Aboriginal Peoples in the Atlantic Region

The Mi'kmaq

When the Mi'kmaq first encountered Europeans in the 16th and 17th centuries, their territory stretched from the southern portions of the Gaspe peninsula eastward to most of modern-day New Brunswick, and all of Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.

This area was divided into seven smaller territories loosely united by a common language, kinship and political alliances. Unlike some of their southern neighbours, their society was not based on agriculture; they hunted, fished and gathered their food. This meant their settlement patterns were largely governed by the rhythm of the changing seasons.

The Maliseet

The Maliseet are the only other Aboriginal people living in the Maritime provinces today. Their lands once stretched along the banks of the St. John River (in present day New Brunswick and Maine) and extended as far west as the St. Lawrence. The Maliseet, like their Mi'kmaq neighbours, are Algonquin. But while the two nations share a similar natural environment and way of life, their languages and culture are quite distinct. The Maliseet are closer to the neighbouring American Native peoples in Maine, New Hampshire and Quebec than to their Mi'kmaq neighbours to the north and east.

The Innu or Montagnais-Naskapi Indians

The Innu (or Montagnais-Naskapi people) of Quebec and Labrador Peninsula trace their ancestry to several regional groups. The Naskapi (or Mushuau Innu) - sometimes called the "Barren Land People" - occupied the desolate interior lands of the far north; the Montagnais (or Mountain People) lived in the forests of the south. Both groups belong to an extremely ancient caribou-hunting culture.

The Inuit

The Labrador Inuit live in the northern reaches of Labrador peninsula. They are kindred to a much larger nation, with traditional homelands that stretch from Soviet Siberia to the northern Canadian Arctic, from Alaska in the west to Greenland in the east. While they speak a dialect of the shared language, their technology, culture and organization set them apart.The present day Labrador Inuit are descendants of the prehistoric Thule, hunters who were drawn to Labrador by its abundance of whales and other wildlife, Labrador Inuit are one of the founding peoples of Canada; a maritime people, deeply connected to the environment. In Inuit culture, they speak of "the land" as encompassing the land, sky, watersheds and ocean areas on which the Inuit has depended for thousands of years.

Métis and Non-Status Indians

Information pertaining to Métis and Non-Status Indians may be found on the Métis and Non-Status Indians page.

Urban Aboriginal Peoples

Information pertaining to Urban Aboriginal Peoples may be found on the Urban Aboriginal Peoples page.

Les Autochtones de la région de l'Atlantique

Les Mi'kmaq

Quand les Mi'kmaq ont rencontré pour la première fois les Européens aux 16e et 17e siècles, leur territoire s'étendait depuis le sud de la Gaspésie vers l'est pour couvrir la majeure partie de ce qui est aujourd'hui le Nouveau-Brunswick, et toute la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Ce territoire se divisait en sept territoires plus petits ou districts qu'unissaient librement une même langue, des liens de parenté et des alliances politiques. La société des Mi'kmaq, contrairement à celle de leur voisins du Sud, ne reposait pas sur l'agriculture. Ils vivaient des produits de la chasse, de la pêche et de la cueillette, et leurs modes d'établissement étaient donc en grande partie rythmés par le changement des saisons.

Les Malécites

Les Malécites sont le seul autre peuple autochtone à vivre aujourd'hui dans les Maritimes. Leur territoire s'étirait le long de la rivière Saint-Jean (aujourd'hui au Nouveau-Brunswick et dans le Maine), et s'étendait à l'ouest jusqu'au Saint-Laurent. Comme leurs voisins les Mi'kmaq, les Malécites appartiennent à la famille algonquienne. Si les deux nations vivent dans un environnement naturel semblable selon un mode de vie qui se ressemble, leurs langues et leurs cultures sont très différentes. Les Malécites sont plus proches de leurs voisins américains, les Autochtones du Maine et du New Hampshire, et de ceux du Québec que des Mi'kmaq, leurs voisins au nord et à l'est.

Les Innus ou Montagnais-Naskapi

Les Innus (ou Montagnais-Naskapi) du Québec et de la péninsule du Labrador ont des racines qui remontent à plusieurs peuples autochtones qui vivaient jadis dans la région. Le peuple naskapi (ou les Innus Mushuau) - parfois appelé le « peuple de la terre sans arbre » - occupait les terres intérieures dénudées du Grand Nord; les Montagnais (ou peuple des montagnes) vivaient dans les forêts du sud. Les deux peuples appartiennent à une très ancienne culture de chasseurs de caribou.

Les Inuits

Les Inuits du Labrador vivent dans l'extrême nord de la péninsule du Labrador. Ils sont apparentés à une nation beaucoup plus importante, dont le territoire traditionnel s'étend de la Sibérie soviétique à l'Arctique canadien, et de l'Alaska à l'ouest jusqu'au Groenland à l'est. S'ils parlent un dialecte issu d'une même langue, ils se distinguent par leur technologie, leur culture et leur organisation. Les Inuits du Labrador d'aujourd'hui sont les descendants du peuple préhistorique de Thulé, des chasseurs attirés jadis au Labrador par le grand nombre de baleines et d'autres animaux sauvages qui y vivaient. Les Inuits du Labrador sont un des peuples fondateurs du Canada; c'est un peuple marin, qui est profondément lié à l'environnement. Dans la culture des Inuits, le mot « territoire » englobe la terre, le ciel, les cours d'eau et l'océan, qui sont pour eux des sources de vie depuis des milliers d'années.

Métis et Indiens non inscrits

L'information concernant les Métis et Indiens non inscrits peut être trouvée sur la page des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

Autochtones en milieu urbain

L'information concernant les Autochtones en milieu urbain peut être trouvée sur la page des Autochtones en milieu urbain