Other Government Programs and Services

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Health Care

All Canadians can access medical services through their provincial or territorial health insurance plan. If you're a First Nations person living on reserve, you can also access community-based health programs and services. Many of these are delivered locally by First Nations organisations. Contact your local health centre or band office for more information.

  • Health Canada also provides services and programs for First Nations and Inuit. Find out more:
  • Veterans – as a war veteran or civilian with theatre-of-war experience, you and your family may be entitled to certain services and benefits.

Children, Youth and Education

Jobs and Training

Business Services and Economic Development

Arts and Culture

  • The Canada Council for the Arts offers programs to help artists create and present their work. All Canada Council programs are available to Aboriginal artists and non-profit arts organisations. In addition, there are several council programs open only to Aboriginal artists and arts organisations.

Justice, Legal Issues and Taxation

  • Alternatives to the justice system are available to Aboriginal people, particularly youth.

New Technology

Autres programmes et services du gouvernment

Soins de santé

Tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes peuvent obtenir des services médicaux grâce au régime d'assurance-maladie de leur province ou de leur territoire de résidence. Les Autochtones habitant dans des réserves ont également accès à des programmes et à des services de santé communautaires. Beaucoup de ces derniers sont offerts par des organismes autochtones locaux. Pour en savoir davantage, communiquez avec le centre de santé de votre région ou avec le bureau de votre bande.

  • Santé Canada   offre également des services et des programmes aux Premières nations et aux Inuits. Renseignements :
  • Anciens combattants   – Les anciens combattants et les civils ayant fourni certains services en temps de guerre, ainsi que les membres de leur famille, peuvent parfois bénéficier de certains programmes et avantages.

Enfants, jeunes et éducation

Emplois et formation

Services aux entreprises et développement économique

Arts et culture

  • Le Conseil des arts du Canada   offre des programmes pour aider les artistes à créer des œuvres et à les mettre en valeur. Les artistes autochtones et les organismes autochtones à but non lucratif voués aux arts sont admissibles à tous les programmes du Conseil. De plus, ce dernier offre un certain nombre de programmes aux seuls artistes et organismes autochtones.

Justice, questions de droit et fiscalité

  • Des modes de règlement différents   sont offerts aux Premières nations, et en particulier aux jeunes autochtones, en marge du système judiciaire canadien.

Nouvelle technologie