Estates and Trusts

Estates and Trusts

When a registered Indian whose principal residence is on reserve passes away, his/her personal property and/or land holdings (estate) must be dealt with. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is responsible for having a personal representative (a family member, or someone chosen by the family, or a person named in the deceased's will) appointed with the legal authority to administer the deceased's estate.

Once appointed, the personal representative is responsible for administering the deceased's estate either in accordance with the deceased's will or if the deceased died without a will, in accordance with Section 48 of the Indian Act.

If the person named in the deceased's will is unwilling to administer the estate, and/or none of the deceased's family members are willing to act as an administrator or nominate someone to administer the estate, AANDC will act as administrator of last resort.

For further information on this subject, please refer to Sections 42 -50 of the Indian Act.

Estates of Mentally Incompetent Individuals

When a registered Indian whose principal residence is on-reserve is deemed under provincial legislation to no longer be capable of handling his/her own financial affairs, AANDC may administer that individual's estate or appoint someone to administer it. This involves managing only the individual's financial affairs (such as costs related to the ongoing care and well-being of that individual).

For further information on this subject, please refer to Section 51 of the Indian Act.

Estates of Minors

Generally, First Nation parents are responsible for managing the property or moneys belonging to their children. There may be certain situations in which AANDC may appoint a guardian to administer the property of a First Nation minor.

For further information of this subject, please refer to Section 52 of the Indian Act.

For further information on working with estates and trusts, visit the links above or contact Main Reception and ask to speak to a representative in Community Development.

Successions et fiducies

Successions et fiducies

Lors du décès d'un Indien inscrit dont le lieu de résidence principal est situé dans une réserve, il est nécessaire de régler la question des biens personnels ou des avoirs fonciers du défunt (succession). Il incombe à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) de faire en sorte qu'un représentant de cette personne (un membre de sa famille, une personne choisie par sa famille ou une personne nommée dans son testament) soit désigné et investi du pouvoir juridique d'administrer la succession du défunt.

Une fois nommé, le représentant du défunt est tenu d'administrer la succession de ce dernier, soit d'une manière conforme au testament du défunt, soit, en l'absence de testament, d'une manière conforme à l'article 48 de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Si la personne nommée dans le testament ne veut pas administrer la succession ou si aucun des membres de la famille du défunt ne veut agir comme administrateur ou désigner quelqu'un pour administrer la succession, AADNC agit comme administrateur de dernier recours.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le sujet, consultez les articles 42 à 50 de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Biens d'une personne frappée d'incapacité mentale

Lorsqu'un Indien inscrit dont la résidence principale se trouve dans une réserve est réputé, selon la législation provinciale, ne plus être capable de s'occuper de ses propres affaires financières, AADNC peut administrer les biens de cette personne ou nommer une personne pour le faire. Cette tâche consiste à gérer uniquement les affaires financières de la personne (comme les coûts liés aux soins permanents qui lui sont prodigués et à son bien-être).

Pour plus de renseignements sur le sujet, consultez l'article 51 de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Biens d'un enfant mineur

En général, les parents autochtones ont pour responsabilité de gérer les biens ou les fonds qui appartiennent à leurs enfants. Il peut arriver qu'AADNC nomme un tuteur pour administrer les biens d'un enfant autochtone.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le sujet, consultez l'article 52 de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Pour de plus amples informations sur les successions et les fiducies, consultez les liens ci-dessus ou appelez la réception et demandez à parler à un représentant du service suivant : Développement des communautés