British Columbia First Nations Success Stories

Whether it's developing comprehensive community plans, managing effective water and wastewater systems, launching innovative economic development projects or forging partnerships, First Nations in BC are making great strides towards improving the quality of life in their communities. We are pleased to highlight the many successes of First Nations individuals and communities around the province through the stories on this section of our site.

Community Stories: Aboriginal Successes in British Columbia

Community Stories: Aboriginal Successes in British Columbia celebrates Aboriginal culture and ingenuity in British Columbia. We are pleased to share these stories with you, and hope you enjoy reading about some of the exciting projects happening in Aboriginal communities throughout the province.

If you would like to order a hard copy of this publication, please contact:
E-mail: Infopubs@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca 
Phone: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604



Spirit Bear Coffee

Coffee benefits communities — and bears

Paul Biglin, co-owner of Spirit Bear Coffee, is a passionate advocate for community development. He's also passionate about good coffee. When the vision of a sustainable coffee came to Biglin, it wasn't just about perfectly roasted beans. It was also about the power of a purchase to make a difference for individuals, communities, and the environment.

More...

Lead Facilitator Teresa Proudlove and Recruiter Jennifer Jack

For students of Okanagan Indian Band's employment program, success is tailor made

Okanagan Indian Band (OKIB) and Okanagan College have put considerable care and attention into ensuring its pre-employment program meets the needs of its members. They know that if individuals succeed, the community as a whole will also benefit.

More...

Brad Tronson

Employment program leads student to a career he never could have imagined

Brad Tronson knows the value of having support when you are trying to make decisions about your career. Fortunately, he bumped into an old friend who told him about a program that could help. Even better, it was being offered right in his own community — Okanagan Indian Band (OKIB).

More...

Stein Valley Nlakapamux School

Language and Culture at the Forefront of New Stein Valley Nlakapamux School

For the students, staff and school board of the new Stein Valley Nlakapamux School, the building symbolizes the unique culture and tradition of six local First Nations – the Nlakapmux people.

More...

Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre

Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre: A Triumph of Architecture and First Nations Culture

When the Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre was being built in the heart of Whistler's upper village in 2007, a black bear and her cub ambled through the front entrance and had a good look around. Their presence was cause not for panic, but for celebration. After all, to the mostly Squamish and Lil'wat people on-site that day, these shaggy, sharp-clawed creatures were a blessing, signifying power and good luck.

More...

BladeRunners

BladeRunners Gives At-risk Youth a Second Chance

In 18 cities across British Columbia, BladeRunners is helping at-risk youth pave their own way to a brighter, more prosperous future.

More...

The Bolton Clan on Graduation Day

Students Thrive at Kitsumkalum Adult Learning Centre

For Charlotte Guno, Principal of the 'Na aksa Gila Kyew Learning Centre and Education Coordinator for the Kitsumkalum First Nation, keeping her culture and her community connected is more than a personal priority — it's one of the main reasons she started the 'Na aksa Gila Kyew Learning Centre (pronounced "Ena-axa-Gila-Geeo"), Kitsumkalum's adult education program.

More...

Floyd Naziel standing in the new water treatment plant

Moricetown Water Treatment Operators Tap into Clear Solution

Having safe drinking water is something many of us take for granted. But for the water treatment operators in Moricetown, a small First Nations community in northwestern British Columbia, ensuring good water quality is a full-time job. It's a weighty responsibility and one that an upgraded water treatment plant has made that much easier to manage.

More...

Chief Gordon Planes

The Sun Shines Brightly on T'Sou-ke First Nation

In a small First Nations community on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, energy meters are spinning backwards.  As the sun beats down on the new solar panel installation that T'Sou-ke First Nation built, there is so much clean energy being produced that they can provide power for their entire community and sell the surplus back to BC Hydro.

Newly built housing units on the new subdivision

Ucluelet Housing Development Provides Homes and More...

When the Ucluelet First Nation decided to move ahead with a new housing development on their reserve at Itattsoo, on the West Coast of Vancouver Island, they knew they were creating more than just a structure. They were providing homes, creating jobs and attracting members back to the community.

More...

Hesquiaht First Nation Place of Learning

Hesquiaht First Nation Place of Learning: Not Just a School

The new Hesquiaht First Nation Place of Learning isn't just a school. It's a community centre, a post-disaster facility and most of all, something that community members built with their own hands, reflecting their own vision, using natural resources from their own traditional territory.

More...

More success stories

Modèles à suivre chez les Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique

Qu'il s'agisse de se doter de plans communautaires globaux, d'exploiter des systèmes efficaces d'alimentation en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, de lancer des projets de développement économique novateurs ou d'établir des partenariats, les Premières Nations de la C.-B. multiplient les efforts pour améliorer la qualité de vie de leurs collectivités. Nous sommes heureux de rendre hommage, dans cette partie de notre site, aux particuliers et aux collectivités des Premières Nations de la province qui, en grand nombre, ont mené des actions qui ont été couronnées de succès.

Community Stories: Aboriginal Successes in British Columbia

Expériences collectives - Réussites autochtones en Colombie-Britannique est une célébration de la culture et l'ingéniosité des peuples autochtones en Colombie-Britannique. Nous sommes contents de partager ces histoires avec vous et espérer que vous appréciez lire quelques des histoires excitants concernant les communautés autochtones partout dans la province.

Si vous voudriez commander une copie de cette publication, contactez s'il vous plaît:
Courriel : Infopubs@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca 
Téléphone : 1-800-567-9604



Spirit Bear Coffee

Le café : des avantages pour les collectivités... et pour les ours

Paul Biglin, copropriétaire du Spirit Bear Coffee, est un défenseur passionné du développement communautaire. Il voue également une passion au bon café. Lorsque M. Biglin s'est penché sur la question du café issu de l'agriculture durable, il ne songeait pas seulement à des grains de café parfaitement torréfiés. Il pensait également à ce que représentait la réalisation d'achats ayant des répercussions sur les particuliers, les collectivités et l'environnement.

Encore plus...

L'animatrice principale Teresa Proudlove et la recruteuse Jennifer Jack

Pour les étudiants du programme d'emploi de la bande indienne d'Okanagan, le succès est personnalisé

La bande indienne d'Okanagan et le Collège Okanagan ont mis beaucoup de soin et d'attention afin que son programme de préparation à l'emploi réponde aux besoins de ses membres. Ils savent que si les personnes réussissent, la collectivité dans son ensemble en profitera également.

Encore plus...

Brad Tronson

Un programme d'emploi mène un étudiant à une carrière qu'il n'aurait jamais pu imaginer

Brad Tronson connaît l'importance d'avoir du soutien quand on tente de prendre des décisions relatives à sa carrière. Heureusement, il a rencontré par hasard un vieil ami qui lui a parlé d'un programme qui pourrait l'aider. Mieux encore, il était offert directement dans sa collectivité – la bande indienne d'Okanagan.

Encore plus...

Soirée au Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat

Le centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat : un triomphe d'architecture et de culture des Premières Nations

Pendant la construction du Centre culturel Squamish Lil'wat au coeur du village de Whistler, en 2007, une maman ourse noire et son ourson sont entrés d'un pas tranquille par l'entrée principale et ont examiné les lieux. Leur présence n'a pas été une cause de panique, mais plutôt de célébration. Après tout, pour la plupart des gens sur les lieux ce jour-là, des membres des nations Squamish et Lil'wat, ces créatures à longs poils hirsutes et aux griffes acérées étaient une bénédiction, un symbole de puissance et de chance.

Encore plus...

BladeRunners

Le projet BladeRunners donne une seconde chance aux jeunes à risque

Dans 18 villes de la Colombie-Britannique, le projet BladeRunners aide les jeunes à risque à tracer leur propre voie vers un avenir plus prometteur et plus prospère.

Encore plus...

Le clan Bolton à la remise des diplômes

Les étudiants réussissent au Centre d'apprentissage pour adultes de Kitsumkalum

Pour une femme comme Charlotte Guno, directrice du Centre d'apprentissage 'Na aksa Gila Kyew et coordonnatrice à l'éducation pour la Première nation de Kitsumkalum, le maintien des liens entre sa culture et sa communauté est plus qu'une priorité personnelle; c'est une des principales raisons qui l'ont incitée à mettre sur pied ce centre où se donne le programme d'éducation des adultes de Kitsumkalum.

Encore plus...

Floyd Naziel et la nouvelle station de traitement d'eau potable

Les exploitants du traitement des eaux de Moricetown trouvent une solution limpide

L'approvisionnement en eau potable saine est une chose que plusieurs d'entre nous tiennent pour acquis. Mais pour les exploitants du traitement des eaux de Moricetown, une petite collectivité autochtone du Nord-Ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, garantir une bonne qualité d'eau est un emploi à temps plein. Il s'agit d'une énorme responsabilité, que l'amélioration d'une usine de traitement des eaux a rendu bien plus facile à gérer.

Encore plus...

Chef Gordon Planes

Le soleil brille avec énergie sur la Première nation T'Sou-ke

« Pour nous, les gens qui viennent nous voir sont des individus qui ont un potentiel », explique Irene Adams, superviseure du Développement social pour la Nation Sto:lo. Desservant les communautés autochtones de la Vallée du Fraser – depuis Langley jusqu'à Hope, en passant par Chilliwack – la Nation Sto:lo fournit des services de développement social à neuf bandes indiennes.

Nouvelles unités d'habitation sur un lotissement de la réserve. Les membres de la collectivité ont eu leur mot à dire sur la conception et l'aspect des nouvelles maisons.

Un ensemble résidentiel procure des logements et plus encore...

Lorsque la Première nation Ucluelet a décidé d'aller de l'avant avec un nouveau complexe domiciliaire sur sa réserve d'Itattsoo, sur la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver, elle savait qu'elle créait plus qu'une simple structure. Elle fournissait des logements, créait des emplois et attirait les membres à revenir dans la collectivité.

Encore plus...

Le Lieu d'apprentissage de la Première nation Hesquiaht

Le lieu d'apprentissage de la Première nation de Hesquiaht : bien plus qu'une école

Le nouveau lieu d'apprentissage (Place of Learning) de la Première nation de Hesquiaht n'est pas seulement une école. C'est un centre communautaire. C'est un refuge. Et surtout, c'est l'œuvre de la collectivité, que les membres ont construite de leurs propres mains, selon leur propre vision, en utilisant les ressources naturelles de leur territoire ancestral.

Encore plus...

Autres cas de réussite