Negotiations and Agreements

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is committed to negotiating land, resource and self-government agreements in the Northwest Territories. AANDC supports the implementation of existing land, resource and self-government agreements, as well as the on-going political development of the Northwest Territories. AANDC also plays an important role on a range of other intergovernmental matters.

What is AANDC doing to conclude agreements with Aboriginal groups and the Government of the Northwest Territories and to move the political development of the territory forward?

Through negotiation, AANDC is working to settle outstanding land, resource and self-government claims, and to support the establishment of self-governing communities and regions in the Northwest Territories. The Department also supports governance capacity-building initiatives with its Aboriginal partners, advises on the political, social and economic development of the NWT, and provides administrative support for political development processes, including devolution negotiations.

Highlights

On August 25, 2003, representatives of the Dogrib Treaty 11 Council, the Government of the Northwest Territories, and the Government of Canada signed the Tlicho Agreement. The Tlicho Agreement is the first combined land claim and self-government agreement of its kind in the Northwest Territories. The Agreement creates the largest single block of First Nation-owned land in Canada, and provides new systems of self-government for the Tlicho people. Through this agreement, the Tlicho now have the tools and law-making powers to protect and promote their culture and way of life. They are also able to make decisions related to the economic growth and the overall well-being of their communities.

What Information is Available?

In this section you will find information on current land, resource and self-government negotiations in the Northwest Territories, as well as existing agreements and how they are being implemented.

As well, take a look at the NWT PlainTalk: On Land and Self-Government and Plain Facts on Land and Self Government publications for more information on the various NWT land and governance negotiation processes and milestones.

MAP - NWT Land Information Related to Aboriginal Groups, a reference tool intended to help representatives from governments, Aboriginal organizations, industry, regulatory bodies, as well as any other interested parties, understand Aboriginal rights and related interests in the NWT. It includes the boundaries and delineations of settled comprehensive claims; ongoing land, resource and self-government negotiations; assertions by Aboriginal groups; and parks and protected areas.

Négociations et ententes

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est résolu à négocier des ententes relatives aux terres, aux ressources et à l’autonomie gouvernementale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. AADNC soutient l’application des ententes existantes dans le domaine des terres, des ressources et de l’autonomie gouvernementale, de même que le développement politique continu des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. AADNC joue par ailleurs un rôle important dans une gamme d’autres questions intergouvernementales.

Que fait AADNC pour conclure des ententes avec des groupes autochtones et le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et pour favoriser le développement politique du territoire?

Par des négociations, AADNC vise le règlement des revendications en suspens liées aux terres, aux ressources et à l’autonomie gouvernementale, et soutient l’établissement de collectivités et de régions autonomes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le Ministère soutient également les initiatives de renforcement des capacités de gouvernance avec ses partenaires autochtones, prodigue des conseils sur le développement politique, social et économique des T.N.-O, et fournit un soutien administratif aux processus de développement politique, notamment aux négociations relatives au transfert des responsabilités.

Faits saillants

Le 25 août 2003, des représentants du Conseil des Dogribs visés par le Traité no 11, du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du gouvernement du Canada ont signé l’Accord tlicho. Il s’agit du premier accord combinant l’autonomie gouvernementale et les revendications territoriales conclu dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il crée le plus grand bloc de terres appartenant à une Première nation au Canada et accorde aux Tlicho un nouveau régime d’autonomie gouvernementale. Grâce à l’accord, les Tlicho possèdent dorénavant les outils et les pouvoirs législatifs qu’il leur faut pour protéger et promouvoir leur culture et leur mode de vie. En outre, ils sont en mesure de prendre des décisions afin d’améliorer la croissance économique et le bien-être de leurs collectivités.

Renseignements

Dans cette section, vous trouverez des renseignements sur les négociations en cours visant des terres, des ressources ou l'autonomie gouvernementale dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de même que sur les ententes existantes et la manière dont elles sont appliquées.

Vous pouvez consulter le bulletin T.N.-O. Franc parler - Territoire et autonomie gouvernementale et T.N.-O. Faits au point - Territoire et autonomie gouvernementale pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les divers processus et jalons des négociations visant les terres et l'autonomie gouvernementale dans les T.N.-O.

CARTE - Information géographique liée aux groups autochtones dans les T.N.-O. La carte constitue un outil de référence conçu pour aider les représentants des gouvernements, des organisations autochtones, de l’industrie et des organismes de réglementation, ainsi que toute autre partie intéressée, à comprendre les droits des peuples autochtones et les intérêts connexes dans les T.N.-O. Elle montre les limites établies dans le cadre des ententes de règlement de revendications territoriales, le tracé des limites des régions faisant l’objet de négociations relatives aux terres, aux ressources et à l’autonomie gouvernementale et des régions revendiquées par des groupes autochtones, ainsi que les parcs et les zones protégées.