Self-Government

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Why self-government?

Widely recognized as the key that will enable First Nations to take control of their lives free of the restrictions of the Indian Act, self-government is a critical element of modern treaty-making. The signing of a treaty means that the Indian Act will no longer apply to the First Nation except to determine who is entitled to Indian status under the Act.

The Government of Canada recognizes the inherent right of self-government as an existing Aboriginal right under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. After treaties, First Nations will have decision-making authority — the jurisdiction to develop their lands and generate their own revenues, and enhanced opportunities to improve the quality of life of their community members and become more economically self-reliant.

How self-government works

Self-government provisions of a treaty are negotiated with the federal and provincial governments. These provisions can include the First Nation's control over its own institutions, such as education and health care, and the authorities to manage treaty settlement lands and resources.

The exercise of powers that rest with the First Nation will be appropriate for its circumstances. The First Nation may enter into new agreements with other levels of government and take part in regional planning activities involving its claimed traditional territories.

As part of the transition to self-government, each First Nation will develop a constitution that establishes the legal framework for how the First Nation will organize itself. The constitution must be established before the treaty takes effect.

Laws

Treaties will spell out how the First Nation's government will work with other levels of government. For example, a treaty might give the First Nation the right to make and enforce certain types of laws on treaty settlement land, alongside federal and provincial laws.

Treaties will also set out which law prevails for each area of governance, in the event that there is a conflict between a First Nation law and a federal or provincial law. While all federal and provincial laws will continue to apply, in some cases it will be the First Nation's law that prevails if there is a conflict. In other areas, including laws related to health and safety, the criminal code, human rights and the environment, federal and provincial laws will prevail.

Non-Aboriginal leaseholders

The federal government acts on the principle that people who are not members of the First Nation but live on First Nation lands should be included in the decisions that affect their interests as leaseholders, but not at the expense of the First Nation's control over the governance of its own community. To that end, treaties will ensure that non-members have a say in issues that affect them, such as service levels, taxation rates, and health, school and other boards. Treaties may stipulate that non-members have voting or candidacy rights, or recommend the establishment of advisory committees or consultation processes. Non-members must also have rights to appeal First Nation government decisions that affect them.

The Charter of Rights and Freedoms will apply to all First Nations governments, as it does to other governments in Canada. Any First Nation member, or non-member residing on First Nation lands, will have the right to challenge the operation of a First Nation government if that person believes that his or her rights as a Canadian citizen are not recognized or respected.

Autonomie gouvernementale

Quelle est la raison d'être de l'autonomie gouvernementale?

Généralement reconnue comme la clé qui permettra aux Premières nations de prendre en charge leur vie sans être assujetties aux restrictions de la Loi sur les Indiens, l'autonomie gouvernementale est un aspect crucial de la conclusion des traités d'aujourd'hui. La conclusion d'un traité signifie que la Loi sur les Indiens ne s'appliquera plus à la Première nation, sauf pour déterminer qui a droit au statut d'indien en vertu de la Loi.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que le droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale est un droit ancestral existant au sens de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. Une fois les traités conclus, les Premières nations jouiront de pouvoirs décisionnels – la compétence requise pour exploiter leurs terres et générer leurs propres recettes, ainsi que de meilleures chances d'améliorer la qualité de vie des membres de leur collectivité et d'assurer leur autonomie économique.

Fonctionnement de l'autonomie gouvernementale

Les dispositions en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale que comporte un traité sont négociées avec les gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Elles peuvent traiter du contrôle qu'exerce la Première nation sur les institutions qui lui sont propres, comme l'éducation et les soins de santé, de même que des pouvoirs nécessaires pour gérer les terres et les ressources cédées en vertu du traité.

L'exercice des pouvoirs conférés à la Première nation se fera en fonction de la situation de cette dernière. La Première nation pourra conclure de nouvelles ententes avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement et prendre part aux activités de planification régionales qui concernent les territoires traditionnels qu'elle a revendiqués.

Dans le cadre de la transition au régime d'autonomie gouvernementale, chaque Première nation établira une constitution qui créera le cadre juridique régissant leur organisation. Cette constitution doit être établie avant que le traité entre en vigueur.

Lois

Les traités énonceront de quelle façon le gouvernement de la Première nation travaillera avec les autres ordres de gouvernement. Par exemple, un traité pourrait conférer à la Première nation le droit d'élaborer et d'appliquer certains types de lois sur les terres visées par le règlement des traités, parallèlement aux lois fédérales et provinciales applicables.

Les traités préciseront les lois qui auront préséance pour chaque secteur d'administration, advenant un conflit entre une loi de la Première nation et une loi fédérale ou provinciale. Toutes les lois fédérales et provinciales continueront de s'appliquer, mais dans certains cas ce sera celle de la Première nation qui aura préséance en cas de conflit. Dans d'autres secteurs, dont la santé et la sécurité, le Code criminel, les droits de la personne et l'environnement, ce sont les lois fédérales et provinciales qui l'emporteront.

Tenants à bail non autochtones

Le gouvernement fédéral agit selon le principe suivant : les personnes qui ne sont pas membres de la Première nation mais qui vivent sur ses terres doivent être incluses dans les décisions qui touchent leurs intérêts à titre de tenants à bail, mais pas au détriment du contrôle qu'exerce la Première nation sur l'administration de sa propre collectivité. À cette fin, les traités veilleront à ce que les non-membres aient leur mot à dire au sujet des aspects qui les touchent, comme les niveaux de service, les taux de taxation, les conseils scolaires, et les services de santé et de police. Les traités peuvent prescrire que les non-membres jouissent du droit de voter ou de présenter leur candidature, ou recommander l'établissement de comités consultatifs ou de processus de consultation. Les non-membres doivent aussi avoir le droit de porter en appel les décisions du gouvernement de la Première nation qui les touchent.

La Charte des droits et libertés s'appliquera aux gouvernements des Premières nations, de la même manière qu'elle s'applique aux autres gouvernements au Canada. Tous les membres d'une Première nation, ou tous les non-membres résidant sur les terres d'une Première nation, auront le droit de contester le fonctionnement du gouvernement de la Première nation s'ils croient que leurs droits en tant que citoyens canadiens ne sont pas reconnus ou respectés.