Fiscal Relations

Fiscal relationship

Treaties will represent a fundamental change in the fiscal relationship between the federal government and First Nations. Under treaty, First Nations will be provided opportunities for increased autonomy and self-reliance.

Treaties will change the fiscal relationship by strengthening the fiscal accountability of First Nation governments. The First Nation government will be fully accountable to its members for expenditure decisions. The First Nation government will also be accountable to governments for financial transfers it receives, so that the government that provides the funding can ensure that public funds were used for their intended purposes.

Under a treaty, the First Nation will be responsible for delivering agreed-upon programs and services reasonably comparable to similar programs and services available in that part of the province. The fiscal financing agreement provides an annual transfer to support program and service delivery in areas such as health, social, education and local services. The arrangement ensures that the First Nation will have the flexibility to direct spending on programs to meet the unique needs and aspirations of its citizens.

One of the goals of a treaty is to reduce the First Nation's reliance on government funding over time. The First Nation will contribute to funding its own expenditures from its own sources of revenue. As the First Nation's ability to generate its own revenue increases, it will make an increasing contribution to the costs of programs and services it delivers to its citizens. These contributions will continue to be supplemented by annual transfers.

Relations financières

Relations financières

Les traités transformeront fondamentalement les relations financières entre le gouvernement fédéral et les Premières nations. Ils procureront aux Premières nations la possibilité d'accroître leur autonomie et leur autosuffisance.

Les traités changeront les relations financières en affermissant la responsabilité financière des gouvernements des Premières nations. Ces derniers seront pleinement comptables envers leurs membres des décisions prises en matière de dépenses. Ils seront également comptables des transferts financiers qu'ils reçoivent, de sorte que le gouvernement qui accordera l'aide financière pourra s'assurer que les fonds publics ont été utilisés pour les fins prévues.

En vertu d'un traité, la Première nation sera chargée de fournir les programmes et les services convenus, lesquels devront être raisonnablement comparables aux programmes et aux services similaires qui sont offerts dans la même partie de la province. L'entente de financement comporte un transfert annuel destiné à soutenir la prestation des programmes et des services dans des secteurs tels que les services sanitaires, sociaux, éducatifs et locaux. L'entente garantit que la Première nation aura la latitude nécessaire afin d'orienter les dépenses vers des programmes conçus pour répondre aux besoins et aux aspirations uniques de ses citoyens.

Les traités ont comme objectif, entre autres, de réduire, au fil du temps, la dépendance de la Première nation à l'égard d'une aide financière gouvernementale. La Première nation financera une partie de ses propres dépenses à partir de ses propres sources de recettes. À mesure qu'elle augmentera sa capacité de générer ses propres recettes, elle assumera de plus en plus les coûts des programmes et des services qu'elle offre à ses citoyens. Ces efforts continueront d'être complétés par des transferts annuels