ARCHIVED - Ontario's Aboriginal Veterans

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Ontario's Aboriginal Veterans
QS-T024-000-BB-A1 2011

If you would like to order a free copy of this poster, or have a suggestion for a future version of the poster please contact:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Executive Services and Communications
25 St-Clair Avenue East, 8th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4T 1M2
Telephone: 416-973-2158

Edith Anderson Monture

Edith Anderson Monture left Six Nations of the Grand River in southern Ontario to volunteer as a nurse in war-torn France in 1917. [Helen Moses/Veterans Affairs Canada]

A continuing tradition of service

Canada's Aboriginal people have a proud history of defending our society and our shared principles.

Angus Pontiac

Aboriginal veteran Angus Pontiac. [Alex Peltier]

Many Haudenosaunee, or Iroquois, fought on the side of the British during the American Revolution and again during the War of 1812. It is estimated that 12,000 Canadian Aboriginal people served in the two World Wars and Korea, and more than 500 gave their lives. In the First World War alone, one in three able-bodied Aboriginal men enlisted. In First Nations such as the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan in the Ottawa Valley, virtually every man volunteered.

Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow

Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow, a member of Wasauksing First Nation on the shores of Georgian Bay, served in the First World War. An Ojibwa, he was the most decorated Aboriginal veteran in Canadian history. [Indiana University]

Many Aboriginal soldiers used their traditional hunting skills to serve as snipers and scouts. Code-talkers used the Cree language to communicate sensitive military plans in a language the enemy could not understand. Aboriginal women also volunteered valuable skills in all three wars, mainly as nurses.

Members of the Chippewas of Nawash First Nation

Members of the Chippewas of Nawash First Nation, located in central Ontario, served in the War of 1812, the 1991 Gulf War, and every major conflict between. [Gordon W. Johnston/
Maadookii Seniors' Centre]

The Government of Canada is working to ensure that the significant wartime contributions of Aboriginal veterans are remembered and recognized and that veterans receive the services and benefits they have earned.

Corporal Huron Brant

Corporal Huron Brant of the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte, near Belleville, Ontario, earned the military medal in Italy in 1943 in an action another Canadian soldier described as a single-handed attack on 30 of the enemy. [Capt. Frank Royal/DND/NAC/PA-130065]

Today, the tradition of service continues among the thousands of Aboriginal members of the Canadian Forces. Serving across Canada and in peacekeeping missions overseas, they enjoy travel, training, and career opportunities. Many got started with the Canadian Forces as Junior Rangers, as young Cadets, or through the Canadian Forces Aboriginal Entry Program.

Graduates of the Canadian Forces Aboriginal Entry Program

Graduates of the Canadian Forces Aboriginal Entry Program celebrate. [Department of National Defence]

Let us honour our Aboriginal veterans and the First Nations, Inuit, and Métis men and women who will serve Canada into the future.

Ranger Master Corporal Carson Fiddler

Ranger Master Corporal Carson Fiddler assists in the evacuation of Sandy Lake First Nation when the Cree community was threatened by a forest fire. More than 400 Canadian Rangers, most Aboriginal, are part-time reserve members of the Canadian Forces providing search and rescue and other services in northern Ontario. [Department of National Defence]

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, Ontario Region, works to make Canada a better place for the province's 126 First Nations.

Studio portrait

Studio portrait, taken in July 1882, of the surviving Six Nations warriors who fought as allies of the British in the War of 1812. [Library and Archives Canada / C-085127]

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada wishes to thank Veterans Affairs Canada, the Department of National Defence, and the Chippewas of Nawash First Nation for their assistance on this publication.

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - ARCHIVÉ - Les Anciens Combattants Autochtones en Ontario

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Les Anciens Combattants Autochtones en Ontario
QS-T024-000-BB-A1 2011

Si vous souhaitez commander un exemplaire de la carte ou avez une suggestion à formuler pour une version future de la carte, veuillez communiquer avec :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Services à la haute direction et Communications
25, avenue St. Clair Est, 8e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M4T 1M2
Téléphone : 416-952-0056

Edith Anderson Monture

En 1917, Edith Anderson Monture a quitté les Six Nations de Grand River dans le Sud de l'Ontario pour s'engager comme infirmière volontaire en France, pays alors dévasté par la guerre. [Helen Moses/Anciens combattants Canada]

Servir la Nation : une tradition qui se perpétue

Les Autochtones du Canada peuvent être fiers d'avoir défendu par le passé notre société et nos principes communs.

Angus Pontiac

Angus Pontiac, ancien combattant autochtone. [Alex Peltier]

Un grand nombre de Haudenosaunee, ou Iroquois, se sont battus aux côtés des Britanniques durant la guerre d'Indépendance, puis, de nouveau durant la guerre de 1812. De plus, quelque 12 000 Autochtones au Canada ont servi le pays lors des deux guerres mondiales et lors de la guerre de Corée. Plus de 500 d´entre eux ont même payé de leur vie. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, le tiers des Autochtones physiquement aptes se sont engagés dans les forces armées; chez certaines Premières Nations, notamment chez les Algonquins de Pikwakanagan, dans la vallée de l´Outaouais, presque tous les hommes ont volontairement joint les rangs de l´armée.

Caporal Francis Pegahmagabow

Le Caporal Francis Pegahmagabow, membre de la Première Nation de Wasauksing, sur les rives de la baie Georgienne durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Cet Ojibwa est l'ancien combattant le plus décoré de l'histoire du pays.
[Université de l'Indiana]

Un grand nombre de soldats autochtones ont mis à profit leurs habiletés de chasseurs, s´engageant comme tireurs d´élite ou comme éclaireurs. Leur participation était également requise pour coder les plans militaires secrets en cri, langue que l´ennemi ne parvenait pas à déchiffrer. Des femmes autochtones ont, elles aussi, mis leurs précieuses compétences au service de l´armée durant les trois guerres, exerçant principalement le métier d'infirmière.

Les Chippewa de la Première Nation de Nawash

Les Chippewa de la Première Nation de Nawash, dans le centre de l´Ontario, ont combattu en grand nombre lors de la guerre de 1812, de la guerre du Golfe de 1991 et de tous les conflits majeurs qui se sont déroulés entre-temps. [Gordon W. Johnston/ Maadookii Seniors' Centre]

Le gouvernement du Canada tient à rappeler et à reconnaître l´importante contribution des anciens combattants autochtones en temps de guerre, et à faire en sorte que ces derniers obtiennent les services et les avantages auxquels ils ont droit.

Caporal Huron Brant

Le Caporal Huron Brant membre des Mohawks de la baie de Quinte, près de Belleville (Ontario), s'est vu remettre la Médaille militaire en Italie en 1943. Au dire d´un autre soldat canadien, il aurait, à lui seul, livré combat à 30 soldats ennemis. [Capt. Frank Royal/DND/NAC/PA-130065]

Aujourd´hui, des milliers d´Autochtones perpétuent la tradition de service à la Nation en joignant les Forces canadiennes. En service au Canada et dans les missions de paix à l´étranger, ils voyagent, reçoivent une formation et occupent un emploi dans l´armée. Bon nombre d´entre eux ont commencé leur carrière militaire dans les Forces canadiennes en tant que Rangers juniors ou jeunes cadets, ou grâce au Programme d'enrôlement des Autochtones des Forces canadiennes.

Des diplômés du Programme d'enrôlement des Autochtones des Forces canadiennes

Des diplômés du Programme d'enrôlement des Autochtones des Forces canadiennes en pleine célébration. [Défense Nationale]

Rendons hommage aux anciens combattants autochtones ainsi qu´aux femmes et aux hommes inuits, métis et des Premières Nations qui s´engageront dans l´avenir pour défendre les intérêts du pays.

Caporal‑chef des Rangers Carson Fiddler

On voit ici le caporal‑chef des Rangers, Carson Fiddler, qui a aidé des membres de la Première Nation crie de Sandy Lake à évacuer leur collectivité, dévastée par un incendie de forêt. Plus de 400 Rangers canadiens, majoritairement des Autochtones, sont membres à temps partiel de l´armée de réserve du Canada. Ils participent à des activités de recherche et de sauvetage et fournissent d´autres services dans le Nord ontarien. [Défense Nationale]

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, région de l'Ontario, travaille à faire du Canada un meilleur endroit pour les 127 Premières nations établies dans la province.

Portrait de studio

Portrait de studio, pris en juillet 1882, des guerriers des Six-Nations qui ont survécu, après avoir combattu aux côtés des Britanniques pendant la Guerre de 1812. [Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-085127]

Autres liens d'intérêt:

Date de modification :