Land

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Treaty settlement lands

An essential part of any treaty, land provides a sustainable base for community development and economic activity. First Nations negotiate with the governments of Canada and BC to acquire ownership of lands that will become treaty settlement lands - lands over which First Nations will have law-making authority. Crown land owned by either government is generally used for treaty settlements. Privately-owned land isonly provided as treaty settlement land if it is first purchased, on a willing buyer-willing seller basis, by Canada, BC, or the First Nation.

The treaty will clearly set out the amount of settlement lands included in the treaty as well as the scope of the First Nation government's law-making powers on those lands.

Additions to treaty settlement lands

Treaties may contain provisions stating that First Nations may purchase fee simple lands after the treaty is signed, and if certain conditions are met, then seek the approval of Canada and BC to have these lands added to treaty settlement lands. If this land is added to treaty settlement lands, the First Nation will have law-making authority over it. If the land is not added to treaty settlement lands, the land will be owned by the First Nation but remain under the existing jurisdiction.

First Nations and municipalities

The treaty will set out how the First Nation government will co-exist with other levels of government, including municipalities. The First Nation and municipalities will work together on land planning and other issues of common concern.

It is expected that all occupants on treaty settlement lands will pay property taxes to, and receive services from, the First Nation government. As the municipality will no longer be responsible for providing services to treaty settlement lands, it will no longer collect taxes for that land.

Where necessary, servicing agreements will be established with neighbouring governments for the provision of basic services to treaty settlement lands. As well, transitional arrangements will be established between the First Nation and municipality regarding the use of municipal infrastructure for the delivery of services.

Overlaps

First Nations' claimed traditional territories can and do overlap. In BC, there are often multiple overlapping claims. First Nations are responsible for resolving overlaps and report to the BC Treaty Commission and to Canada and BC on the progress of discussions with other First Nations. Provisions are placed in each treaty that ensure that other First Nations' rights under Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1882, will not be adversely affected by the rights provided under the treaty.

Leases and licences

Generally, the terms and conditions of existing leases and licences will be respected after the treaty comes into effect. Existing legal interests will be dealt with equitably if affected.

Access

Treaties will provide for reasonable public access for hunting, fishing, hiking, canoeing and other recreational activities on treaty settlement lands. First Nations will be able to designate land use on treaty settlement lands, much as other local governments designate land use in their areas of jurisdiction.

Treaties will also include provisions to ensure public access for rights-of-way and navigable waters, and specific access for owners of fee simple parcels and tenure-holders.

Treaties will provide for unrestricted access for public and commercial traffic on highways. Highways will remain provincial Crown land and are specifically excluded from treaty settlement lands.

Terres visées par un traité

Terres visées par le règlement d'un traité

La terre – élément essentiel de n'importe quel traité – offre un fondement durable, propice au développement et à l'activité économique d'une collectivité. Les Premières nations négocient avec les gouvernements du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique la propriété des terres qui deviendront ce que l'on appelle des terres visées par le règlement d'un traité – des terres que les Premières nations auront le pouvoir d'administrer. Les terres publiques appartenant à l'un ou l'autre gouvernement sont habituellement celles que l'on utilise pour les règlements de traité. Les terres privées ne seront pas expropriées pour ces règlements, et il n'est pas question de ces dernières lors des négociations à moins qu'elles aient été achetées, selon le principe du vendeur consentant et de l'acheteur sérieux, par le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique ou la Première nation.

Le traité indiquera clairement la quantité de terres incluses dans le traité, de même que l'étendue de la compétence législative du gouvernement de la Première nation sur ces terres.

Ajouts aux terres visées par le règlement d'un traité

Les traités contiendront des dispositions indiquant que les Premières nations pourront acheter des terres en fief simple après la conclusion du traité et, moyennant certaines conditions, demander ensuite au Canada et à la Colombie-Britannique d'autoriser que ces terres soient ajoutées aux terres visées par le règlement du traité. Si ces terres sont ajoutées aux terres visées par le règlement du traité, la Première nation sera habilitée à les administrer. En revanche, si les terres ne sont pas ajoutées aux terres visées par le règlement du traité, elles seront la propriété de la Première nation mais continueront de relever de la compétence de l'administration locale.

Premières nations et municipalités

Le traité indiquera de quelle façon le gouvernement de la Première nation coexistera avec les autres ordres de gouvernement, y compris les municipalités. La Première nation et les municipalité travailleront de concert au chapitre de la planification foncière et d'autres aspects d'intérêt commun.

On s'attend à ce que toutes les personnes qui occupent des terres visées par le règlement d'un traité paient des taxes et des impôts au gouvernement de la Première nation et reçoivent des services de ce dernier. Comme la municipalité ne sera plus chargée de fournir des services sur les terres visées par le règlement d'un traité, elle ne pourra plus percevoir de taxes pour ces terres-là.

Le cas échéant, des ententes de service seront conclues avec les administrations voisines en vue de la prestation de services de base sur les terres visées par le règlement du traité. En outre, des modalités transitoires seront établies entre la Première nation et la municipalité au sujet de l'utilisation de l'infrastructure municipale pour la prestation de services.

Chevauchements

Les territoires traditionnels revendiqués par les Premières nations sont susceptibles de se chevaucher. En Colombie-Britannique, il arrive souvent que des revendications se chevauchent. Les Premières nations sont responsables de la résolution des chevauchements et des comptes rendus à la Commission des traités de la Colombie-Britannique, au Canada et à la Colombie-Britannique sur l'avancement des discussions menées avec les autres Premières nations concernées. Chaque traité contient des dispositions qui garantissent qu'on ne portera pas atteinte, par les droits prévus au traité, aux droits des autres Premières nations définis à l'article 35 de la Constitution Act de 1882.

Baux et permis

Les conditions et stipulations des baux et des permis existants seront respectées après l'entrée en vigueur du traité. Les tenures de remplacement et un juste dédommagement pour la perturbation inévitable d'intérêts commerciaux seront négociés dans le cadre du traité.

Accès

Les traités prévoiront un accès public raisonnable pour les activités de chasse, de pêche, de marche, de canotage et autres activités récréatives se déroulant sur les terres visées par leur règlement. Les Premières nations pourront désigner quelle sera l'utilisation des terres visées par le règlement des traités, tout comme le font les autres administrations locales qui désignent l'utilisation des terres situées sur leurs territoires.

Les traités comporteront aussi des dispositions garantissant l'accès du public aux emprises et aux eaux navigables, ainsi qu'un accès particulier aux propriétaires d'étendues de terre en fief simple et aux détenteurs de tenure.

Les traités prévoiront un libre accès à la circulation routière publique et commerciale. Les routes continueront d'être des terres publiques provinciales et seront expressément exclues des terres visées par le règlement des traités