ARCHIVED - Certainty

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The benefits of certainty

The Canadian Constitution recognizes and affirms existing Aboriginal rights and title, whether or not there is a treaty in place. However, in the absence of a treaty, there is uncertainty as to the nature, scope and content of those rights and even who holds those rights.

A fundamental goal of a treaty is to achieve certainty. This means the ownership of lands and resources and rights to use land and resources will be clear and predictable. In the absence of a treaty, ongoing uncertainty has sometimes delayed or disrupted economic activities, resulting in lost investment estimated to be in the billions of dollars. Litigation in the courts over Aboriginal rights and title is very time consuming and costly.

Treaties allow for increased certainty for business investment in the province by clearly setting out the rights that First Nations will exercise under the treaty, as well as establishing distinct relationships between federal, provincial and First Nation laws. There will be more opportunities for business partnerships with First Nations, and this increased economic activity can benefit local, regional and provincial economies.

Full and final settlement

Once ratified, a treaty will provide a full and final settlement of all Aboriginal rights, including title, related to land and resources. The treaty will clearly set out governments' and First Nations' rights, responsibilities and obligations.

A treaty can be amended after it is ratified, but only if all three parties – Canada, BC and the First Nation – agree.

Dispute resolution

Canada, British Columbia and the First Nation agree to maintain respectful working relationships, and to identify and resolve issues associated with the treaty early, efficiently and collaboratively. In the event of a dispute, the parties agree to participate in a prescribed dispute resolution process to resolve the issue.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Certitude

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les avantages de la certitude

La Constitution canadienne reconnaît et confirme les droits et les titres ancestraux existants, qu'il y ait ou non un traité. Cependant, en l'absence d'un traité, la nature, l'étendue et la teneur de ces droits, et même la question de savoir qui détient ces derniers, suscitent une certaine incertitude.

L'un des objectifs fondamentaux d'un traité est de définir avec certitude les droits qui sont conférés. Cela signifie que la propriété et l'utilisation des terres et des ressources seront claires et prévisibles. En l'absence d'un traité, le climat d'incertitude a parfois retardé ou perturbé les activités économiques, entraînant des pertes d'investissement évaluées à plusieurs milliards de dollars. Les causes judiciaires concernant les droits et les titres ancestraux sont très voraces en temps et en coûts.

Les traités permettent d'établir un climat de certitude accrue pour les investissements commerciaux faits dans la province en énonçant clairement les droits qu'exerceront les Premières nations en vertu du traité, ainsi qu'en établissant les relations distinctes entre les lois fédérales, les lois provinciales et les lois des Premières nations. Il y aura davantage d'occasions de partenariats commerciaux avec les Premières nations, et l'activité économique qui en découlera pourrait être avantageuse pour les économies locales, régionales et provinciales.

Règlement définitif

Une fois ratifié, le traité réglera de façon définitive tous les droits ancestraux, y compris les titres, qui se rapportent aux terres et aux ressources. Il énoncera clairement les droits, les responsabilités et les obligations des gouvernements et des Premières nations.

Il est possible de modifier un traité ratifié, mais les trois parties en cause – le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation – doivent être d'accord.

Règlement des litiges

Lorsqu'ils ratifient un traité, le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et la Première nation conviennent d'établir des relations de travail respectueuses, ainsi que de cerner les problèmes et de les régler rapidement, efficacement et de manière concertée. En cas de litige, les parties prendront part à un processus prescrit de règlement en vue de résoudre le problème qui les oppose.

Date de modification :