Education

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) NT Region supports the education of Aboriginal peoples through a variety of First Nation and Inuit programs and services, and provides a number of educational resources to all Northerners.

How does CIRNAC help support education, and provide educational resources, in the Northwest Territories?

CIRNAC is committed to increasing the number of registered/treaty Indian and Inuit students living on and off reserve who graduate from accredited post-secondary education programs through various education-related programs, such as the University and College Entrance Preparation Program (UCEP). This program provides funding for registered Indian and Inuit individuals to enroll in post-secondary courses that will prepare them to enter a college or university program.

In order to continue to build and develop healthy, sustainable Northern communities and achieve economic and social development in the NWT, CIRNAC is committed to helping people understand its mandate. Through the PlainTalk: on land claims and self-government in the Northwest Territories newsletter, CIRNAC NT Region communicates the positive outcomes and impacts of NWT land and self-government agreements as they relate to the economic development and the quality of life of Aboriginal people and Northerners.

Highlights

PlainTalk: on land claims and self-government in the Northwest Territories increases understanding and support for NWT land claim and self-government negotiation progress, settlements, and milestones through its plain language of such complex topics. PlainTalk has informed Northerners since 2000! All current and archived PlainTalk newsletters are available on the CIRNAC website.

What Information is Available?

In this section you will find more information on education programs supported by CIRNAC, such as UCEP and PlainTalk.

Past issues of PlainTalk have covered such topics as the Tlicho Agreement, improving land and resource management in the NWT, and the Mackenzie Gas Project.

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Éducation

La Région des T.N.-O. d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) appuie l'éducation des Autochtones par l'entremise de divers programmes et services destinés aux Premières nations et aux Inuits et fournit de nombreuses ressources pédagogiques aux résidants du Nord.

Que fait AADNC pour appuyer l'éducation dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et pour fournir des ressources pédagogiques?

AADNC s'engage à augmenter le nombre d'étudiants indiens inscrits ou visés par un traité et d'étudiants inuits vivant dans une réserve ou hors réserve qui terminent avec succès des programmes d'études postsecondaires reconnus grâce à divers programmes éducatifs comme le Programme préparatoire à l'entrée au collège et à l'université (PPECU). Ce programme offre du financement aux Indiens inscrits et aux Inuits qui suivent des cours postsecondaires en vue de leur inscription à un programme collégial ou universitaire.

Pour continuer d'édifier des collectivités du Nord viables et en santé, et de les renforcer, ainsi que de favoriser le développement économique et social des T.N.-O, AADNC s'engage à aider les parties intéressées à comprendre son mandat. Par l'entremise du bulletin Franc parler sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Région des T.N.-O. d'AADNC fournit de l'information sur les résultats positifs découlant des ententes relatives au territoire et à l'autonomie gouvernementale et sur l'incidence de ces ententes sur le développement économique et la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des résidants du Nord.

Faits saillants

En utilisant un langage simple pour aborder des questions complexes, le bulletin Franc parler sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest vise à accroître le niveau de connaissance et de soutien en ce qui concerne les progrès accomplis, les ententes et les jalons notables dans les négociations relatives au territoire et à l'autonomie gouvernementale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Franc parler est une source précieuse d'information pour les résidants du Nord depuis 2000! Le site Web d'AADNC contient tous les bulletins récents et archivés de Franc parler.

Renseignements

Dans cette section, vous trouverez des renseignements supplémentaires sur les programmes éducatifs auxquels AADNC donne son appui, comme le PPECU et sur Franc parler.

Les anciens numéros de Franc parler ont abordé des sujets comme l'Accord des Tlicho, l'amélioration de la gestion des terres et des ressources dans les T.N.-O. et le projet gazier du Mackenzie.

Autres liens d'intérêt :