How INAC Addresses Contaminated Sites

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is committed to communicating with NWT residents regarding the remediation of contaminated sites, and providing economic opportunities for Northerners wherever possible.

How does the department carry out contaminated site remediation in the Northwest Territories?

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada NWT Region's Contaminants and Remediation Division (CARD) recognizes the importance of contaminated site remediation and future contaminated site prevention. CARD currently manages nearly 100 contaminated sites in the NWT, at various stages of remediation. Many of these sites became the Government of Canada's responsibility after private owners relinquished their properties according to the legislation of the day, or when companies went bankrupt. The properties then reverted to the Crown, and as representative of the Crown, the department became custodian of these properties and related remediation activities.

To guide its contaminated sites remediation and prevention efforts, the department created the Contaminated Sites Management Policy in 2002. The implementation of this policy contributes to a safer, healthier, sustainable environment for First Nations, Inuit, and Northerners by striving to preserve and enhance the ecological integrity of the Northern environment.

What information is available?

In this section you will find information related to protecting the north, contaminants in the northern environment, and how Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada fosters participation and engagement in NWT remediation projects, including doing business in the NWT for contaminated sites remediation.

You may also be interested in information about contaminated sites in the NWT, which includes descriptions of some contaminants and hazards commonly found at the sites and summaries of current remediation activities.

Information about the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan is available here.

Date modified:

Nettoyage des sites contaminés

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) s'engage à communiquer aux résidants des Territoires du Nord-Ouest des renseignements sur l'assainissement des sites contaminés et, dans la mesure du possible, à offrir des possibilités économiques aux résidants du Nord.

Comment le ministère procède-t-il à l'assainissement des sites contaminés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest?

La Division des polluants et de l'assainissement (DPA) de la Région des T.N.-O. du ministère reconnaît l'importance de l'assainissement des sites contaminés et des efforts visant à prévenir la contamination d'autres sites. Dans les T.N.-O., la DPA gère actuellement 100 sites contaminés, qui en sont à diverses étapes d'assainissement. Nombre de ces sites sont passés sous la responsabilité du gouvernement du Canada quand des exploitants privés se sont départis de leurs propriétés, conformément à la législation de l'époque, ou quand des entreprises ont déclaré faillite. Les propriétés ont été retournées à l'État, et le ministère, en qualité de représentant de l'État, en a assumé la garde ainsi que la responsabilité des activités d'assainissement s'y rattachant.

En 2002, le ministère a créé la Politique sur la gestion des sites contaminés   en vue d'orienter ses efforts d'assainissement et de prévention relatifs aux sites contaminés. La mise en application de la politique contribue à rendre l'environnement des Premières nations, des Inuits et des résidants du Nord plus sûr, plus sain et plus durable en s'efforçant de préserver et d'accroître l'intégrité écologique de l'environnement du Nord.

Renseignements

Dans cette section, vous trouverez des renseignements sur les sites contaminés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ainsi que sur les projets actuellement mis en œuvre par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada et ses partenaires pour assainir ces sites.

Vous trouverez également de l'information sur le processus d'assainissement des sites contaminés et des descriptions de certains contaminants et dangers qui y souvent observés.

Par ailleurs, vous pourrez consulter des résumés des activités d'assainissement en cours, de même que des renseignements sur le Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux   et sur les occasions d'affaires dans les T.N.-O. liées à l'assainissement des sites contaminés.

Date de modification :