Protecting the North

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Government of Canada recognizes that not only is it important to remediate federal contaminated sites, it is also necessary to prevent them from occurring in the future.

Today, there is a suite of legislation protecting the North. It includes the NWT Waters Act   , the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act    and the Territorial Lands Regulations. Pollution prevention and "polluter pays" are also two key elements underlying the principles of the Contaminated Sites Management Policy.

As well, because of the importance of mining to the NWT, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada also instituted the Mine Site Reclamation Policy (MSRP) for the NWT, which reflects the Government of Canada's commitment to ensure that new mining operations do not leave a legacy of environmental and human health hazards or a financial liability for the Canadian taxpayer.

Technologies associated with mine site remediation are continually improving, as are mining practices. For example, most mining operations now incorporate progressive remediation. This is a "clean up as you go" approach, which has become a standard operating procedure for mining in the North. This efficient, effective approach is in everyone's best interests. The Mine Site Reclamation Policy reflects this approach.

Date modified:

Protection du Nord

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu’il importe non seulement de nettoyer les sites contaminés fédéraux, mais aussi d’empêcher qu’il y en ait dans l’avenir.

Toute une législation protège actuellement le Nord : la Loi sur les eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest , la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie    et le Règlement sur les terres territoriales . En outre, la prévention de la pollution et le principe du « pollueur payeur » sont deux éléments clés qui étayent les principes de la Politique de gestion des sites contaminés.

Comme l’exploitation minière est importante dans les T.N-O., Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada a aussi mis en vigueur la Politique de remise en état des sites miniers des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, qui correspond à l’engagement du gouvernement canadien de veiller à ce que les nouvelles exploitations minières ne laissent pas en héritage des dangers pour l’environnement et la santé humaine ni un fardeau financier pour le contribuable canadien.

Les technologies associées à l’assainissement des sites miniers s’améliorent constamment, tout comme les pratiques minières. Par exemple, la plupart des opérations minières intègrent maintenant des mesures d’assainissement progressif. Cette approche consistant à assainir au fur et à mesure de l’exploitation fait maintenant partie de la procédure d’exploitation courante des mines du Nord. Cette approche efficace et efficiente est finalement profitable pour tous. La Politique de remise en état des sites miniers correspond à cette approche.

Date de modification :