Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre: A Triumph of Architecture and First Nations Culture

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Evening event at the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre
Evening event at the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre

When the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre was being built in the heart of Whistler's upper village in 2007, a black bear and her cub ambled through the front entrance and had a good look around. Their presence was cause not for panic, but for celebration. After all, to the mostly Squamish and Lil'wat people on-site that day, these shaggy, sharp-clawed creatures were a blessing, signifying power and good luck.

Whether the presence of this bear family brought good luck or not, there's no question that the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, which opened for business in 2008, is a success on many levels.

An architectural vision
Legends and artifacts in the 'What we Treasure' museum at the Centre
Legends and artifacts in the "What we Treasure" museum at the Centre

This modern interpretation of a traditional Squamish longhouse and Lil'wat Istken (underground dwelling) is impressive, with walls of shimmering glass and a large cedar deck surrounding the building. The dramatic snow-capped mountains beyond — a traditional gathering and spiritual place for both Nations — provides a fitting backdrop.

Boulders painted with colourful pictographs grace the walkways along the approach to beautiful cedar entrance doors, which, aptly enough, feature an image of a bear carved by well-known local Lil'wat Nation artisans.

Inside, giant Douglas fir beams anchor the seven-metre-high Great Hall where you will find a wealth of Aboriginal artifacts from the Squamish and Lil'wat people. Massive hand-carved replica spindle whorls (an essential tool in traditional weaving) revolve overhead. A Salish hunting canoe carved from a single cedar tree is suspended from the ceiling, while hand woven blankets by Squamish Nation weavers hang on the walls alongside intricately woven cedar mats in patterns unique to Lil'wat weavers. In the gallery upstairs, carved masks and other artifacts and tools are displayed for visitors.

Bridging past to future

Shawnna Apodaca
Shawnna Apodaca greets guests at the main entrance to the Centre

Visitors to the Cultural Centre are impressed with the building itself, but the rave reviews are directed at the team of energetic and enthusiastic First Nations youth who conduct the guided tours and workshops, where visitors can learn the ancient arts of beading and weaving or a little of the Lil'wat and Squamish Nation traditional languages.

Lil'wat Nation Chief Leonard Andrew and Squamish Nation Chief Gibby Jacob believed it was important that the Centre provide visitors an authentic First Nations cultural experience. They also wanted a new generation of First Nations youth to reconnect to their past. “The circle is closing. Our circle was broken at one point in time,” said Chief Gibby Jacob. “Our ability to do the good things that we need to do for our children…is coming about again.”

Many of the young people at the Cultural Centre are graduates of the Aboriginal Youth Ambassador program. The program, begun in 2001 by the Squamish Nation was set up to provide British Columbia's Aboriginal youth with a strong sense of connection to their land and culture, while providing business experience and tourism training.

For Lil'wat ambassador Holly Joseph, her work at the Cultural Centre is an opportunity to share the many stories she learned as a child while berry picking with her mom. “Out of 10 children, only two of us remember the stories,” she said. “Now, in honor of my mom and the generations before her, I'm sharing those stories with visitors from all over the world. In a very real way, it keeps our ancestors alive.”

Learning how to make a medicine bag
Learning how to make a medicine bag

Roxy Lewis of the Squamish Nation, an ambassador since 2004, said she's learned a lot about both her own and the Líl'wat culture. She believes the Cultural Centre reflects just how far First Nations have come in the past 50 years. “At one time our people weren't allowed to speak our own language. Now, people actually want to learn about our language and culture.”

What better place to learn about them than here in this spectacular setting — the result of a committed partnership, inspired vision and, just maybe, the blessing of a mother bear and her cub.

For more on the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre, visit their Web site  : www.slcc.ca

The photos in this story are provided by Gary Fiegehen and the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre

Le centre culturel Squamish Lil’wat : un triomphe d’architecture et de culture des Premières nations

Soirée au Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat
Soirée au Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat

Pendant la construction du Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat au coeur du village de Whistler, en 2007, une maman ourse noire et son ourson sont entrés d'un pas tranquille par l'entrée principale et ont examiné les lieux. Leur présence n'a pas été une cause de panique, mais plutôt de célébration. Après tout, pour la plupart des gens sur les lieux ce jour-là, des membres des nations Squamish et Lil'wat, ces créatures à longs poils hirsutes et aux griffes acérées étaient une bénédiction, un symbole de puissance et de chance.

Que la présence de cette famille d'ours ait porté chance ou non, il est certain que le centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat, qui a ouvert ses portes en 2008, est une réussite à plusieurs égards.

Une vision architecturale
Légendes et artéfacts au musée What We Treasure du Centre
Légendes et artéfacts au musée What We Treasure du Centre

Cette interprétation moderne d'une longue maison traditionnelle des Squamish et d'un istken (habitation souterraine) des Lil'wat est impressionnante, avec des murs de verre miroitant et une terrasse de cèdre entourant le bâtiment. Les montagnes spectaculaires aux cimes enneigées, un lieu traditionnel de rencontre et spirituel pour les deux nations, sont une toile de fond idéale.

Des pierres peintes de pictogrammes colorés ornent les allées menant aux magnifiques portes d'entrée en cèdre, lesquelles, avec à propos, mettent en vedette l'image d'un ours sculpté par des artisans locaux notoires de la nation Lil'wat.

À l'intérieur, des poutres de sapins de Douglas géants soutiennent la grande salle d'une hauteur de sept mètres où l'on trouve une richesse d'artefacts autochtones fabriqués par des membres des nations Squamish et Lil'wat. Une réplique massive de volants de fuseau sculptés à la main (un outil essentiel dans le tissage traditionnel) tourbillonne au-dessus. Un canot de chasse salish sculpté dans un seul cèdre est suspendu au plafond, tandis des couvertures tissées à la main par des tisseuses de la nation Squamish sont exposées sur les murs à côté de tapis en cèdre tissés avec des modèles très élaborés propres aux tisseuses de la nation Lil'wat. Dans la galerie à l'étage, des masques sculptés et d'autres artefacts et outils sont exposés pour les visiteurs.

Établir un lien entre le passé et l'avenir

Shawnna Apodaca
Shawnna Apodaca accueille les invités à l'entrée principale du Centre

Les visiteurs du centre culturel sont impressionnés par l'édifice lui-même, mais les commentaires élogieux s'adressent à l'équipe des jeunes des Premières nations énergiques et enthousiastes qui dirigent les visites guidées et les ateliers au cours desquels les visiteurs peuvent apprendre les arts anciens du perlage et du tissage ou quelques mots des langues traditionnelles des nations Lil'wat et Squamish.

Le chef de la nation Lil'wat, Leonard Andrew, et celui de la nation Squamish, Gibby Jacob, estimaient qu'il était important que le centre procure aux visiteurs une expérience culturelle authentique des Premières nations. Ils voulaient également que la nouvelle génération de jeunes des Premières nations se rebranche avec son passé. « Le cercle se referme. Il avait été brisé à un moment donné, précise le chef Gibby Jacob. Notre capacité d'accomplir les bonnes choses que nous devons faire pour nos enfants...nous revient. »

De nombreux jeunes du centre culturel sont diplômés de l'Aboriginal Youth Ambassador program. Ce programme, amorcé en 2001 par la nation Squamish, a été mis sur pied pour donner aux jeunes autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique un sens profond de leur lien avec leur terre et leur culture, tout en leur offrant une expérience des affaires et une formation en tourisme.

Pour l'ambassadrice de la nation Lil'wat, Holly Joseph, son travail au centre culturel lui donne l'occasion de partager les nombreuses histoires qu'elle a apprises lorsqu'elle était enfant et qu'elle cueillait des petits fruits avec sa mère. « Parmi les 10 enfants de notre famille, deux seulement se souviennent de ces histoires, affirme-t-elle. Maintenant, en l'honneur de ma mère et des générations qui l'ont précédée, je raconte ces histoires à des visiteurs du monde entier. De façon très concrète, c'est ce qui maintient nos ancêtres en vie. »

Atelier sur la confection d'un sac de guérisseur
Atelier sur la confection d'un sac de guérisseur

Roxy Lewis de la nation Squamish, une ambassadrice depuis 2004, affirme qu'elle a beaucoup appris sur sa propre culture et sur celle de la nation Lil'wat. Elle estime que le centre culturel reflète à quel point les Premières nations ont progressé depuis les 50 dernières années. « À une certaine époque, notre peuple n'avait pas le droit de parler sa propre langue. Maintenant, les gens veulent vraiment se renseigner sur notre langue et notre culture. »

Quel meilleur endroit pour le faire que dans ce lieu spectaculaire, le résultat d'un partenariat engagé, d'une vision inspirée et, peut-être, de la bénédiction d'une maman ourse et de son ourson.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le centre culturel Squamish Lil'Wat, veuillez consulter son site Web   : www.slcc.ca

Les photos de ce cas de réussite sont une courtoisie de Gary Fiegehen et du Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat