Ucluelet Housing Development Provides Homes and More...

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

By: Matthew Hurley

Violet Mundy
Violet Mundy and the new Ucluelet six-plex

When the Ucluelet First Nation (pronounced You-CLUE-let) decided to move ahead with a new housing development on their reserve at Itattsoo, on the West Coast of Vancouver Island, they knew they were creating more than just a structure. They were providing homes, creating jobs and attracting members back to the community.

“Our population has stayed the same over the years so we haven't had any new housing units built in over 18 years,” explained Violet Mundy, Chief Councillor for the Ucluelet First Nation. “But now, we're starting to see a younger generation wanting to come back to the reserve. We needed new housing, but it had to be done right.”

To meet the demand, in January 2006 the Ucluelet First Nation began an extensive process of community consultation and planning. “The needs of our members, including those wanting to move back to the community, greatly influenced the designs of the units,” Mundy explained. The First Nation also wanted to try something unique for larger extended families, so the project included a six-plex with a traditional central common area, which today doubles as a meeting facility.

New Jobs, New Homes

Ucluelet development
Ucluelet development

The community's desire for sustainable housing drove the design process. “We wanted quality homes, and we wanted them to last,” Mundy said. So builders used LOGIX Insulated Concrete Forms (ICF), a construction method that is energy efficient, durable and perfect for mould prevention in the wet West Coast climate.

The Government of Canada helped fund the project. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada provided more than $500,000, while additional funds came from the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) and the Ucluelet First Nation. The Nuu-chah-nulth Economic Development Corporation also contributed money for training band members in ICF building practices.

The community created jobs and at the same time lowered costs by drawing on their newly trained labour pool. “We've had problems attracting labour to Ucluelet,“ Mundy said, “But by having our own contractors involved from start to finish, they were taught a skill and how to run a business.”

Not long after the development's 24 units were completed in October 2008, the Ucluelet First Nation was recognized for their initiative and creativity with a CMHC Housing Award. When asked how the project has impacted the community, Mundy was not short on answers. ”I believe that our members are proud of what has been accomplished,” she said, “and they have pride in the homes that we had a part in designing and building, in the skills developed — we have a sense of well being from actually completing a project that was on time and on budget.”


Ucluelet First Nation Housing Quick Facts

  • Recycled materials and local labour lowered the building costs from $200+ per square foot to $156.87 per square foot.
  • The Insulated Concrete Form (ICF) walls used in the development have several advantages:
    • High energy efficiency (lower utility costs);
    • Durability (expected service life of 100+ years);
    • Increased comfort (consistent temperature);
    • Strength (8.5 times stronger than wood-framed buildings); and,
    • Prevents mould and eliminates rot.
  • The new homes' radiant-floor heating, low-flow toilets and solar panels increase energy efficiency and lower costs.
  • The specially designed landscapes minimize storm-water runoff, which can pollute local waterways.

Un ensemble résidentiel procure des logements et plus encore...

De Matthew Hurley

Violet Mundy
Violet Mundy, de la Première nation de Ucluelet, devant le nouveau bâtiment à six logements

Lorsque la Première nation Ucluelet a décidé d'aller de l'avant avec un nouveau complexe domiciliaire sur sa réserve d'Itattsoo, sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver, elle savait qu'elle créait plus qu'une simple structure. Elle fournissait des logements, créait des emplois et attirait les membres à revenir dans la collectivité.

« Notre population est restée la même au fil des ans et nous n'avons donc pas construit de nouveaux logements depuis plus dix-huit ans, explique Violet Mundy, conseillère en chef de la Première nation Ucluelet. Mais maintenant, nous commençons à voir une génération plus jeune désireuse de revenir vivre sur la réserve. Nous avions donc besoin de nouveaux logements, mais nous devions nous y prendre correctement. »

Pour satisfaire à la demande, en janvier 2006, la première nation Ucluelet a mené un vaste exercice de consultation et de planification auprès de la collectivité. « Les besoins de nos membres, incluant ceux désireux de revenir vivre dans la collectivité, ont nettement influencé la conception des logements, » ajoute Madame Mundy. La Première nation voulait aussi faire l'essai d'une formule unique pour de grandes familles élargies. Le projet incluait donc un bâtiment de six logements comprenant un foyer central commun qui sert également aujourd'hui de lieu de rencontre.

De nouveaux emplois, de nouveaux logements

Construction domiciliaire dans la Première nation de Ucluelet
Construction domiciliaire dans la Première nation de Ucluelet

Le désir de la collectivité de créer des logements durables a été le moteur du processus de conception. « Nous voulions des logements de qualité et nous voulions qu'ils soient durables, » précise Madame Mundy. Aussi, les constructeurs ont utilisé des coffrages isolants LOGIX, méthode de construction éconergétique, durable et parfaitement adaptée à la prévention de la moisissure dans le climat humide de la côte ouest.

Le gouvernement du Canada a participé au financement du projet. Affaires indiennes et du Nord du Canada a fourni plus de 500 000 $ et d,autres fonds sont provenus de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (S.C.H.L.) et de la Première nation Ucluelet. La Société de développement économique Nuu-chah-nulth a également contribué financièrement à la formation des membres de la bande aux pratiques de construction à l'aide de coffrages isolants.

La collectivité a créé des emplois et, en même temps, a réduit les coûts en puisant dans son nouveau bassin de travailleurs qualifiés. « Nous avons eu de la difficulté à attirer des travailleurs à Ucluelet, a fait remarquer Madame Mundy. Mais parce que nous avions nos propres entrepreneurs du début à la fin, on leur a enseigné de nouvelles compétences et comment gérer une entreprise. »

Peu après l'achèvement des 24 unités de logement, en octobre 2008, la Première nation Ucluelet a été reconnue pour son initiative et sa créativité par un Prix d'excellence en habitation de la S.C.H.L. Lorsqu'on a demandé à Madame Mundy comment le projet avait touché la collectivité, sa réponse ne manquait pas d'inspiration : « Je crois que tous nos membres sont fiers de ce qui a été accompli et d'avoir participé à la conception et à la construction de ces habitations et qu'ils éprouvent une grande satisfaction à l'idée que des compétences ont pu être acquises et que le projet a respecté les délais et le budget prévus. »

Quelques informations sur les unités d'habitation de la Première nation Ucluelet

  • L'utilisation de matériaux recyclés et le recours à la main-d'œuvre locale ont permis de ramener les coûts de construction de 200 $/pi2 à 156,87 $/pi2.
  • Les murs à coffrage isolant ont plusieurs avantages :
    • haute efficacité énergétique (moindres coûts d'électricité);
    • durabilité (durée de vie prévue de plus de cent ans);
    • confort accru (température constante);
    • robustesse (capacité de charge 8,5 fois supérieure à celle d'une construction à ossature de bois de type classique);
    • excellentes propriétés antimoisissure et antipourriture.
  • Les planchers chauffants des nouvelles demeures, les toilettes à faible débit et les capteurs solaires augmentent l'efficacité énergétique et réduisent les coûts.
  • Les aménagements paysagers spécialement conçus réduisent au minimum le ruissellement des eaux pluviales (qui peuvent polluer les cours d'eau).