Consultation and Public Information

Given the complexity of the issues and the importance of treaty-making to all British Columbians, consultation and public information are central to the negotiations. Canada, BC and First Nations have committed to openness in negotiations and to consulting third parties whose interests may be affected.

Public information activities are generally tied to developments at the negotiating table. Activities include open houses, communiqués with the media, information hand-outs, and open negotiation sessions.

Consultation ensures third-party concerns are heard, understood and represented by negotiators. At the province-wide level, Canada meets periodically with the Province-wide Treaty Advisory Group (PTAG). The members of this group represent major industry, business, environmental, labour, municipal government and social organizations whose interests may be affected by treaties.

At the regional or table level, most consultation is conducted on a sectoral basis. Governments actively seek third-party advice and input as needed on matters that may affect those interests.

Consultations et Information Publique

Étant donné la complexité des enjeux abordés et l'importance que revêt la conclusion des traités pour tous les habitants de la province, les consultations et l'information publique sont au cœur des négociations. Le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et les Premières nations se sont engagés à négocier avec transparence et à consulter les autres intervenants pouvant être touchés par les traités.

Des activités d'information du public sont généralement organisées en lien avec les progrès aux tables de négociation. Elles peuvent comprendre des journées portes ouvertes, des communiqués pour les médias, des dépliants d'information et des séances de négociation ouvertes à tous, appelées tables principales.

Les consultations permettent aux négociateurs de prendre connaissance des préoccupations de tierces parties, de mieux les comprendre et d'en tenir compte. À l'échelle provinciale, les représentants du gouvernement fédéral rencontrent de temps à autre les membres du Groupe consultatif panprovincial sur les traités. Ces derniers représentent les principaux organismes industriels, commerciaux, environnementaux, syndicaux, municipaux et sociaux qui risquent d'être touchés par les traités.

À l'échelle des régions ou de chaque table de négociation, la plupart des consultations sont effectuées sur une base sectorielle. Les gouvernements cherchent activement à obtenir l'avis et les commentaires de divers intervenants, au besoin, sur les sujets qui risquent de les intéresser.