BladeRunners Gives At-risk Youth a Second Chance

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

By: Alana Clement

BladeRunners 

In 18 cities across British Columbia, BladeRunners is helping at-risk youth pave their own way to a brighter, more prosperous future.

In 1994, when GM Place was being built in Vancouver, there was a critical shortage of skilled trades workers. Jim Green, a well-known advocate for disadvantaged youth and the homeless, and the founder of BladeRunners, realized that there was also a high percentage of street kids in need of jobs. He saw an opportunity for everyone involved and decided to match one need with another. "I heard a lot of criticism from people saying that it was too dangerous to put these kids on a construction site and that it wouldn't be successful. But these kids proved to be the best workers in BC," said Green.

Having just celebrated its 15th anniversary, BladeRunners has proven that these at-risk young people will succeed if given a chance. In fact, they'll do more than succeed; they'll thrive. "We're looking for accomplishment, not just labourers," said Kim Maust, Vice President of Bastion Development Corporation, who regularly hires workers from BladeRunners. "We're looking for individuals who will contribute to the success of the project and that's what BladeRunners delivers: accomplishment and success."

 Award-Winning Support

BladeRunners' success is premised on providing more than just jobs — it also offers ongoing support and guidance to participants.

The coordinators start by looking at the person as a whole — what their strengths are, what issues they're facing and what challenges they may have to overcome in order to be a good employee. Since problems for at-risk youth typically happen after the work day ends, BladeRunners developed an award-winning system of 24/7 support.

Provincially, BladeRunners has a 66 per cent Aboriginal participation rate and a job-placement rate of 88 per cent, higher in some cities — indicating that the program is clearly working. Darcy McDiarmid, Director of BladeRunners, believes it's important that the program attract a high number of Aboriginal young people. "We'd like to see as many Aboriginal people benefit from this program as possible," said McDiarmid. "And we do that by providing different levels of support. We offer cultural support by bringing in spiritual leaders who come and talk about how to use spiritual identity and culture to be successful."

"BladeRunners gave me a second chance at life," said a previous BladeRunners participant. "There was a time when things were pretty rough, but they always believed in me and took the time to help me. They helped me out with some legal matters and helped pay my moving costs when I moved into Vancouver. Now I'm a Lead Hand on several major construction projects around the city."

 The Sky's the Limit

The program has attracted attention from more than just industry. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, through its Urban Aboriginal Strategy, provides financial support, and the Province of BC and local governments support the program on an ongoing basis.

BladeRunner's positive track record is now being recognized across Canada, in cities like Calgary and Toronto, and even internationally. The Mayor of New Orleans has been in contact with program staff to voice support and interest in starting a similar program in that city.

For many, BladeRunners has opened the door to jobs and communities. It has helped others start their own companies. "BladeRunners participants help build communities. They not only contribute to the economic well-being of BC cities, but also help change the sky lines," said McDiarmid.

 Where to find a BladeRunners near you

The BladeRunners program operates throughout the province, in:

  • Duncan
  • Nanaimo
  • Chemainus
  • Victoria
  • Mount Currie
  • Pemberton
  • Whistler
  • Prince George
  • Nanaimo
  • Ladysmith
  • Courtenay
  • Comox
  • Port Alberni
  • Tofino
  • Ucluelet
  • Qualicum
  • Chilliwack
  • Surrey

For more information on BladeRunners , visit www.bladerunners.info

Urban Aboriginal Strategy

A community-based initiative developed by the Government of Canada to improve the social and economic opportunities of Aboriginal peoples living in urban centers. Through the Urban Aboriginal Strategy, all levels of government work with Aboriginal community members and organizations to increase the participation of urban Aboriginal people in the economy, in the priority areas of improving life skills; job training, skills and entrepreneurship; and support for Aboriginal women, children and families.

Le projet BladeRunners donne une seconde chance aux jeunes à risque

De Alana Clement

BladeRunners 

Dans 18 villes de la Colombie-Britannique, le projet BladeRunners aide les jeunes à risque à tracer leur propre voie vers un avenir plus prometteur et plus prospère.

En 1994, pendant les travaux de construction de GM Place à Vancouver, on a constaté un manque criant de travailleurs de métier spécialisés. Jim Green, défenseur bien connu des sans-abri et des jeunes défavorisés et fondateur de BladeRunners, s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait aussi une forte proportion de jeunes de la rue en manque d'emploi. Voyant là un débouché pour toutes les parties concernées, il a décidé de combler les deux besoins l'un par l'autre. « J'ai entendu beaucoup de critiques dire que c'était trop dangereux de faire travailler ces jeunes sur un chantier de construction et que ça ne fonctionnerait pas. Mais ces jeunes se sont révélés être les meilleurs travailleurs de la province », constate M. Green.

Le programme BladeRunners, qui vient tout juste de célébrer son 15e anniversaire, a prouvé que les jeunes à risque peuvent réussir si on leur en donne l'occasion. En fait, ils font plus que réussir; ils prospèrent. « Nous ne sommes pas uniquement à la recherche d'ouvriers; nous cherchons aussi à accomplir quelque chose », explique Kim Maust, vice-présidente de la société Bastion Development, qui embauche régulièrement des travailleurs de BladeRunners. « Nous cherchons des personnes qui contribueront à la réussite du projet, et c'est ce qu'offre BladeRunners : l'accomplissement et la réussite. »

 Un soutien primé

Le succès de BladeRunners repose sur l'idée de fournir plus qu'un simple emploi, en offrant aux participants une orientation et un soutien permanents.

Les coordonnateurs commencent par évaluer la personne comme un tout, en déterminant ses forces, les problèmes qu'elle affronte et les défis qu'elle doit relever pour devenir un bon employé. Comme les problèmes des jeunes à risque surviennent généralement après la fin de la journée de travail, BladeRunners a développé un système de soutien, en service jour et nuit, qui lui a valu un prix.

Avec un taux de participation autochtone de 66 % et un taux de placement de 88 %, il est évident que ce programme est efficace. Darcy McDiarmid, directrice de BladeRunners, croit qu'il est important que le programme attire un grand nombre de jeunes Autochtones : « Nous aimerions voir le plus d'Autochtones possible bénéficier de ce programme. Nous y parvenons en offrant différents niveaux de soutien. Nous offrons un soutien culturel en invitant des chefs spirituels à parler de la manière de connaître le succès par l'identité spirituelle. »

« BladeRunners m'a donné une seconde chance », a déclaré un ancien participant au programme. « Pendant un temps, les choses allaient plutôt mal, mais les gens de l'organisme ont toujours cru en moi et ont pris le temps de m'aider. Ils m'ont aidé à régler mes problèmes juridiques et à payer mon déménagement à Vancouver. Depuis, je suis chef d'équipe dans plusieurs grands projets de construction un peu partout dans la ville. »

 Un projet sans limites

Le programme n'a pas attiré l'attention que de l'industrie. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, dans le cadre de sa Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, fournit un soutien financier, et la province de la Colombie-Britannique et les gouvernements locaux appuient le programme sur une base régulière.

Le bilan positif de BladeRunners est maintenant reconnu un peu partout au Canada, dans des villes comme Calgary et Toronto, et même au niveau international. Le maire de la Nouvelle-Orléans a communiqué avec le personnel du programme pour lui exprimer son appui et son intérêt à mettre en œuvre un programme similaire dans sa ville.

Le projet BladeRunners a ouvert à bien des jeunes les portes de l'emploi et de la collectivité. Il en aidé d'autres à mettre sur pied leur propre entreprise. « Les participants de BladeRunners contribuent à bâtir les collectivités. En plus de contribuer au bien-être des villes de la Colombie-Britannique, ils aident à façonner leur silhouette », constate Mme McDiarmid.

 Bureaux du programme BladeRunners

Le programme BladeRunners offre ses services un peu partout dans la province :

  • Duncan
  • Nanaimo
  • Chemainus
  • Victoria
  • Pemberton
  • Whistler
  • Nanaimo
  • Ladysmith
  • Courtenay
  • Comox
  • Tofino
  • Ucluelet
  • Qualicum
  • Surrey
  • Mount Currie
  • Prince George
  • Port Alberni
  • Chilliwack

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur BladeRunners  , visitez le site Web
www.bladerunners.info

La Stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain

Cette initiative communautaire a été conçue par le gouvernement du Canada pour améliorer les perspectives sociales et économiques des personnes autochtones qui vivent dans les centres urbains. Divers organismes partenaires collaborent étroitement à l'appui de la Stratégie et de projets qui améliorent les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne, promeuvent la formation professionnelle, l'acquisition des compétences et l'esprit d'entreprise, et apportent un soutien aux femmes, aux enfants et aux familles autochtones.