Maa-nulth Final Agreement: Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

PDF Version  
(1,599 Kb, 4 Pages)

 


The Maa-nulth Final Agreement was negotiated by the Government of Canada, the Government of British Columbia and the Maa-nulth First Nations. The five Maa-nulth First Nations are Ucluelet First Nation, Huu-ay-aht First Nations, Toquaht Nation, Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' First Nations, and Uchucklesaht Tribe, all located on the west coast of Vancouver Island. The Maa-nulth First Nations represent about 2,000 people. Maa-nulth means “villages along the coast” in the Nuu-chah-nulth language.

The Maa-nulth Final Agreement is among the first Final Agreements reached in the province under the British Columbia treaty process. The Final Agreement sets out each Maa-nulth First Nation's rights and benefits respecting land and resources, and self-government over its lands and resources and its citizens. The Final Agreement provides certainty for all parties with respect to ownership and management of lands and resources and the exercise of federal, provincial and Maa-nulth First Nation governmental powers and authorities.

The negotiation of a Final Agreement marks Stage Five of the six-stage British Columbia treaty process, and is the conclusion of substantive treaty negotiations. Once ratified by all parties, the Final Agreement will become a treaty through legislation. It will be a constitutionally-protected legal agreement which creates mutually binding obligations and commitments.

Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

The Final Agreement treaty settlement land package consists of approximately 24,550 hectares of fee-simple treaty settlement land, known as Maa-nulth First Nation Lands. Each Maa-nulth First Nation government will have law-making authority over its Maa-nulth First Nation Lands, although federal and provincial laws will continue to apply. The Final Agreement clearly sets out which law will prevail if there is a conflict.

Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

Huu-ay-aht First Nations:1,077 hectares of former reserves and 7,181 hectares of additional lands

Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' First Nations:379 hectares of former reserves and 5,920 hectares of additional lands

Toquaht Nation:196 hectares of former reserves and 1,293 hectares of additional lands

Uchucklesaht Tribe: 233 hectares of former reserves and 2,834 hectares of additional lands

Ucluelet First Nation: 199 hectares of former reserves, 5,147 hectares of additional lands, and a further 92 hectares of land acquired by Canada and British Columbia.

Treaty settlement lands will be transferred to the Maa-nulth First Nations as of the effective date of the treaty. Each Maa-nulth First Nation may then apply to have its lands registered in the provincial land title system. This arrangement will provide greater flexibility and efficiency, and allow the Maa-nulth First Nations to use their lands to raise capital.

The Ucluelet First Nation will also own, as private fee-simple lands, eight surplus federal government lots in the District of Ucluelet. These are not Maa-nulth First Nation Lands, and therefore the Ucluelet First Nation government will not have law-making authority over them; ownership will be the same as for any other private land owner in British Columbia.

While all parties agree that as a general principle Maa-nulth First Nation Lands will not be subject to expropriation, the Final Agreement contains processes whereby either Canada or British Columbia may expropriate Maa-nulth First Nation Lands.

This map shows the geographic location of Maa-nulth First Nations Areas and the Maa-nulth First Nations Lands, near Barkley Sound

This map shows the geographic location of Maa-nulth First Nations Areas and the Maa-nulth First Nations Lands, near Kyuquot Sound

Additions to Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

Each Maa-nulth First Nation has identified parcels of fee-simple land it may acquire after the effective date of the treaty. The Final Agreement includes provisions that will allow for these parcels to be declared as Maa-nulth First Nation Lands if they are purchased within 15 years after the effective date.

In addition, each Maa-nulth First Nation may add other fee-simple land to its Maa-nulth First Nation Lands, subject to the agreement of Canada and British Columbia and to the consent of the municipality if the lands are within municipal boundaries.

Resources on Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

Each Maa-nulth First Nation will own and manage all forest resources on its Maa-nulth First Nation Lands, and will own most of the subsurface resources on or beneath the surface of those lands. Each Maa-nulth First Nation will be able to determine and collect any fees for the development or extraction of these resources. Those submerged lands which were part of former reserves form part of the Maa-nulth First Nations Lands for the applicable Maa-nulth First Nation.

Access

Federal and provincial personnel will have access to Maa-nulth First Nation Lands to carry out requirements under federal and provincial law.

The Final Agreement provides for reasonable public access for hiking, canoeing and other recreational activities on Maa-nulth First Nation Lands. While the general public may hunt and fish on Maa-nulth First Nation Lands, each Maa-nulth First Nation can regulate access for these activities. There are provisions to ensure public access for rights-of-way and navigable waters, and specific access for owners of adjacent fee-simple parcels and tenure-holders. Public provincial highways and major roads will continue to be owned and maintained by the province. Specified public utility rights-of-way will continue on Maa-nulth First Nation Lands.

Leases and licences on Maa-nulth First Nation Lands

Some tenures will continue in their present form after the effective date, whereas other tenures will be replaced with other forms of tenure negotiated by the parties.

Commercial recreation tenure

On or before the effective date of the treaty, British Columbia will designate up to 12 hectares of provincial Crown land for each Maa-nulth First Nation under the Land Act, for a term of at least 15 years, for the purpose of providing the applicable Maa-nulth First Nation an opportunity to apply for commercial recreation tenure.

Maa-nulth First Nations and the neighbouring community

Under the Final Agreement, each Maa-nulth First Nation government may participate in regional governments established under provincial law to ensure local planning and efficiencies in the delivery of local services. No later than 10 years after the effective date of the treaty, the Huu-ay-aht First Nations, Uchucklesaht Tribe, Ucluelet First Nation and Toquaht Nation may each appoint one director to the board of the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, and the Ka'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k:tles7et'h' First Nations may appoint one director to the board of the Regional District of Comox-Strathcona.


If you would like more information about the Maa-nulth Final Agreement, contact:

Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada BC Region
600-1138 Melville St.
Vancouver, BC V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@inac.gc.ca
British Columbia
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation  
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca

Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth: Terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

format PDF  
(1 583 Ko, 4 pages)

 


L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth a été négociée par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et les cinq Premières nations Maa-nulth, c'est-à-dire la Première nation Ucluelet, les Premières nations Huu-ay-aht, la Première nation Toquaht, les Premières nations Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' et la tribu Uchucklesaht. Les Premières nations Maa-nulth, qui regroupent environ 2 000 membres, vivent toutes sur la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Dans la langue nuu-chah-nulth, Maa-nulth signifie « villages situés le long de la côte ».

L'Entente définitive avec les Premières nations Maa-nulth est l'une des premières à être conclues dans la province dans le cadre du processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle procure des droits et des avantages à chaque Première nation Maa-nulth relativement aux terres et aux ressources, ainsi que l'autonomie gouvernementale sur leurs terres, leurs ressources et leurs citoyens. De plus, elle offre une certitude à toutes les parties en ce qui concerne la propriété et la gestion des terres et des ressources ainsi que l'exercice des pouvoirs par le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et les gouvernement des Premières nations Maa-nulth.

La négociation d'une entente définitive constitue la cinquième de six étapes dans le processus de négociation de traités de la Colombie-Britannique et marque la fin des négociations de fond. Une fois ratifiée par toutes les parties, l'entente devient un traité par voie législative, c'est-à-dire une entente légale, protégée par la Constitution, et assortie d'obligations et d'engagements liant toutes les parties.

Terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

L'Entente définitive prévoit le transfert d'environ 24 550 hectares de terres détenues en fief simple avec règlement conventionnel visées par le traité, appelées « terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth ». Le gouvernement de chaque Première nation Maa-nulth aura le pouvoir de faire des lois concernant les terres qui lui appartiennent, mais les lois fédérales et provinciales continueront de s'appliquer. L'Entente définitive énonce clairement quelle loi prévaudra en cas de conflit.

Terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

Premières nations Huu-ay-aht : 1 077 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve et 7 181 hectares de terres additionnelles.

Premières nations Ka:'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k'tles7et'h' : 379 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve et 5 920 hectares de terres additionnelles.

Première nation Toquaht : 196 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve et 1 293 hectares de terres additionnelles.

Tribu Uchucklesaht : 233 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve et 2 834 hectares de terres additionnelles.

Première nation Ucluelet : 199 hectares d'anciennes terres de réserve et 5 145 hectares de terres additionnelles.

Les terres visées par le traité seront transférées aux Premières nations Maa-nulth à la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité, après quoi chaque Première nation Maa-nulth pourra demander l'ajout de ses terres au régime provincial d'enregistrement des titres fonciers. Les Premières nations Maa-nulth disposeront ainsi d'une souplesse et d'une efficience accrues et seront en mesure d'utiliser leurs terres pour réunir des capitaux.

Les Premières nations Ucluelet détiendront en fief simple privé, huit lots gouvernementaux en surplus dans le district d'Ucluelet. Ces lots ne sont pas des territoires des Premières Nations Maa-nulth et donc le gouvernement des Premières nations Ucluelet n'aura pas d'autorité sur la confection des lois. Les droits de propriétés y seront les mêmes que pour tout autre terrains privés en Columbie-Britannique.

Bien que les parties s'entendent en principe pour éviter l'expropriation des terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth, l'Entente définitive prévoit des processus qui autorisent le Canada ou la Colombie-Britannique à appliquer une telle mesure.

Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique et les terres de la Première nation Maa-nulth près du détroit de Barkley

Cette carte montre l'emplacement géographique et les terres de la Première nation Maa-nulth près du détroit de Kyuquot

Ajouts aux terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

Chaque Première nation Maa-nulth a repéré des parcelles de terres détenues en fief simple qu'elle aimerait acquérir après l'entrée en vigueur du traité. L'Entente définitive contient des dispositions qui permettront d'ajouter ces terres aux terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth si elles sont achetées dans les 15 années suivant l'entrée en vigueur du traité.

De plus, chaque Première nation Maa-nulth peut ajouter des terres acquises en fief simple aux terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth sous réserve d'une entente conclue avec le Canada et la Colombie­-Britannique, et avec le consentement de la municipalité touchée si les terres achetées sont situées à l'intérieur des limites municipales.

Ressources situées sur les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

Toutes les ressources forestières qui se trouvent sur les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth appartiendront aux Premières nations Maa-nulth et seront administrées par elles. Chaque Première nation Maa-nulth sera également propriétaire de la plupart des ressources tréfoncières superficielles et souterraines de ces terres et pourra fixer et percevoir des droits pour la mise en valeur ou l'extraction de ses ressources. Les terres submergées qui faisaient partie des anciennes réserves sont inclues dans les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth et appartiennent à la Première nation Maa-nulth qui détient le titre foncier.

Accès

Les employés fédéraux et provinciaux auront accès aux terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth pour s'acquitter des obligations prévues par les lois fédérales et provinciales.

L'Entente définitive prévoit un accès public raisonnable pour la randonnée, le canotage et d'autres activités récréatives sur les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth. Même si le grand public pourra chasser et pêcher sur les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth, chaque Première nation Maa-nulth aura le pouvoir de réglementer l'accès à ces activités. Des dispositions assureront l'accès du public aux droits de passage et aux eaux navigables et garantiront un accès particulier aux propriétaires qui détiennent des parcelles de terres adjacentes en fief simple ainsi qu'aux détenteurs de tenures. Les routes publiques provinciales et les routes principales demeureront la propriété de la province, qui en assurera l'entretien. On maintiendra l'accès à certains droits de passage nécessaires à la prestation de services publics.

Baux et permis sur les terres des Premières nations Maa-nulth

Certaines formes de tenure seront maintenues telles quelles après l'entrée en vigueur du traité alors que d'autres seront remplacées par un nouveau régime négocié par les parties.

Tenure récréative commerciale

À la date d'entrée en vigueur du traité ou avant, la Colombie-Britannique assignera à chaque Première nation Maa-nulth, en vertu de la Land Act, jusqu'à 12 hectares de terres appartenant à la Couronne provinciale pour une durée minimale de 15 ans, pour leur donner l'occasion de présenter une demande de tenure récréative commerciale.

Les Premières nations Maa-nulth et la communauté avoisinante

L'Entente définitive autorise le gouvernement de chaque Première nation Maa-nulth à se joindre aux administrations régionales constituées en vertu d'une loi provinciale pour participer aux activités locales de planification et pour garantir la prestation efficace des services locaux. Au plus tard 10 ans après l'entrée en vigueur du traité, la Première nation Huu-ay-aht, la tribu Uchucklesaht, la Première nation Ucluelet et la nation Toquaht pourront chacune nommer un directeur au conseil du district régional d'Alberni-Clayoquot, et les Premières nations Ka'yu:'k't'h'/Che:k:tles7et'h' pourront nommer un directeur au conseil du district régional de Comox-Strathcona.



 
Canada
British Columbia
Canada
Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canada Region de la C.-B.
1138 rue Melville, bureau 600
Vancouver, (C.-B.) V6E 4S3
1-800-567-9604
infopubs@ainc-inac.gc.ca
Colombie-Britannique
Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation   (site web non disponible en français)
PO Box 9100 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BC V8W 9B1
1-800-880-1022
ABRInfo@gov.bc.ca