock or clean demolition debris. The entire backfilled area will then be covered and contoured with soil and re-vegetated.

There are also some quarries and borrow pits. These will be re-sloped for improved drainage and stability. This will reduce physical hazards and return the site to more natural conditions.

Contaminated soils and waste rock

Contaminated soils and waste rock around the mine will be removed. Contaminated soils are mainly found around the roaster and mill area, while there are approximately 12,000 tonnes of waste rock located around the site.

The contaminated soils and waste rock will be used to fill the pit that is above the arsenic trioxide chambers. This will facilitate the installation of the freezing system in that area.

The site will be cleaned up to at a minimum the Government of Northwest Territories industrial standard. That said, large sections of the site will meet higher standards and could be used for other purposes.

Travaux d'assainissement en surface

Les travaux d'assainissement changeront le paysage de façon considérable à la mine Giant.

Bâtiments

Selon le plan d'assainissement, les bâtiments et l'infrastructure qui n'ont plus d'utilité ou de fonction doivent être aliénés conformément aux pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie. On compte environ 100 bâtiments sur le site, dont ceux des quartiers d'habitation de la mine Giant.

Maisons abandonnées au site de la mine Giant sur la rive du Grand lac des Esclaves.

Nombre des bâtiments sur le site renferment des matériaux contaminés qui posent des risques pour les travailleurs sur place et pour l'environnement pendant la démolition. Afin de protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement et afin d'assurer la sécurité, les bâtiments seront décontaminés avant d'être démantelés.

Tout matériau contaminé par de l'arsenic devra être retiré, puis enfoui et congelé sous la surface du sol. Les matériaux contaminés par de l'amiante devront aussi être retirés et éliminés conformément à la réglementation.

Vu les risques pour la santé et la sécurité, certains travaux ont déjà été effectués sur l'infrastructure. Par exemple, au printemps 2012, la galerie du transporteur a été détruite. De plus, le parement du chevalement a été retiré puisqu'il n'était plus stable. Au début de l'été 2013, on entreprendra le démantèlement du complexe du four de grillage, car il est dans un état de détérioration tel qu'il pose des risques inacceptables pour le public et l'environnement.

Stériles

Que sont les stériles?

Les stériles sont les roches broyées et finement concassées qui sont abandonnées après le procédé de séparation de l'or et de la roche minéralisée.

On compte 4 bassins qui contiennent environ 16 millions de tonnes de stériles, et qui s'étendent sur environ 95 hectares (l'équivalent de 300 terrains de football). Il y a aussi un secteur où sont stockés d'anciens stériles sur les berges du Grand lac des Esclaves.

Un des bassins de résidus à la mine Giant s’étend devant cinq grands réservoirs, faisant partie de l’usine de retraitement des résidus.

Les stériles sur les berges du Grand lac des Esclaves sont déjà confinés, mais leur recouvrement sera renforcé afin de prévenir toute érosion par l'eau. Les stériles renferment des quantités modérées d'arsenic. Ils sont sujets à l'érosion par le vent lorsqu'ils sont secs, et pourraient aussi être ingérés directement par des animaux à la recherche de sel.

Le plan de remise en état prévoit le recouvrement des stériles et des boues au moyen d'une première couche de roches de carrière et d'une deuxième couche de sol à grain fin (couche supérieure).

Le recouvrement est destiné à :

  1. prévenir tout contact entre les stériles et les humains ou les animaux;
  2. permettre à la végétation de s'établir;
  3. réduire l'infiltration d'eau;
  4. permettre l'usage futur à des fins récréatives et traditionnelles;
  5. empêcher la mise en suspension de particules fines de stériles dans l'air les jours venteux.

Fosses

Le site minier compte huit fosses à ciel ouvert, dont cinq de grande taille. Elles seront soit remblayées, soit clôturées.

L'une des fosses se trouve au-dessus de l'une des chambres contenant des déchets de trioxyde de diarsenic. Elle sera partiellement remblayée avec des déblais, des roches de carrière ou des débris de démolition non contaminés. Toute la zone remblayée sera ensuite recouverte en entourée de terre et reverdie.

Il existe également des carrières et des lieux d'emprunt. Leur pente sera redessinée de manière à améliorer le drainage et la stabilité. Cela réduira les dangers physiques et rétablira des conditions plus naturelles sur le site.

Sols contaminés et déblais

On retirera les sols contaminés et les déblais du site. Les sols contaminés se trouvent principalement autour du four de grillage et dans le secteur du concentrateur. Quant aux déblais, on en compte environ 12 000 tonnes à divers endroits sur le site.

Les sols contaminés et les déblais seront utilisés pour remblayer la fosse située au-dessus des chambres renfermant du trioxyde de diarsenic. Cela facilitera l'installation du système de congélation à cet endroit.

Le site sera assaini de manière à répondre au moins aux normes industrielles fixées par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Cela dit, de vastes sections du site répondront à des normes plus strictes encore, et pourraient être utilisées à d'autres fins.